Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Greensprings Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Greensprings Touring Park > Reviews

Greensprings Touring Park
Rockley Abbey Farm
Rockley Lane
Worsbrough
Barnsley
South Yorkshire   (Browse area)
S75 3DS
Tel: 01226 288298
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 139 Reviews
                9/10 from 139 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  139 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wifeofstan 6 reviews from this member

 We only live about 5 miles away from this site, and it's perfect when we want to run away from our grown up kids to have some peace and quiet. Just 10 minutes drive from the town centre, it's unbelievable how rural it is.

It's nestled in the lea of the M1 just 5 minutes away from either Junction 36 or 37, but being surrounded by woods, you can't hear a thing. It's so peaceful and beautiful. There are plenty of walks in the area too.

The facilities are second to none. The new toilets and showers are plentiful, clean and spacious. Showers are 20p, and there are no sockets for hair dryers/straighteners in the blocks but that doesn't really bother us.

The tent field is very well maintained. (all the grounds are really with the exception of a little finishing off near the new toilet block) The grass is kept very low and neat and unlike a lot of campsites, the clippings were not left to get waked into your unit. A big bonus!

There are plenty of electric hook up sites for those not prepared to go without such luxuries. The guy who dealt with is is very friendly and helpful and went to great lengths to assure us it was a quiet site. (Must have though we looked rowdy lol) We will be returning very soon.

I give it a 10 out of 10 for everything with the exception of child friendliness. I didn't see any play equipment, but the shower cubicles are enormous with a separate area for drying. Perfect for those with young children. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chris846 1 review from this member

 Our first stay at Greensprings despite living just a mile away and knowing the area well.

First impression: peaceful, lovely setting and relaxing approach along the driveway past the ornamental ponds with ducks, geese and heron. The site is kept in immaculate order and the pristine new toilet facilities were spacious and sparkling clean. The tent field was roomy and well-drained even after heavy rain the day before - it probably benefits from the slight slopes that run across it.

The best feature of the site for us is the location and the history that is available to see, all within a few miles (or less) of scenic and interesting walking. The site adjoins the grounds of Wentworth Castle, and although the visitor centre is currently closed to the public, the restored parkland and numerous follies, lakes, trails and deer park can all still be visited on foot within half an hour, or as long as you want to wander.

Three really good pubs are equally walkable: the Cock Inn (great beer and pub food with a garden for dogs and kids), The Strafford (more of a restaurant, but still with a kids' outside play area and a cricket match if you're lucky), or the Wortley Arms. Each has a worthwhile walk through former stately home grounds and parklands. Wortley Hall itself is also worth a visit, and has a bar (a well-kept secret) hidden in its depths.

We do know the area fairly well, but a three night stay (we added an extra night because we were enjoying it so much) allowed us to savour it as true visitors and we discovered several new treasures that we had never seen - the serpentine lakes and palladian bridge, with a herd of deer that seemed fascinated by our similar-coloured labrador!

The owner, Robert, is happy to talk and explain local history too (and no, we don't have any connection with him)

Highly recommended, even for locals! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: KathP29 31 reviews from this member

 This site is close to M1 and easy to get to. Pre booking was easy and informal. The pitches are a generous size and the site is well kept and attractive. It's peaceful and good for dog walking. We did the Parkland Trail and called for a welcome drink at the Strafford Arms, very attractive pub, serves food but we didn't eat there.

There is only one thing which stops this site being perfect is the toilet and shower facilities. Very old and grotty. The owners should invest and upgrade these facilities 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pamzee 18 reviews from this member

 Arrival a bit confusing, you book in at the house. Quite idyllic location. Not a super smart site but very pretty area, lake, wildfowl and animals wandering about. M1 nearby, audible but not too loud - seems more noticeable at night. Tent field is a meadow separate to caravan area. Facilities need upgrade but kept clean and supplied with soap and handwashing soap. Only 3 units per sex - possibly insufficient at busy times. I only stayed one night as I was attending a conference, so I didn't sightsee. I found ALDI nearby and also a Chinese takeaway but the information room had details of others. It cost me 15 for the night for one person, small tent and car. A bit above my usual budget - I don't think it cost much more for a family and I may take the grandkids sometime as it was a pleasant stay. I would visit again and recommend it. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynn24 1 review from this member

 We stayed for 6 nights and had a lovely time. Yes the showers/toilet block aren't the best but are clean and paying 20p for a shower wasn't an issue as the water was lovely an hot and there was plenty of time to shower and wash hair. It has no entertainment at the site which suited us.

The grass well kept. Peaceful, plenty of places to walk in beautiful countryside. Our dogs had a fab time too on holiday with us. It was hard to believe we were so close to the motorway but never heard anything.

We went to the nearby pub 'The Cock Inn' where we were made very welcome with our dogs. We had homemade steak and ale pie with proper chips, mushy peas and gravy. It was delicious.

This is a site we will be going to again, as we had such a lovely time  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rikaram 25 reviews from this member

 The major plus for this site is its situation. Although you are only a few minutes from large towns, supermarkets and the motorway it could easily be in some remote rural location.

I did not find the proprietor very welcoming when booking by phone and on site it was a case of 'do it yourself' with no-one around should you need assistance.

The pitches were reasonably well kept and there were flat areas available. However very few people were there due to the poor weather and I suspect if it were busy you may have been restricted to some less suitable sloping sites.

The toilet block was in a poor state of repair and required modernisation. There were also lots of cobwebs on the ceiling as if only up to eye level was cleaned. There was insufficient facilities for the size of the site. There were two showers in the block which required 20p pieces. One of the showers did not work.

For myself and a small tent it was 15 which considering the quality of the toilet block was overpriced.

I'm afraid I would not use this site again 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Rademan08 3 reviews from this member

 We booked into green springs for 1 night to test out our new trailer tent.

When you arrive you have to walk through a gate towards a big farm house through a beautiful garden to an open window that had the lovely owner sat waiting to check you in.

Once we got booked in its a short drive through the security gate to the site itself. You could really be a million miles from home here, its just beautiful.

We where placed on the tent pitch which to be fair, a day after the flood, was bone dry.

Lots of room, lots of places to walk, rivers, ponds, forests, local pubs, all close by.

Onsite facilities, toilets and showers all cleaned daily. I can not think of anything negative to say. Used to go here as a kid and its changed all for the better as time has passed.

Will be booking again friday to take the kids.

If I have to be picky at anything then the only thing I can think of is that the site doesn't have a website.

14ish for the night.

About 17. 50 with electric 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Plswork23 4 reviews from this member

 Nearly a year since my last visit and the site even smarter than before.

Showered this morning for only 20p still no rise. Lovely and steaming.

Used the wash facilities for pots and the water was amazingly hot. So hot no need to soak pans.

Currently sat in tent the only sound is the sound of birds tweeting there late chorus and in the distant expect to hear an owl soon like last night. Lovely and relaxing.

Have stated here before will say again. If want noise then this NOT the site for you.

If want a site where the owner is bothered about your stay. Does take time to make sure bins emptied regularly and site is presentable then this site is for you.

New Aldi just opened within a 5 minute drive so if like me run out of an essential it there.

A pleasure to stay here.

No swings or slides for children but I not need the noise I here to relax. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Doublea1210 1 review from this member

 We just bought a tent and we had our first night camping as a family, 2 adults and 2 children. We picked this site as it is near home, and we could not have been happier.

The tent field was massive and we had no problem finding a pitch. The staff could not have been more helpful.

The toilets and shower room were clean, and 20p for a shower is very cheap.

I would recommend this park to anyone. We are already planning our next trip there. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BETTY383 2 reviews from this member

 We chose this site as we had just purchased a new caravan and wanted to make sure everything was working before we went on holiday, and this site was just down the road from where we live. Well, we could not believe that this lovely campsite was on our doorstep! We were the last to arrive but had a lovely roomy grass pitch in beautiful countryside. The owner was friendly and came to make sure we were settled in okay.

The views from the top of the lane were stunning. It was very hard to believe we were so close to Barnsley - a great site, well worth a visit. 


Previous     139 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Greensprings Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Greensprings Touring Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Greensprings Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barnsley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in South Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4800 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement