Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pinewoods Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Wells Next The Sea > Pinewoods Holiday Park > Reviews

Pinewoods Holiday Park
Beach Road
Wells Next The Sea
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR23 1DR
Tel: 01328 710439
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 114 Reviews
                7/10 from 114 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: FOXY64 3 reviews from this member

 We decided to go here after reading the reviews of the site. We booked from Thursday to Easter Sunday at a cost of Approx £25 per day so we were expecting good things.

On arrival met by effiecient staff who directed us to our "super pitch".

The site it self was already quite busy and the pitches were very close no more that 20ft apart in some case by the time people had erect awnings and a wind break there was not a gap between vans. On the non super pitches the gap was less than 10ft.

The site shop was well stocked and cheap.

The site toilets and showers were at all times not good - in fact they were so bad there were numerous complaints and I understand these started well before the easter rush arrived. I witnessed the cleaner arrive to one over flowing urinal dirty showers and unbelievably filthy toilets to just spray air freshener - I asked for him to clean a shower cubicle for me which he did with a dry mop.

The town its self Wells was about a mile walk along the sea wall or a 5 min minute train ride for a pound both worth doing. The town had numerous pubs eateries and enough shops for all supplies butchers grocers etc. Wells by the sea is a lovely sea side town. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Widget 5 reviews from this member

 I agree with the comments below. Wells itself is a fantastic place (crab fishing in the harbour was great!) But the campsite was awful. We were in the overflow field with no electric, no lighting, uneven pitches portaloos which were disgusting and taps that had no water! I can safely say we'll never be staying on this site again, especially with young children. Will be staying at a C&CC site from now on when visiting Wells. At least you know you're not going to get some horrible disease from the toilets on their sites!
 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jarvos 3 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site, we had a super-pitch which was great- flat and plenty of room. Shower blocks were large, very clean and always plenty of hot water. We were surprised how quiet it was for a large static site- no noisy  kids running about just happy holidaymakers! Plenty to do- nature reserve & boating lake on site was great. The beach just a few mins walk away was beautiful- lovely dunes and safe shallow sea. You can walk or catch a mini train into Wells where we spent hours crabbing off the harbour. It was our dogs first visit to the coast & he loved it. We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tony3:16 1 review from this member

 Have been coming to Pinewoods for a number of years. The reason for this is that we fell in love with the location. Brilliant beach, lovely town (offering pubs and arcades a plenty) and a nice campsite with great facilities (shower / wash blocks, canoeing, crazy golf, trampolines, shop and café, and of course the little train).  
However, over the years the owners has slowly got rid of the tent pitches so that the site is now dominated by static caravans. Whereas once we got a tent pitch really close to the beach, now we have been told that there are only 8 tent pitches. Therefore if you have a tent and want to stay in the busy season you are stuck at the far end of the site (a trek from the beach) in the ‘overflow area’, which is essentially an uneven, muddy field with no pitches marked and only portaloos, and get charged a small fortune for this privilege (same as being on the main site). Also they do not always offer the overflow field due to the fact that when it rains that area tends to get flooded, which means that often there is no room at all for campers.  In addition, last year we were told that there was no space for our small two man tent on the site, despite the fact that there were a number of spaces reserved for caravans which were not being used. As campers (as opposed to carvaners) this made us feel very unwanted, and if it wasn’t for the beach and town we would seriously consider whether to return.  I can only see this situation getting worse and fear that it in the near future the owners dispense with tent pitch altogether in pursuit of more money. From reading other peoples comments it seems that I am not the only one who feels this way and hope that if the owners read this message then they can be more accommodating for those with tents.  
So my verdict is this is that Wells-next-the-sea is a brilliant place to visit, you will love the beach and the town. In addition, if you are a carvaner then this will be excellent site for you, but if you own a tent then it is a lottery whether you will actually get to stay there (they don’t take bookings for tents – so it is not till you get there that you are told that you can not stay), and if you do you are likely to be stuck in a field with little facilities (and fell like a second class camper). 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: F1blackcat 2 reviews from this member

 Very clean and tidy site , good facilities, plenty of space for the kids to run and play on the beach. Wells Next to Sea a short walk away and has everything you could wish for from a Norfolk village, shops, pubs, restaurant's and a fabulous deli to die for. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Knock83 1 review from this member

 Pinewoods was a very nice campsite if you can get on the main site. When we went, the only pitches that where available was on the overflow field. But be warned, if the weather turns nasty like it did to us, you are in the open to face the elements. The wind took down 2 tents and ripped mine slightly. Therefore I don't think they should charge the full £14.50 to stay in the overflow field. Should be half price or something. But that was the weather something you cant change. The portable toilets where okay, clean and smell free. You do have to walk on the main site for the showers. Access to the overflow field can get very muddy, so pick your route to your tent carefully and pack them wellies! Pinewoods is very close to main interests and runs a train to wells next the sea, which is a great idea. Overall, try to get on the main site if your camping, so get there early if you want the better pitch to get some shade from the wind. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lu Pitt 6 reviews from this member

 Pinewood is in a fantastic position a short walk or train ride into Wells-next-the-sea which is a delightful town.  You'll get everything you need there.
 
The campsite was a real let-down.  It is big and the static caravans are so cramped they look like they are in storage!
 
The camping area we stayed in, 'Tern', had big super-pitches.  But they came at a price, and you can't help but feel that the owners are out to make as much money as they possibly can.  Unfortunately this comes at a cost.  What could be a lovely site looks over crowded.
 
We were booked in with friends on adjoining pitches but the site forgot to book us in!  We managed to get next door but one to them with no help from the owners.
 
There is a good shop which sells just about everything you could need.
 
The toilet blocks are excellent.  There area lots of them and there are lots of showers and toilets in each.  We stayed for a long weekend and there was loo paper on the Friday but no more until Tuesday. Poor for a site that was full.  The toilet blocks were very clean on Friday but not cleaned until Tuesday, again very poor for a big busy campsite.
 
There is a laundry block which has excellent facilities, lots of machines, irons etc.  There are also some family rooms which have baby baths in.  Excellent thinking!
 
We shan't be going back, just not our cup of tea.  Most of the campers near us had televisions in their tents and were happy to make plenty of alcohol induced noise well into the night.  The campsite staff didn't seem interested in trying to quieten them.
 
Overall, expensive and cramped with excellent facilities that need maintaining a little more often. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Darthillcat 16 reviews from this member

 Delightful site with a small shop and cafe the standard pitch we had was a good size accommodating the caravan ,awning and car easily. The pitch was level grass but you will need rock pegs .The site is a mixture of statics and touring pitches with a few pitches for tents all of them have electric hook up. The town of Wells is a delightful walk away with a good selection of take aways and shops.The quay side is a must for crab fishing our 6 year old grandson loved it also the Ark Royal pub is family friendly serving a selection of good food and beers.In addition to the small train running along the road to the camp site there is a narrow gauge railway just out side of Wells which runs to Walsingham .The local area has some of the best Beach's in Norfolk with the one at Holt well worth a visit and don't miss Holkamhall 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steve.nottsuk 1 review from this member

 I have visited this site for many years now and is still clearly only interested in statics and super tourer pitches. The site was practically empty when we were there. The camping area was closed due to flooding so we were offered a touring pitch with electric hook up at £18 for the night. They bluntly refused to discount the price as we did not require electric and the staff had a take it or leave it attitude. Why oh why put tents where the ground floods eight months a year ? I will not be returning which is a shame as it was one of the best site I have found in the country. Tourers that like their tv and internet will probably find this site superb. 


Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JP51 4 reviews from this member

 Excellent site, extremely well laid out with raised shrub beds and trees. Small train ride into town ideal if you're feeling tired. Beautiful scenery with beach and woods, a choice of sun or shade depending on weather. I would definitely visit this site again. 


Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Pinewoods Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pinewoods Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pinewoods Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wells Next The Sea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


53312 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement