Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Stanwix Park Holiday Centre

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Silloth > Stanwix Park Holiday Centre Reviews

Stanwix Park Holiday Centre
Greenrow
Silloth
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA7 4HH
Tel: 016973 32666
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 126
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 101 Reviews
                8/10 from 101 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  101 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GOODCAMPER 3 reviews from this member

 I was at Stanwix twice this year and have been going there for 4 years now at various times of the year. This is one of the best run sites we go to and the site, toilets, showers and club are great the only problem is I have noticed the last 3 times I visited there are more and more what I can only describe as rowdy campers in tents staying there. There is a minimum noise after 11 pm rule but no one is enforcing it. There is no number to phone for night security but it would be better if they had a patrol now and again which would curtail the yobs. On one pitch last weekend (pitch 113) there where 3 under 16 year olds in a tent by themselves(their mother was at the other side of the site in another tent) and if there was a patrol they would have seen the mess and heard the noise but never mind I will probably start going to caravan only sites after this. 


Date of Visit: July 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Harrison42 2 reviews from this member

 The sun was shining when we arrived.  The staff as reception were friendly and gave us a map of our site location.  The camp grounds were busy but people did say hello.  There was water, electric and drains all at the pitch.  The shower block wasn't far away and was always clean and tidy.  The access roads where quiet with speed limits all round.  The children were safe to wonder about and play in the park facilities safely.  The indoor and out door pool areas were great.  We spend most of our time in the indoor pool.  If we didn't feel like cooking there was a small restaurant area to provide us with good food.  The shop was well stocked too.
 
Of an evening the entertainment was great.  The kids loved being introduced to the type of entertainment I remember from my childhood caravan hols.  We danced all night to the disco but sadly were too tired to stay up for the cabaret act.  We had a good nights sleep but I'm glad we weren't that close to the toilet block as the door made a loud noise each time it closed. 
 
We were able to use the facilities all day on our last day even though we had packed up our tent.  It was a well maintained site was very pleasant staff.  Silloth front was great too.  Loved the amusements 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Faulknerf1 8 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a short stay on this site.  We were pitched on the 'Skiddaw' section which was nice and quiet. Other part 'Criffel' looked a bit crowded.  The whole site was well kept with well cared for grass and shrubs.  Pitches all had own EHU, water and waste which makes life easier!
Lovely refurbished toilet and shower block, which included two full bathrooms.  It was clean and tidy at all times.
Leisure facilities were great with a lovely pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room - all open until 9 each night. Also pub/club which looked too busy for us!
Immediate area around Silloth a bit run down but some great places to visit if you are prepared to drive a bit. 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mandydodgson 16 reviews from this member

 Very nice site great for family's. We were on the sister site which was a about a 10min walk to the main Stanwix site the site we stayed on was OK, no shop on site and the toilets where basic.
We would go back if we got onto main Stanwix site.
There is a swimming pool and lots for the whole family to do. 
 
 
 
 
  


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beezers 13 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this site on the Criffel end, for 2 nights on a last minute impulse and got booked no problem. We were a bit concerned about pitching on pea gravel, but it was ok although I wouldn`t like to do it too often. Pitches are a bit regimented and we didn`t have as much space as we have had on other sites but we managed ok. EHU and water tap are on each pitch so no traipsing off to find water.

The shower block was never too busy that you had to wait long and they were free. There were seperate showers, but we tended to use the bathroom cubicles that contained a bath with shower above, sink and toliet. Water from the shower could be very hot at times so beware! Also because there were no shower curtains the floor could get very wet as well.

The indoor and outdoor swimming pool were a God send in the hot weather and were very popular with everyone. Sauna and steam room in the indoor pool are were free and the spa bath was lovely. Lockers were £1 each but we got all our clothes etc on one large one, which isn`t bad for a family of four. Be warned that it is a communal change room, so men and women share them! There are private cubicles to change in though.

The bars etc seemed reasonably priced, £2.48 for pint of lager and 98p a large glass of coke. The club seems to be brand new or recently refurbished and the entertainment was good, although our kids are a bit old for the usual adult dressed in a furry suit, type entertainment now.

The shop seemed to be well stocked and reasonably priced, but the local Co-op is only 5 minutes drive away.

The one thing we did comment on which we would like to see changed is, caravans and tents were all mixed in together. We prefer sites where they are kept seperate as we felt a bit `un-private` cooking and eating in the open surrounded by caravans, especially as there wasn`t room to put up a windbreak for privacy. We had a BBQ one night and I spent half my time trying to waft the smoke away from the caravan next to us, that had all it`s doors and windows open. Camping under canvas and in a caravan are two different experiences and better enjoyed among similar campers. Although the people in the caravans around us were lovely, we did feel a bit like goldfish in a bowl at times.
Would we return? Yes, but this time we would ask to be put with other tenters if possible. 

Advertisements

Reviewer: Sandra D 3 reviews from this member

 May 2005
My family and I have stayed at Stanwix Park on the Criffel Site for the past 3 years. We feel that the site is wonderful. We have never had any problems whatsoever. The toilet and shower block has always been of high standard of cleanliness. The showers are very hot (but that's the way we like them). My children have spent many hours of fun in the pool. We have always found the staff to be friendly and even one of the owners now waves to us! Looking forward to our holidays there in May next year. 


Reviewer: Mandy123 2 reviews from this member

 August 2004
Well mixed reviews. Excellent bar areas. Good for kids. Good adults bar, where the kids can still attract your attention. Changing area the floor was muddy and dirty. Toilet / shower block in skiddaw could do with modernisation.
They charge £5 per hour for snooker and £2.50 per game of tenpin bowling, plus amusements so money money needed when it's raining. I know you cannot predict rain, but a lake was formed outside our tent. We had to wade through water. We contacted reception to see if anything could be done, they were not very helpful. To cut a long story short eventually WE tracked down a member of management who dug a trench so to drain the water off. Apart from the reception staff who need to be retrained to be people friendly and helpful, we had a nice break. 


Reviewer: josh 1 1 review from this member

 Aug 04
We stayed a week at this park in Aug (family of 4). We were pitched in the criffel field right in front of toilets so got quite noisy. We found pitches to be quite small and no room around the caravans or tent pitches for children to play.
My husband couldn't get under the showers due to scorching hot water, we did complain and someone did come out however scorching water remained!Is a nice site but we wont return there.
 


Reviewer: mosstodloch 6 reviews from this member

 July 2004
We were pointed in the direction of this campsite by the tourist board in Cockermouth after not being able to stumble across one ourselves The leaflet advised of pitch prices of between £12 - £18 pounds per night. When we arrived we booked in for 2 nights only as it was a stop gap on our way to Wales. This cost £51 for a family of four (children 8 & 6).

The pitch was quite private with our own water supply which did prove quite handy. The toilet facilities were excellent and very clean. There were extremely spacious separate cubicles which had a toilet, bath and wash hand basin. The wash up area had 4 sinks and 4 domestic cookers. The first time I had experienced cookers on a campsite. These were available for use at no extra charge, and were cleaned daily by the campsite staff.

The laundry cost £2 for a wash and £1 for a whole load of wahing to be dried. Again the facilities here were well maintained.

Although we were issued with entertainment passes, we only utilised them for the swimming pool. This was again well maintained.

The onsite shop we felt did not open early enough for a campsite at 9.00 o'clock, and neither did any local shops in Silloth. The only shops that were open before this time were newsagents, and did not stock any provisions other than newspapers.

As a scottish family, travelling from the NEast of Scotland to Cumbria, we did not feel that we had left Scotland. The majority of residents had come from Scotland, and this made us feel that we had not travelled far from home.

Probably would not return, as we thought it was quite expensive for a tent pitch, and perhaps a bit too much like a "holiday camp (Butlins style)" for us. 


Reviewer: Lisa & Mark Lee

 August 2003
We arrived at Stanwix and luckily they had touring pitches available on their sister site, Hylton Park, which is under a mile away. We couldn't fault the site at all. The toilet block was immaculate and cleaned regularly. Each cubicle had a toilet, hand basin and bath with shower above. Next door there was a laundry with washers, dryers and irons. They also have two sinks for pot washing if required. Each pitch has its own electric hook-up, water and waste disposal point. Most of the pitches were flat with the odd one on a slight slope. The grass was better than in our garden!

Although Hylton Park doesn't have any other facilities on site, you only have to go down the road to Stanwix (10-15 min walk) and all the facilities you could ask for are there. Once you have paid for your pitch the facilities are free of charge, except things like games machines and ten-pin bowling etc.
One thing that we did notice on this site was that, even though it was fairly busy, it was very quiet. Children played and laughed and ran about but the noise seemed to disappear.

We came upon this site by chance but we will definitely be going back. At first we said that we would book in future and stay on Stanwix itself but after staying there a week we have decided that we like having the best of both worlds and would book again for Hylton, plenty of space, quiet but with all the action a young family could possibly need within walking distance. Well done Stanwix! 


Previous     101 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stanwix Park Holiday Centre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Stanwix Park Holiday Centre have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stanwix Park Holiday Centre?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stanwix Park Holiday Centre dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silloth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5591 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements