Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Langcliffe Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Settle > Langcliffe Caravan Park Reviews

Langcliffe Caravan Park
Langcliffe
Settle
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD24 9LX
Tel: 01729 822 387
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 01/03/2021 to 14/01/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 109 Reviews
                8/10 from 109 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  109 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: As133 2 reviews from this member

 Really nice site in a great location. Settle (which has a very good curry house) and Giggleswick are both easily walkable for decent pubs. Lots of walks to do in all directions which are easy to plan with an OS map rather than the hire walk cards!

Showers were very hot, powerful and clean. No queues however we did stay Mon - Thurs when it was quiet.

Downsides were that the site seemed to be in a wind tunnel when we were there. Also there is a train line close by which seems to be used mainly for freight. Each hour one went past which was noisy. This isnt a huge problem normally but on our first night the last train went past at 0030 and then the next one was at 0530 which was a bit early to be woken up. Earplugs solved that problem however.

Overall, a top site which we will use again. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bri+den 3 reviews from this member

 Visited over the may bank holiday.Arrived when office was closed, but a list of pitch numbers was on the window, easy enough to find.

Good site very near to settle, can recommend the 'china china' takeaway in town!

Facilities were good, push button showers, but good and hot, 3 each for both sexes. Ladies was reasonably clean, although the floor in the shower room was muddy and a lot of standing water, could do with another couple of drains.

If everyone left muddy boots and shoes outside the door, as requested by the signs, the problem would be solved.So why not provide a shoe rack??. Would recommend investing in some plastic flip flops or 'crocs' for shower room.

Hubby thought mens facilities were a bit dirty, and in need of more frequent cleaning.

Some more hooks would help to keep clothes of the wet floor. All in all a good site, just needs a tweak here and there, would visit again for a weekend only. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Slimjm 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here May Bank Holiday weekend & had an excellent time. The site is located within walking distance to Settle, with a number of walks from the site, walking maps are available from the site office. The new touring field is superb, plenty of room between pitches & a central camping area for tents. I think that they had a number of tent pitches with EHU at the top overlooking the site.
Kids play area was excellent, so my 4yo kept telling me. Shower / Toilet block very clean but I counted only 3 showers in the Gents so I can imagine that these got very busy, we just used our shower in the caravan.
We had a fully serviced pitch, only pitch available at time of booking & paid £85 a bit more than I would have liked to have paid, but then, it was a bank holiday. Overall an Excellent site & would recommend to anyone. 


Date of Visit: December 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 582 reviews from this member

 This is a very good site situated about a mile from Settle town centre. The town itself is well worth visiting, with many shops, pubs and restaurants. Settle also has its railway station with connections to Leeds and Carlisle. The journey to Carlisle is worth trying as there are excellent views en route. The sites facilities are excellent with heated toilet blocks and power showers. Will certainly use this site again. 


Date of Visit: November 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Firruk 18 reviews from this member

 Now before you read this review I have to be clear that I did visit on a cold, grey and wet November midweek which gives you a different perspective to summer campers.

Firstly I would agree with all of the positives that previous reviwers have noted.

The site is really well placed just a short walk from Settle which is a wonderful town with lots of nice 'proper' shops and pubs, cafes etc as well as access to the Settle Carlisle railway.

The site itself is well placed for walking with lots of great walks direct from the campsite and I would imagine that in better weather it would be very picturesque.

The shower blocks are clean and hot water is very very plentiful. I have minor niggles with push button showers and they could do with a few more hooks but apart from that very good facilities.

The site also has wifi access although its pretty weak on the touring field so you tend to have to walk towards reception to get a good signal.

Now the down side. Whilst I give them full marks for staying open through winter the site isnt really fully set up to do so. When I visited the touring field was a quagmire and although I had booked a hardstanding it was barely adequate. The hardstanding pitches just have some hardcore placed down the centre and I was struggling to pitch with even the two drive wheels on hard standing despite having a very small motorhome. If you have a large unit expect to get badly bogged down.

I suspect that they need to do more upgrading before they can truly operate all year without problems.

So in summary, nice site, well positioned but watch it if its very wet! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KazP 1 review from this member

 I last stayed at Langcliffe in the 80's with my parents and have some very happy memories of my holidays there, so I decided to return with my husband and little girl.  Not much has really changed except the great new toilet / shower block, very clean and tidy and the showers were lovely and warm.
 
As for the campsite, our little girl loved feeding the ducks that roamed around the field and having the freedom to run around, still lovely and peaceful with great views and plenty of good walks, especially the one into Settle which took us about 15 minutes and we rewarded ourselves with cream buns at "Ye old naked man" cafe, still as scrummy as I remember! Great fish and chip restaurant and plenty of cosy pubs and shops in the village.
 
We will certainly visit again, really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tracy35 17 reviews from this member

 Overall a very nice site. Great location for the village, which has bags of character and some of the friendliest people. We had a great Sunday roast at the Golden Lion. Walk in and have a bottle of very good and reasonably priced wine. We called for an drink on the Sat night and paid a daft price for a glass of wine. Far better value by the bottle! (Any excuse)

The park is clean and tidy, reception staff very helpful. No shop but reception sells milk, eggs, sweets. Some nice walks from the site with laminated cards detailing these available to HIRE for 50p each. (Forget the laminating and give them away.seemed a little grabbing to me)

Going over a weekend in August we expected it to be busy. It was - packed to the rafters, it seemed that every bit of grass had a tent pitched on it. I felt that they more units to pitch than was comfortable. Friday and Saturday nights were quite noisy - lots of kids playing, crying etc and people having a laugh, nothing unpleasant - not complaining about the children - I used to be one then had my own! However due to the numbers of people allowed to pitch it felt claustrophobic and far less than peaceful.Sunday night was far nicer, still a good few people around but didn't fee hemmed in.

Loos - plenty of them - nice and clean and excellent showers. Surprisingly for the number of campers I didn't encounter any queues in the ladies. Hubby was less than impressed to find long queues in the gents for both the showers and loos - one of the 3 loos out of order all weekend.

My main gripe was the bins. There is one bin are for the whole site (about 90-100 units when packed) which was totally inadequate. When we arrived on Friday evening the bins were pretty much full, by Sunday the whole area was over-flowing. Fortunately it wasn't hot weather so didn't whiff too much! The units pitched next to them must have been grateful for that!

As I said - a nice site. But avoid going at peak season if you want any space and peace and quiet. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Simonfoster 1 review from this member

 Lovely site within 1 mile of Settle, so easy 15 minute walk. Reception was closed when we arrived on the Friday evening but a list was posted on the door with all late arrivals pitch number so no confusion. The top end of the site was steeper than lower down and as caravans parked sideways we needed two leveling wedges under wheel to level up but otherwise no problem.
The site is within easy reach of Settle station so we took the train to Carlisle on the Saturday for a truly scenic journey. The toilets where very clean and no problems getting showers or sinks on a morning.
Pitch fees worked out around £21/night for family of 4 with awning and electric. Great site that I am sure I will revisit 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: SRamus 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this site on Friday 1st June for a long weekend coming back on Monday 4th.  Myself, my husband and an 8yr old girl, 16month old boy.  It seemed very packed out when we arrived but as this was the end of half term, not surprising!  It thinned out to be much more peaceful over the weekend. 
The site is very clean and tidy, fairly level with good views of the hills and in a nice location for exploring the dales, the local village of settle has some nice shops and plenty of places to eat as well. 
The toilets and showers are exceptionally clean with plenty of hand soap, be warned though the heat and power of the showers might be a bit much for the little ones.  Most of the pitches are electric.  A friendly site that we would definitely visit again.  I recommend a visit to Malham, ignore the village just drive though and heat to the National Trust Malham Tarn Estate, park up and a short walk along a level bit of the pennine way will bring you to a beautiful lake surrounded by stunning yorkshire dales.  


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kabe 3 reviews from this member

 Visited this site in July for a two night stay, smashing little site - toilets / showers nice and clean. The kids enjoyed the play area and this is a good base for walking. Close by for shops and pubs.
Only bad comment to make is that they seem to pack you in and there is only a small area for tents without hook ups, so felt trapped. However it is a good site and very quiet after 10pm and we will go back, hopefully they wont pack them in so much this season. 


Previous     109 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Langcliffe Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Langcliffe Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Langcliffe Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Settle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4237 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement