Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sea Barn Farm Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Fleet > Sea Barn Farm Camping Park > Reviews

Sea Barn Farm Camping Park
Fleet Road
Fleet
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT3 4ED
Tel: 01305 782218
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 15/03/2024 to 01/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 131 Reviews
                8/10 from 131 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alisonp85 7 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely family site, more a family site then for young couples like my boyfriend and i.

Staff very friendly, you pick you own pitch.

Nice little burn pub on site, food looked very good although we had bbq every night.

Ideal spot for a long weekend, not sure I would like to stay for a whole week.

Shower and toilet block has got to be up there with the best I have ever used. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davemw 21 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from four nights here, for the second time (we did the same last year).

Last year I would say there was about 35 to 40 tents,a few motor homes, but not more 50 units.

This year however was mad !

We had a EHU and arrived about mid day pitched our tent on walking round the site most EHU were taken and was ok, busy, but ok.

As always this site has Spotless shower / toilet blocks and I have never seen queues.

By Saturday night the place was heaving, the places that the children would play on had gone.

Centre areas had tents on them, guy ropes crossed everywhere. There is a 20 foot rule in their site rules? it did not apply. We had people 6ft away one side, about 10 feet the other, 3 cars 12 feet in front of us, to the right of the cars 3 large and one small tent,and this the same over the whole site.

The 11.00 noise rule goes out the window with many people, sadly, last year I could easy give this site 10 out of 10, this year however, the late night noise, closeness of tents etc. 4 out of 10.

This is a great site, but not this May bank Holiday. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JamesMuir 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a 4 night stay at sea barn and have to say the location of this site was amazing.

We arrived on the Sunday of the May bank holiday and the site was very busy however come Monday evening the site was pretty much empty.

The views looking over the fleet, chisel beach and the ocean are amazing and in all other directions there is nothing but countryside.

This is a very quiet site however not too quiet, we were able to play ball games and enjoy our evenings, the pitches are very large which gives you the feeling of space, you are not camped on top of each other which can often be the case.

The new shower facilities are very impressive and no additional charge. The older shower block does need updating however if you don't like the old one take the very short walk to the new block, that's what we did and it wasn't a problem.

We found the shop to be reasonably priced, in fact the disposable bbq's were cheaper than tesco's.

This site is in a remote location however there are nice walks available from the campsite down to shores and if you are a keen walker you can take the hike to Weymouth (we didn't). It is only a 10 minute drive in to Weymouth and you will find all the essentials there. There is a Morrisons within 5-10 mins of the site where we purchased most of our shopping or an Asda in Weymouth.

If you are wanting to get out and about Durble Door is approx 40 mins away, as is Monkey world and heading down the coast the site is a approx 35 mins from Lyme Regis (well worth a visit).

Finally we found a little cafe called the egg cup on the route to Lyme Regis, it did the most amazing cream teas, a must for all.

Enjoy the site, we did. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jlh22 4 reviews from this member

 We went Bank Holiday weekend for the Weymouth Kite Festival and the site was about at capacity. We were lucky to be able to pitch by a hedge but others were in the middle of the field. There are no marked pitches for tents and going wherever you like would probably work better at quieter times. The views over Chesil Beach are great and on a clear morning we could see around the whole bay and over to Exmouth.

The site is generally flat with short grass. There are two toilet / shower blocks. Both were always clean and we never had to queue. We only spoke to staff when we registered. There is a shop but we didnít need to use it.

The site was very quiet at night even though it was busy.

Disappointingly for us The Weymouth Kite Festival wasnít as good as in previous years but the free fireworks in Weymouth on Sunday night were excellent. However, we love the Dorset coast and would definitely return to this site. Great coastal walks locally and loads of attractions close by. For a really special meal out we would recommend Mallams Restaurant, Trinity Road in Weymouth. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

 This site is one of my favourites and I always make sure I pay a visit at least once a year. Are you right in the heart of the countryside or are you by the sea? Well it depends which way you look, but the answer is both, and both the surrounding countryside a sea views are fantastic

The site itself is large, but being split into smaller fields all separated by mature hedgerows it maintains a small site feel which is another of its charms.

There are two toilet blocks, one brand new which opened this summer, it's large and has all the mod cons that a campsites has these days, it'll certainly be an improvement on the old block, the second block that remains is quite old, but clean, hopefully this may be up for replacement as well.

The pitches are large and some appear to be marked out and some not, they are all pretty much level and there are a few with electric hookup. Some pitches have a sea view but there are probably more that don't, however, the presence of the sea is enough.

There is a campsite shop selling the usual bits and bobs, but nothing elaborate, the campsite nearby has a bar that you can use, but there isn't anything else within walking distance unless you are a committed rambler. Weymouth though is only 10 minutes away by car and has everything you could possibly need.

The only downside to this site are the staff, from all my visits I am yet to have experienced a friendly welcome, in fact it must be harder to be as ignorant, disinterested and unpleasant as the lady in reception, than it would be to smile. Also I was quoted a lower price over the telephone than they tried to charge me at the site and this is not the first time, so be firm and insist and hopefully they will accept that you're in the right.

So if you can just grit your teeth and ignore the less than pleasant welcome then you can sit back and enjoy what is a great site, set in fantastic surroundings. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MaryLox 8 reviews from this member

 This is a very pleasant site right on the sea, overlooking Chesil Beach.

It is divided into several 'camping bays', each separated from the others by thick hedges. This means that you can pitch in a fairly quiet spot and not be within sight and earshot of hundreds of other tents. I chose to camp at the far end of the site where you get good views over the sea. The only trouble with that was that it was very windy! To avoid the wind choose one of the bays surrounded by hedges.

There are plenty of pitches that have electrical hook ups and they provide barbecue areas by the water points.

There was a very clean toilet block with free showers, hot water, clean toilets and plenty of soap, paper etc. They were also building a brand new, very smart toilet block which I understand is now finished.

There is a small shop on site which supplies virtually everything you could need. They have another site nearby at West Fleet, this is a bigger site and has a bar and a pool which you can use. I did not use the bar as it was never open when I went there. The South West Coastal Path runs very close by and there are other walks through farm land. The nearby village has two pubs and shops.

My only very small complaint would be that they obviously do not allow dogs to foul the site and they have apparently got a dog walking area, but I could never find it. It is not signposted so I had to exercise the dog on the footpaths and roads. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bailey12 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived on the 14th August and pitched our tent, near to the childrens play area and shower block. Perfect location excellent views across the lagoon and beyond to Portland.

The site as it is on top of a hill does get very windy and we were lucky to survive our third night with the tent intact.

Facilities were excellent, we visited the sister campsite one evening for a drink. Prices not exactly club prices but they had a giant inflatable slide for the children to play on, they had a blast.

Shower block was second to none and the shop I felt was well stocked with essentials and not overly priced.

We visited the Sea Life centre when the weather wasn't so great and this was a good day out. Although I would advise anyone to check the local tourist magazines to get children go free vouchers as this saved a considerable amount.

All in all an excellent site in a fabulous location, ideal for exploring the whole of Dorset. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stevesmith246 6 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a mixed weather week, despite the weather and the time year camp site wasn't too over crowded. Told to pitch anywhere apart from the electric hook ups and there was plenty of room. Pitched our Royal Bordeaux 6xlzg and although a big tent plenty of room to pitch it. Two toilet blocks one old and one new. Old one is a little out dated but fine and new one is very good. Lots of hot water loads of showers very well thought out for campers including two fully fitted bath and shower rooms for mainly families but everyone can use them. Grounds well maintained. Able to use next doors swimming pool at west fleet which is only a 10 min walk. Drainage around site was good with the rain we had, seemed to clear quite quick. This can be a very windy site at times but great views over the sea. Close to Weymouth and Dorchester towns.Well stocked shop and not too badly priced Will come back here again 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bonjela 1 review from this member

 We (2 Adults & 2 Toddlers) spent a wet N wild weekend here. On arrival the member of staff was polite and told us we could pitch anywhere we liked as it a free pitching site, but not those with numbers as they are for EHU, and we were on our way. The site his up high on the coast so if winds are expected try to pitch wisely and get some protection from other tents,hedges etc.
Like I say our weekend was 8-10 aug, wash out, The Saturday was a complete monsoon! some other tents had collapsed due to the driving wind off the coast. The shop is very very basic. The site has had built recently a new shower block, my bother in law took my neice to use one of the family bathrooms and said it was fantastic. We used the older block, which had numerous toilets, about 12 basins and approx 6 shower cubicles. This block was clean and tidy, queues in the morning, we showered in the eve, no queues then. Washing up sinks available too.
It's sister campsite is a 10/15 min walk if you wanted to use their pool/bar etc. Its is down a narrow single traffic road with no street lighting. We didn't visit it. The site was full but not overcrowded. Its is a basic site, no play area for children, no fancy club house etc. We would go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Justy 13 reviews from this member

 We have just returned having spent a week at this site. The site is a couple of miles off the main road which is great as you cannot hear any traffic at all. The views are amazing.

We were disappointed by the fairly unfriendly reception. The staff in the shop stopped just short of actual rudeness but were by no means welcoming. We had booked a EHU pitch and it was in a corner with a lovely dry stone wall on one side and trees and shrubs on the other. It was very flat. My only criticism of it would be that it was pretty small. We could not pitch our tent and get the car on the pitch as well. This was not too much of a problem as we could park in front of the pitch but this did mean that we were blocking ourselves in.

If you have a non electric pitch you can pitch where ever you want. As a result of this policy we were slightly concerned by the arrival of a group of 4 tents who made their own little camp next to us as we were even more blocked in by the tents and their 4 cars - it started to resemble a car park at one point!

As previously mentioned the new shower block is lovely with fancy electronic showers which were great. The only downside is that there are only 4 for men and 4 for women which meant that I had to queue every time I needed to use them. I think that if they rebuild the old block too then this pressure will be eased.

The site was fully booked while we were there but due to the layout it never felt overcrowded and the late night noise levels were very low (always a bugbear of mine).

The weather was not brilliant while were were there however our pitch drained well and the site did not get boggy.

This was a good site and well placed for local attractions - Weymouth, Portland, Chesil Beach and Monkey World were some of our favourites.

It is a shame that the staff in the shop let it down as this is the first impression of the site and it really doesn't cost anything to smile and be a bit friendly. 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Sea Barn Farm Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sea Barn Farm Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sea Barn Farm Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fleet      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4157 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement