Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodland Gardens Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Fife > Leven > Woodland Gardens Caravan Site Reviews

Woodland Gardens Caravan Site
Blindwell Road
Lundin Links
Leven
Fife   (Browse area)
KY8 5QG
Tel: 01333 360319
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 24 March To 7 October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 109 Reviews
                10/10 from 109 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  109 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ruthven64 9 reviews from this member

Should we tell everyone about this site and risk struggling to get booked on again? Oh, go on, you've twisted our arms!

What a little gem! New owners and their little helper have added their own personal touches to make this a very welcoming site. Not visited before but regulars have said the changes are all for the better.

Ok, the toilet block is not the most modern and it does lack heating and you might have to wait for the one shower available but the facilities are great. Privacy cubicle for us more modest females, very roomy shower with oodles of hanging and drying off space and a basket of goodies to help yourself to if you have forgotten anything. And it's all super clean!

And there's a recreation room with comy sofa, wide screen tv, pool table etc if you fancy escaping the confines of your holiday accommodation.

No shop but if you need papers or milk they will take an order for the next day and am sure they wouldn't see you stuck if you needed something desperately.

It's just a mile downhill (that means a mile back uphill to the site)to the lovely harbour of Lower Largo. Recommend the Crusoe Hotel for food, the amazing fresh fish and chips is served on newspaper and other selections from the menu are just as tasty and well presented.

And afterwards why not try one of the many walks in the area, ie the disused railway line which takes you along the Fife Coastal Path or return back to the site via Upper Largo (the Serpentine) and the church which links with the Coffin walk.

Directly opposite the site is one of the entrances to Keils Den. There's a bench where you can sit and take in the views of the coast and let your mind wander. Try a walk through the den, a lovely figure of 8 walk past fields, through woods and down to a river. Dog walkers and bird watchers dream.

The site is in a great location for visiting villages and towns of the East Neuk and off course St Andrews and for a wet day we would recommend the Secret Bunker. Golfers will also love the location, there are many courses within easy reach.

And did we mention it's adults only!. Look forward to returning very soon.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 567 reviews from this member

What a brilliant little site.

Up the hill from the village but not too steep a walk - less than 10 minutes.

Site is kept very clean and tidy, hard standing available, ehu and chem disposal. The toilet / shower block is brilliant, yes only 1 shower but its good and hot and no queues. Flowers in blocks and clean as possible at all times.

The recreation room is rather like a living room, pool tables, sofa, tv, books - really is kept well and very warm and inviting.

Anything negative? not whilst we were there but would say pitches are on the small side so if busy would be a little more cramped for parking etc.

This is a great site, we would use again and recommend.

We paid 18 for 2 adults with ehu (free showers)

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Daffodil41 48 reviews from this member

What a lovely site our first visit made to feel very welcome on arrival and shown to our pitch a small site with one or two permanent caravans all pitches well spaced and every thing you need on site.

The toilet block I thought was well laid out true there is only one shower in ladies but this did not cause any problems all toilet showers and wash basins kept spotless even one privacy basin which I like, in the ladies was a wash sink with ringer if you wanted to do a bit of hand washing.

A good drying room which had a washer dryer etc and a creel for drying not seen one for years.

You could walk to the bottom of the hill and down a lane to Lower Largo a lovely little bay with two nice pubs but be warned it is all uphill on the way back (we drove) we walked across two fields to Upper Largo for meal in the local pub very good value 6. 95 for three courses.

A well placed site for touring the Kingdom of Fife but no shop or any thing on site so be prepared a small super market in Lower Largo and and shops in Leven.

This is an adult site but it is up for sale so I do not know what will happen then.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bampi 1 review from this member

Stayed two nights whilst visiting family in Fife, got to honest and say we found a real gem of a site.

The site is very well kept, and the shower/toilet area is spotlessly clean and far better than dearer sites that we stayed on during our trip around Scotland.

Very friendly and accommodating owners, nothing is to much trouble for them. Only let down was the weather it didn't stop raining while we were there) which discouraged us from using our motorbike but we had no worries about leaving it with its trailer on site while we used our van visiting our folk.

Cannot recommend this site highly enough.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Janjan65 3 reviews from this member

Stayed for one night while touring Scotland, what a find it felt like we were staying in a relatives very well kept garden!

Made to feel very welcome, advised on dog walking areas and places to eat locally. Had to be 'home' by 11 as the barrier is closed but not a problem for us.

Facilities clean and spacious plenty of hot water in showers and pot washing area.

Recreation room was well stocked with games jigsaws and books, useful if you're in a tent and it's wet.

Fife coastal road to St Andrews is a real treat with lots of little villages and places to mooch about. The Farm shop in Ardross is brill for fresh produce, and also some little luxuries.

A great little site with very helpful and obviously proud owners.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wicliffe 4 reviews from this member

When I tried to book this site, the lady took pains to tell me that children were not allowed and there was no bar on site.

Sounded bliss to me and it was!

A lovely site clean well kept, the grass looked so manicured I didn't want to drive on it.

Very friendly people, even the other tenants!

If it were closer I'd be there much more often.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sasha2008 2 reviews from this member

Just came back from a week at the woodland gardens campsite. Wanted to let people know how good this little site is.

Room for a few tents, camper vans and tourers, there's also a few statics and all sections are of conifer trees which give more privacy. Plenty of recycling options.

Toilet block was spotless. One shower and five toilets. Dish washing area is clean and well presented. Good selection of books, games and other info is in the recreation room. Its also got a tv and a pool table.

Owners are helpful but also leave you to enjoy your holiday. If you are looking for a nice little quiet site this is the one. With a no children or group/party policy you are pretty sure to get lots of peace.

It's next to a road but a very quiet road. Its up on a hill so you get great views out to the sea. In nearby villages there were plenty of places to eat. Lovely walks can be had at nearby beaches.

Will def go back.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Maidmurron 6 reviews from this member

Looked in at this site while camping in the area.

Lovely clean little site and well kept,unlike the one we stayed at.

The owner was very friendly and showed us around.

We have quite a big tent and the site only takes a few small ones due to the space.

As the owner rightly pointed out the space a large tent takes up when you include, guy ropes, wind breaks etc.

I would use the site if I had a caravan or campervan.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Blueexpo97 23 reviews from this member

If you are looking for peace and tranquillity near to the beautiful Fife coastline- this is a perfect little campsite to visit. Situated a couple of minutes drive from the village of Upper Largo and about a 15 minute drive from the upmarket university town of St Andrews- this site is off a quiet country lane.

It has just 20 flat touring pitches and it is essential to book as some of the pitches are reserved for regulars with seasonal pitches. We actually got one of these because the occupant had their caravan in for repairs and wasn't using it. The location and welcome are excellent, if there are any criticisms of this site it would be that the pitches are very tight and close together even though they are attractively laid out.

We found it fairly difficult to manoeuvre our Pennine Pathfinder into its spot and certainly if you want to park the car next to your unit- you might struggle in some pitches. The owner was very helpful in helping to guide and help push the unit in and he obviously is very familiar with every pitch.

The other, slight drawback is the shower block- whilst spotlessly clean, the loos and shower are sited in a converted static. There is only one shower for ladies and one for gents, and the pressure wasn't great. This said we certainly didn't have to queue for wait to use it even over the busy bank holiday period.

There were a couple of tenters in situ when we were there but we felt the site was geared up more for caravans as the tents seemed to be squeezed into any available spot rather than a specific pitch. However, it had been raining quiet heavily before our arrival so some of the grass was waterlogged.

A bonus for us was the this site does not cater for families so it is quiet and relaxing.

The village is within walking distance if you don't mind a climb up the hill on the way back but you can order morning rolls, papers and milk from reception as well.

The whole of this coastal area is very picturesque and is not unlike the Scottish version of Cornwall with its little villages and harbours. Elie is a particularly attractive seaside town with a harbour and little blue flag beach. The village itself has some specialist shops and deli's as well as coffee shops and restaurants- so its a good place to stop and stock up with treats. Anstruther's famous Fish Shop does not disappoint with its award winning fish suppers but be prepared to queue.

We loved St Andrews for a full day out. It was very smart and had plenty to keep us occupied. As well as shops and restaurants, it has art galleries, a huge beach and of course its world famous golf course. All in all this area is a must when touring Scotland.

Despite our reservations about the size of the pitches and the shower block we will definitely go back - we thoroughly enjoyed the area and the site.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: TJS2 6 reviews from this member

Decided to have a break from tent camping and treat ourselves to a week in a static. Couldn't have chosen a better place! Site was fantastic, quiet and peaceful with friendly, helpful owners and a really luxurious caravan. Can't recommend the site or it's caravans enough - both exceeded our high expectations, with views overlooking the firth of forth and open countryside and all mod cons inside.

Would recommend coastal walks to lovely villages - Elie, Pitenweem, Anstruther & Crail, Ardross Farm Shop (their own frozen ready meals of restaurant quality), Fish & Chips at Anstruther (but be prepared to queue), Loch Leven and walking up Largo Law which is hard work but worth it for amazing views.

A perfect holiday. Even the weather was good so we should have taken our tent, but it would probably have rained if we had.

Previous     109 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Fife

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3462 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019