Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Waterside House Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Waterside House Campsite > Reviews

Waterside House Campsite
Waterside House
Howtown
Penrith
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486332
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 28/03/2024 to 01/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 208 Reviews
                8/10 from 208 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  208 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ShedWoman 8 reviews from this member

 This site is in a superb location. The surrounding scenery is breathtaking, and the site is right on the shore of the lake.

The Sun Inn in Pooley Bridge serves excellent beer, and the food is goo too - although not cheap.

We arrived on Wednesday morning to find a MASSIVE site. 120 pitches? Yes! In each field - of which there appeared to be four.

The shop and (slightly-pricey) burger-van are convenient, especially when you arrive and need a snack before pitching.

We paid £65 for three nights (ONE tent - THREE humans - ONE dog - ONE vehicle - NO gazebo - NO boat - etc. ).

The facilities are excellent. I don't know how many showers there were for the men, but for the women there must have been at least ten. The showers are hot and FREE, but the water pressure is a bit weedy. Washing up facilities are under-cover, good in this region where it does tend to rain a lot.

The staff are friendly enough, both around the site (if you ever spot them) and in the shop.

On Wednesday and Thursday it was fabulous. Busy, but it never felt 'crowded'. Oh but come Friday, it got very silly. One group came and pitched three tents next to ours, the nearest being so close I could hear the people inside breathing! They made a right-royal noise right up until 3am, car radio blaring, banging the car doors and boot over and over, until I could stand no more and politely told them to shut up.

I don't like 'over-policed' sites, but this one (at weekends anyway) is just a free-for-all with no wardens or anything. On Saturday, we decided to leave. It was too crowded. Campers were just turning up and pitching anywhere, with no regard for anyone else's privacy or space. As I was packing away, I had to keep saying 'Excuse me please' every time I went to my car boot to put something in it.

Also, we were woken each morning at 3. 30 - 4. 00 by three or four escaped sheep bleating, right outside the tent. Even after I chased them away they returned, chewing the guyropes and bleating loudly again.

I personally will not be going back to this site, but if you don't mind people invading your space, and you are a heavy sleeper then the pros will far outweigh the cons for you and you will love it. The scenery is to die for. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: G.schofield 9 reviews from this member

 Booked this site for a family get together. Got there early and glad I did, as they were already packing them in. Paid £40. 50 per night for 2 adults a 17/13 year old 1 tent and 2 cars (husband had to work so came later), which I thought was rather excessive. Glad I didn't bring the Gazebo as that would have been another £6 per night!

Toilets were ok but a bit of a walk to and only one shower block, so if your staying in the far field, youve got quite a trek. Washing up is next to the showers, so again a trek to wash up.

The site was extremely busy, too many if you ask me, no room to play ball games as every conceivable space was taken, hills and all. There was a portable toilet block in one of the other fields but this was shared with the Manchester and 2nd family field, and there were only 2 toilets! no showers!

The location by the lake is lovely and I think the 4 stars are awarded because of this but I don't think its value for money. I have stayed at sites a lot cheaper with far better/cleaner facilities.

We stayed the August Bank Hol weekend and I think the owners were being rather greedy by packing them in, I reckon there must have been about 200 tents. Also, they could do with putting more water pipes etc in to justify the price.

There is a nice walk along the lake into Pooley Bridge, which is lovely and has a few shops/pubs etc and you can catch the steamer boat to the other end of the lake. The childrens playground is at the side of the lake (slightly strange) nice for parents to sit and watch the water whilst they play but concerning if you want to let them have a free rein and go by themselves.

Will we be returning?. Definitely not at those prices.

Be aware they come round every day checking how many people/tents you've got.

They need to invest in more facilities to justify their prices. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mandave28a 2 reviews from this member

 My husband and I stayed here at the end of July and hope to go back for the August Bank Holiday. Absolutely brilliant! Beautiful location on the shore of Ullswater, very clean, very friendly. The noise policy was better on other campsites we have stayed at but it was just children playing and general chatting but nothing too loud. The toilets, showers and washing up facilities were all very clean and someone was cleaning them all the time. The little shop was well equipped on site. The burger van is an added bonus as well when you're feeling peckish! All in all - perfect! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: VickyJ 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this campsite. Whilst we enjoyed ourselves there were a few minor niggles.

When we first arrived we were directed to the field over the road which was in fact a very steep hill, this would have been ok if it was not for the fact there were no amenities in this field. When we told the reception we couldn't stay on there as we had 3 children with us they quickly said we could stay on the main site.

It was VERY busy but this was to be expected on a school holiday weekend with great weather, this didn't cause to much of a problem just would have been nice for a warden to supervise some of the late night noise.

The toilets were very clean, infact the cleaner seems to be always in there but the site could do with a few more.

The women's showers are new and again very clean and the men's whilst older where the same. A great point is they are free and lovely and hot.

This is a great site if you like boating, the lake side is very accessible and shallow, you can rent row boats and canoes at a very reasonable price £12 for an hour per boat.

The shop has a good range but is a touch expensive as you would expect.

The main selling point is the view which is spectacular.

We will be back but mid week when hopefully it is quieter. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MillsFamily 3 reviews from this member

 I have stayed at this campsite a number of times, but went back last weekend for the first time in four years with our two year old.

Positives:

- Location. Its simply stunning.

- Showers. There are now 8 showers each for men and women with the womens showers being brand new. We went the first weekend of the school holidays and I didn't have to queue for the womens showers having gone at 08. 15am on the Saturday morning and 07. 45am on the Sunday.

- Cafe/hot food van. Bacon and egg butty £3 and a cup of tea 90p. Whilst not cheap its not expensive either and was very convenient.

- Whilst a little muddy, Manchester field was spacious and not over crowded despite the campsite being busy.

- The brand new children's playground is fantastic. My two year old thought he was sailing a ship on the lake!

Negatives:

- It is a big, busy campsite and can get noisy and crowded.

- It would have been better if the security guard had told some of the louder people to shut up on the Saturday night

Overall this is a great campsite and I will be going back (with an inflatable canoe next time!). Please don't come here if you are looking for back to nature camping on a quiet site - you won't find it here. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mel Camper 11 reviews from this member

 We stopped at this site in our tent arriving Friday morning and departing Sunday lunch time.

It was the start of the school holidays and the site was moderately busy when we arrived. We managed to pitch we a good choice left at lunchtime, the site was full by the evening so late arrivals were driving around looking for places to pitch.

The site has good facilities, we camped in the second field which has portaloos. The main area for facilities in near the shop with toilets, showers and laundry. The ladies showers are new and the water was hot throughout my stay. I didn't queue at all during my visit but there was some queuing at the washing up area at peak times.

There is a van cooking food on the site and the sausage and egg roll was great.

The site is a big attraction for kayakers / sailors etc as it is on the edge of Ullswater so you can go straight in from the site. The walk into Pooley Bridge is about 15 minutes on the lake side path. There is a nice playground for the kids on site too.

All in all a good site if a little busy but it was the start of the school holidays so everywhere would be the same. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Family matters 1 review from this member

 We went as a family of 5 for a week from the 23rd July 2011. Mum, Dad 2 kids (6 & 4) plus Poppa, who was visiting from New Zealand.

Situated right on Lake Ullswater, the views and scenery were absolutely stunning. What a great place to wake up to every morning (Especially after a 6 hour drive from London) and the sun setting over the other side of the lake was a great end to the day. If you are up early, the lake looks at its best as the sun comes up and none of the other camp sites we drove past had the same aspect.

We couldnít get an EHU pitch initially, as they were fully booked, but after reading all the reviews online, we decided to camp here anyway. In hindsight we where better off as the EHU pitches are slightly smaller and much closer to the neighbours. Considering we had a very large family tent, (9m x 7M min) the Manchester Field at the far right of the site actually suited us and the kids much better. Less busy, loads of room to set up where you wanted, space for the kids to play and everyone had plenty of space around them.

Although roughly a 2 or 3 minute walk to the looís, (Not ideal when you have had too much beer earlier on in the evening), I was glad we didnít pitch closer as I personally wouldnít want everyone walking past us all day and night. The fellow campers were a great bunch, all families, friendly and considerate. The site felt safe enough to let the kids go to the loos together during the day, once they knew their way around the site.

The washing up area had plenty of sinks and the toilets, showers etc, were regularly cleaned throughout the day. The ladies have a new block and the gents (now separate) were up to date with free hot water on a push button setting. (Not huge pressure but more than adequate).

When the chores had to be done, the perfect option for us was to drop the kids off at the play park, near the useful on site shop and then do the washing up yourself 15 yards around the corner. My two arenít any use when you are busy trying to get the washing up done! The kids were happy and itís less stressful for all.

We know we were very lucky with the weather, so we got into the swing of thing and bought a blow up canoe, paddles, life jackets, from Ambleside and a handy camping exhibition nearby. Best investment ever, we had fantastic fun together messing about on the lake. You can launch from the campsite but we went round the other side of the lake and found some secluded small pebbly beaches which where ideal.

We found the owner & his wife to be very friendly and chatty if you make the effort and the Farmer in particular was often around the site or having a tea at the handy Burger bar unit near the entrance (good burgers and chips for one night!) Heís helpful and down to earth, always offering to help if anyone was disturbing us (didnít happen). It also helped that Poppa is a farmer to so I guess they clicked.

Negatives, we couldnít find many? This is a working farm so worth being careful near the shop and entrance as they use large machinery during the day. Fun to watch, but worth watching the kids as they turn into their yard. We didnít hire any of the boats etc as personally I thought the rates were a bit expensive, but would be ok for Ĺ an hour or so I guess.

So we highly recommend Waterside House, great for the kids, and if we took the time to head to Cumbria any time soon, we would definitely go back, no question.

Last suggestion, I recently bought a battery charger from Halfords on a whim and it turns out to be perfect for charging mobile phones, running air pumps for the blow up beds, boat etc. Lasts 2 days+ and when you are out and about, charge it in the car on the go (donít leave on overnight). Although we have the £50 super safe EHU cable, frankly we donít bother no TV and cosier all round.  


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Garytandsarahb 1 review from this member

 Waterside is situated on the edge of Ullswater and is an especially good camp site if you do water sports (we have 2 boats) as you can launch straight into the lake from the camp.

The views and placement are excellent.

Toilets and facilities are kept clean regularly, though you may find you have to wait for a shower if you go at peak hours [it appears this should ease soon, as I believe they are building more showers - as of July 2011 we saw some building work in progress].

The staff are very friendly and when the stake for the water tap failed someone came out within 10 minutes to fix it.

The site is family friendly and quite large, but does get pretty busy on bank holidays. However, there is a real advantage as you can book in advance.

The cafe wagon makes good bacon/sausage sandwiches, but is only open weekdays and bank holidays. However, Pooley Bridge is a ten minute walk away along the waters-edge and has pubs cafes etc.

All in all we have had 2 really good visits and will (hopefully) be back again soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mattelli 9 reviews from this member

 Have to agree with everything already said.

Just back from a weekend at this site and it is now a firm favourite. We managed to get on the lakes edge and waking up to that view over Ulswater was magical.

10 min walk to Pooley Bridge along the shoreline was great. Just enough shops to stock up on essentials, although the campsite shop looked fairly well stocked.

It was great, there are some hilly areas which I thought would be extremely uncomfortable to sleep on, although some did! but there were lots of flat areas.

The owner came round to check once to check the ticket on the tent and seemed really friendly and asked whether everything was ok. Which was really nice personal touch on such a large site. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EllieKendrick 2 reviews from this member

 My boyfriend and I have just returned from a lovely three night stay at Waterside House Campsite. The site is situated directly on Ullswater and provides a beautiful rural location complete with working farm!

The site is a short walk away from the small village of Pooley Bridge where there is a couple of shops and pubs. There is plenty to do in the surrounding area as well as Windermere/Ambleside only a car drive away.

The site facilities were excellent, plenty of washing up points, very handy and well stocked shop, laundry facilities as well as plenty of toilets and showers- the showers are particularly good, nice hot water and powerful which is rare to find when camping!

Although we didn't stay with children the play area also looked very good.

Lovely atmosphere with friendly, helpful staff, an all round an excellent campsite! 


Previous     208 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Waterside House Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waterside House Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Waterside House Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


58276 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement