Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beacon Hill Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

CLOSED: Beacon Hill Touring Park
Blandford Road North
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed 2018

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 110 Reviews
                6/10 from 110 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Topskills 1 review from this member

Despite the torrential rain for 30 hours my party had an awesome time.
The facilities were clean and tidy with plenty of hot water and I never had to queue for a shower. The games room was great for the kids and the bar served nice cold beer and entertainment was laid on.
The swimming pool was clean and provided several hours of wet fun (in the rain).
My only complaint was the price. it is rather more than what I would normally pay.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Crazylegsuk 2 reviews from this member

We visited Beacon Hill over the August bank holiday weekend.  My Wife, 2 young children and I were in a tent and the friends we went with were next to us in a touring caravan.
 
When we arrived at the site, the staff had no clue what was going on and had no record of the booking we had made two months earlier.  Initially, the manager informed us that they would not be able to fit us in, but when we pressed him, he said he would cancel someone else, which made us feel guilty.  I doubt very much that another booking was cancelled, as I will explain later.  The staff, including the manager were all very young, mid teens to mid twenties and although very polite, were not at all organised. 
 
After about 45 minutes, we were offered a minute pitch, surrounded on all sides by other campers, and right next to the shop.  The second pitch we were offered had no electric hook up, not much use!  The third pitch that we were shown was at the very back of the site and to be fair was perfect.  I think that we were EXTREMELY lucky to get this pitch, as the rest of the site was absolutely crammed, with virtually no space between campers.  If we hadn't obtained this pitch, I think we would have left after one night.
 
The setting for the site amongst a woodland is very nice. However, the facilities are very tired and in need of modernisation.  The pool was guarded by a round the clock army of unsupervised teenagers.  The shower blocks were dirty and the toilets were at times unusable.  The games room was quite good for the kids, other than there was again no adult supervision and therefore the teenagers were in my opinion a little too wild. The bar is next door to the games room and I guess this is where most of the parents were. The bar itself was like a late 70's working mens club. 
 
I do feel a little guilty for being so critical of the site, as we did have a good time, but this was purely due to the fact that we were right on the very edge of the site, on a nice secluded pitch. I am sure that when the site is less busy, it could be very nice.  However, my perception it that this site is in need of modernising, more regular cleaning and just a few staff around to keep things in order.  We will not be going back.

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joseph090 2 reviews from this member

A smashing site. One of the best my wife and I have visited. Set in beautiful woodland surroundings, with buildings merging into the greenery, rabbits galore!

The campsite shop is equipped with all your essentials, and a few luxuries besides. The bar is friendly and quite small but the pints are cheap and the entertainment is superb. If you can't get a seat, the music is loud enough to hear down by the catering van (who serve well cooked food at bargain prices.).

We arrived and were greeted by the Beacon Hill Touring Park Warden and his wife, they were very friendly and gave us a warm welcome and gave us the correct directions for Reception. The staff were very young in reception but they were organised and had a good grip on the insuing chaos. The games room is well equipped for kids and is strangely located above the shop.

There are two shower blocks with a good supply of hot water, showers, hand basins and toilets, all very well maintained by Jeff the Warden. Everything is kept meticulously clean by Sandra, Jeffs wife, and her team

Complete with pool and tennis courts and beautiful walks up to the view point right at the top of Beacon Hill, with truly magnificent views of Poole bay, this is the perfect holidaying place.
To sum it all up a fantastic park, well run by two smashing Wardens who are a credit to themselves and made our weeks stay ever more enjoyable.

Definitely worth a visit, if you have any queries while you are there ask for Jeff and the situation I believe will be resolved.
I'm taking my wife back ther for another week in august as a surprise anniversary gift, as she enjoyed her time there so very much.
Well done all at Beacon Hill Touring Park, Keep up all the good work.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Doodles 10 reviews from this member

Very relaxed, continental style site. 
 
If you get there when it is not too busy, you can choose your own pitch. We were lucky - but in the last few days the site filled up, so lack of choice and quite crowded, tents quite close together. Lots of different areas, some sun, some shade.  Being a wooded site, some pitches may have wood ants - we seemed to have a number of earwigs.  Plenty of drinking water taps and waste water areas. 
 
The fishing lakes were very popular with children and the men.  Pool very nice and clean - take your own chair along.  The play area is suitable for younger children.  Plenty of quiet roads for children to cycle.
 
We didn't try the games room facilities, cafe or bar.  However, my brother did try out the bar/club and said it had a good atmosphere.  The on-site shop is small and has a very limited stock.  There is a big Tescos and Lidls a couple of miles away.
 
The ladies shower block near reception were reasonably clean and tidy.  There were washing cubicles too.  The facilities at the other end of the site had shower curtains, not doors - not so private and rather shabby.
 
All in all, we had a good holiday, a nice pitch and enjoyed the convenience of fishing on site.  We love this area, lots of beaches nearby and places to visit.

Reviewer: Chuckie69 7 reviews from this member

August 2005
We (me, hubby & four kids) spent 3 nights here just before the bank holiday weekend and arrived when it was fairly quiet, being offered a choice in where we wanted to pitch. We tried to pitch in the middle of the wettest day in August but drainage was good and we were a good distance from any other tents. I would say, however, that by the time we left on the Saturday they were packed in and it was therefore not quite so private!

There were two toilet / shower blocks, with the ones nearest the shop being the better of the two but I was still a bit disappointed in the quality. The floors were muddy, shower curtains a bit tatty and the grout / windows etc were a bit grubby. Saying that, the sinks and toilets themselves were clean.

The shop was fairly well stocked though was below the games room and therefore smely a bit smoky. Staff were reasonably pleasant.

The swimming pool looked a bit grubby so we didn't use it and I didn't see any evidence of others using it despite the following days of hot weather.

There was a play area for the kids which was safe and reasonably well stocked. The clubhouse had reasonable entertainment which went on til 11 but was far too small for the number of people there by the weekend.

A bit of road noise as well.

All in all not a bad site (I think it was 2 star having lost one of its stars from last year) but I wouldn't return as I am a bit fussy with my ablution standards! Bit pricey too.

Reviewer: Simon Thomson 1 review from this member

August 2005
Second time visitor. Great big site although it does not feel too big as it is set in different secluded fields, set in woodland. Ideal area for Poole / Weymouth. Pitch size is variable as they seem just to find a space for you. Although it is very busy it never seems to cramped.

Facilities are clean. Staff are friendly. Shop caters for most and takeaway and bar are as you would like.

When ever we go down to that area we will book this site again.

Reviewer: Sheesh 2 reviews from this member

August 2005
A lovely, picturesque site with good facilities and a wide range of on-site activities. Would recommend however its double the normal price that we pay for a campsite with similar facilities and I'm not sure I can see the justification for it. But saying that, would use again.

Reviewer: Joanine 1 review from this member

July 2004
This is a Fantastic place...
Great people, Great facilities. Everything you want and need close by.
We loved it here and would certainly go again.
The bar was fantastic. It had great entertainment. The staff are all very helpful and friendly.
There are loads to do for the kids as well.
The shop has got what you would need. There's no cash machine on site, but there's a fuel station and 24 hour tesco very close by.
There is just nothing bad to say about this campsite. Always clean and warm water in the showers. The beach is quite a drive away, but it's super when you get there. It was rather busy when we got there, but it was no problem what-so-ever. I did have a accident in the outside pool (someone jumped ontop of me) Everyone was very helpful and I was taken away by ambulance. This was the first accident in I think 10 years. The oly thing was they say the poole is heated, but it's not really as heated as you would have thought, but it's good when your in :-)

It was very clean as well.

Fantastic place....

Reviewer: Danielle76 3 reviews from this member

August 2004
We visited the campsite on the August bank holiday & the campsite was almost full, Our group consisted of 1 tent, 5 Adults aged 23 -24 staying for a total of 2 nights this cost us £225. We were asked to pay a behavioural bond of £30.00 each as a deposit. Beware of the extra deposit charges they're not always mentioned. The shop only accepts cash/cheque & doesn’t always stock the basic necessities but that’s not a problem as there’s a local supermarket about 5 -10 mins in a car.
We ate from the takeaway & found the food to be good & averagely priced, the food served is the same as your local chip shop. They did have jacket potatoes on the menu but we didn’t try them.
The shower / toilets weren’t very clean but we put that down to the campsite being full & the fields being muddy.
The site itself was very pleasant, we had an area next to a few trees which helped shelter us from some of the rain. We didn’t use the swimming pool so I’m unable to comment. The people we spoke to had used the site previously & had returned which is always a good indication, However I don’t think we would use the campsite again until I’ve tried other campsites in the area.

Reviewer: Pegtent 8 reviews from this member

August 2004
Dog, 3 adults, 4 kids stayed in 2 tents and a gazebo at this site and had a great (if wet) time. The costs did mount up a lot though. We were told where to pitch, although if we hadn't liked it I think we could have changed. The ground was stony towards the front of the pitch, but ok elswhere. We should have gone back nearer the bushes.

The people in the shop/reception were young, but very helpful, my 5yr old went and got the milk every morning with no probs. The site is very large, but seems smaller due to it being split into lots of small fields cut into the surrounding heath. Our field was one of the two dog fields, near the pub, and did get busy at the weekend - a fair number of motorhomes turned up Friday. Fishing on the lake was fun, and easy, with rods for hire at reception. Near to beaches at Poole and Bournemouth, and to the New Forest.

Toilets clean, didn't visit pub, excellent cheap takeaway. Good dog walk through woods behind tent. Did have two arcade rooms in which to lose children. Swimming pool cold, but clean.

Generally a good site, I think it might have been quieter if we were further away from the pub, the singing at night was loud, but stopped about 10.30, but then we were near the toilets! Would reccommend this site for sure.

Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


201 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019