Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tyn Cornel Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Bala > Tyn Cornel Camping > Reviews

Tyn Cornel Camping
Frongoch
Bala
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL23 7NU
Tel: 01678 520759
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 67
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 124 Reviews
                9/10 from 124 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  124 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hwatts 1 review from this member

 We spent three nights at this campsite and they were very pleasant.

The owners were true their word about noise after 11pm and asked others near by to be quiet and reminded them of the rule. They were friendly and always said hello when they saw us. The facillites were very clean and adequate for any camper.

There is a nice trail following the river from the site and on the way back you can stop at the national whitewater centre, where there is cafe and you can sit by the river and watch the rafts and canoes come down the river.

The only negative thing for this campsite is that there is a recreation field but could do with some kind of playground equipment.

Having said that it would not deter me from staying there again.

Excellent site. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BurtyBoy 1 review from this member

 Having just returned from 4 days camping at Tyn Cornel, I can't speak highly enough of the location, the standards of the facilities or of the welcome. Upon arrival we chose a pitch next to the river, all the pitches were large and very flat but it was nice to be near the sound of running water and fun to watch kayakers from the nearby centre passing by.
Helen took time to find out what we hoped to get out of our stay and offer suggestions of where we might go for walks and to eat out. Tyn Cornel is beautifully maintained. The pitches are better described as lawns than as fields and care has been taken to leave large areas for trees, shrubbery and open areas for games. There is a large and clean dog walk and dogs are kept on leads at all times outside of that area, making it a genuinely dog friendly and person friendly stay.

The rubbish areas are very clean and well organised. Clearly labelled bins facilitate recycling in a simple user-friendly way. Rubbish is collected regularly and does not pile up.

Most impressive of all though must be the facilities provided free of extra charge. A modern and spotlessly clean, undercover area is provided for washing dishes, whilst inside, modern and pleasant toilet and shower facilities are all cleaned to the very highest standard. My impression was not one of regular cleaning checks being in place, but more that cleaning was ongoing and constant and that the standard was never once allowed to slip. It is seldom that I encounter public amenities that meet my standards but these surpassed them.

Aside from these, I did not use but did see facilities for laundry and refrigeration / freezing - all in clean, modern and pleasant rooms. I can't recommend this camp site highly enough. Nothing is too much trouble. When we had some rain we asked for advice on how we might go about hiring a dvd for our portable player and even that was organised for us!

Lots to do nearby, our trip included a hike up Snowdon, long walks through stunning countryside, white water rafting, visits to nearby Ruthin, Betws y coed and Bala and still plenty of time for relaxing in deckchairs and enjoying the sun. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DELUCE 123 1 review from this member

 We have just come back from a FANTASTIC weekend at this campsite. The campsite is LOVELY and we will definitely be returning again.

We were greeted with a really friendly welcome and were given a choice of pitches. We were two small families and chose two pitches together near the river.(well fenced off)

Pitches were really flat and we had plenty of space.

The facilities at the campsite were absolutely spotless - cleaner than my bathroom at home. They had a big clean half way through the day but were also checked and wiped down several times throughout the day. The showers were very clean and warm and you didn't have to pay for them.

There are three very clean sinks that are under a covered area for washing up. There are two freezers for your freezer packs.

The small shop has all the basics you really need - milk, butter, bacon, citronella candles etc. The prices are reasonable.

The campsite was very relaxed and friendly and even though this was bank holiday weekend it didn't feel crowded at all. There was plenty of space for our children to play with their balls and frisbees etc. Nobody made excessive noise or played any music.

I loved the fact that the campsite made it so easy to recycle with the different clearly labelled bins. I also appreciated the handy brick blocks that you could use to put your disposable BBQs on.

The campsite is next to a watersports centre and we liked watching the canoeists paddle past on the river behind our pitch.Our husbands were seriously tempted by the white water rafting for £35, but in the end we didn't have time.

The nearby town of Bala has a large lake that we had a paddle in and ate our picnic next to. There is also a steam railway that runs along the length of the lake.We had a lovely time on there - but there is nothing to really do when you are at the other end apart from have a cup of tea in the tea room and come back.

There is a fantastic butchers in Bala (opposite the Old School restaurant) we bought great sausages, chicken kebabs and lamb burgers for our BBQ. Really tasty meat.

All in all we had a lovely weekend and I would recommend this very well run and very reasonable priced campsite to anybody. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kenny Morris 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic campsite!
Owners Jean & Pete are very nice and helpful.
The superb shower/toilet, laundry rooms and dish washing facilities are spotlessly clean and well looked after.
Dogs are welcome at the campsite which even boasts its own dog walking field.
The nearest village (Bala) is four miles away, so having a car is a must.
The White Water Rafting Centre is only a five minute walk from the campsite and is a great day out for all the family.
I would recommend this site to anyone wishing to spend a nice and quiet peaceful break in beautiful surroundings.
The only downside is the Midges which come out in their thousands at dusk and dawn.
Also, the only mobile phone service provider that works at the campsite location is Orange.
These are only small gripes and are nothing to do with the campsite itself which is excellent.
I will certainly be visiting this very well run campsite again in the near future.
Many thanks once again to owners Jean & Pete for making us very welcome. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Breckers 1 review from this member

 We selected the site at random wanting a nice quiet site with clean facilities, WOW we were not disappointed. The site is beautiful with one field for hook ups, another for tents and one, just as big as the hook up field for dogs!
Within 5 minutes of arriving Pete had shown us to our pitch, and as very novice caravaners helped us to get lined up and level. 20 mins later and struggling to get the electrics to work Pete again arrived and saved the day !
Nothing is too much trouble for Pete and Jean who truly make you feel welcome.
The facilities are superb with an endless supply of hot water for both the showers and the washing up area. Washing up liquid is provided, as well as of a fridge and freezer to store any items in.
The attention to detail is unprecedented with even the door threshers being vacuumed when the amenities block is cleaned, which is every day without fail.
All in all a fantastic site that we will definitely be using again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stasy 2 reviews from this member

 With a small break in the terrible weather we have been having over the past few weeks, we took a chance and headed North and found this little gem.
Jean and Peter were on hand to welcome us and were more than helpful, and the site was a credit to them and their family.  It was very well maintained and the shower/toilet block was immaculate.  There was a small area for you to wash your dishes (plenty of hot water),  a laundry room, and the use of a fridge/freezer.  We were able to buy basic essentials from the reception but the town of Bala was only 5 minutes drive with plenty of pubs and a Spar.  Check out the Eagle Inn on the other side of the lake - superb meal.
Plenty of things to do around and about - Ffestiniog Railway, Portmeirion, Snowdon, Criccieth - for walkers and sight-seers, and numerous activities on  Bala Lake itself.
Whether you want a quiet, relaxing stay or a more energetic one, this is a site that is highly recommended for all ages and we will definitely be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Former Scout 13 reviews from this member

 Spent three nights at Tyn Cornel in early August.  We chose this camp site after careful consideration of what we wanted and reading plenty of reviews. This was our first family camp and we wanted one with simple but good facilities, a scenic location, a sense of being “away from it all” and yet not too far from alternative distractions for the kids.  All this was supplied in abundance.

Facilities included a toilet and shower block (including disabled-access) that was always spotlessly clean, attractive and very well appointed (toilet paper never ran out and hand wash by the sinks also provided).  There were further toilet facilities (simpler but equally well-kept) available on the tent field itself for those who didn’t want to walk the fifty or so yards to the block.  Just by the toilet block was a washing-up facility of three sinks and even washing-up liquid for those who forgot to bring their own.  A freezer for ice blocks, etc. And laundry facilities, for those staying longer than we were, were also available.  A small shop seemed to have most things that you might need, especially some of the little things that you might have forgotten, e.G. Insect/midge repellent and those artificial logs to put on the BBQ after the cooking has finished.

By the way, given its location, midges are a-plenty, so come prepared! The location is beautiful.  The site is nestled in a valley with sheep grazing on the hills and a river flowing alongside the camp (though well fenced-off so young children cannot stray there).  The only intrusion made by the outside world was the road which was about one hundred yards from the camp; the dense plantation of trees mostly muffled the sound of traffic except for the occasional impatient speed-merchant.  However, although I was occasionally aware of this, others were not and it did not spoil the holiday at all.

We had four children with us (5, 10, 12 & 12) and they did not miss the absence of the usual, modern distractions.  Being a fairly simple site there is no playground, but that meant that our kids rediscovered the joys of exploring, swing-ball, rounders, cricket, football and board-games.  The tent field is quite small but there is a much larger field adjacent to it that is only used over weekends.  As we were there midweek, this was available for our kids (and us!) to play. During our short stay we did not make much use of the local town, Bala, but we did go swimming once (nice pool but restricted opening times, so check ahead) and took the delightful steam train ride along the length of the lake – although the older ones didn’t like the idea they clearly enjoyed it also. To conclude, we strongly recommend Tyn Cornel and we will definitely be going back at some time in the future. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CorreiaJ 1 review from this member

 We stumbled across this little gem just before Bala Lake. Taking a chance as a group of girls turning up at around 10.30pm we were very welcomed. It was dark when we arrived so couldn't see much but the next morning we Must admit we have never been to a nicer site. The Bathroom/shower room was so nice it even had a hair dryer and it was so clean, the shower water was so refreshing and hot, just what we needed. Also if you wanted a more private shower for just a pound you could use the private showers available. Located next to the unit was a laundry room, which was wonderful and an area with hot running water to wash your dishes. There was also a fridge and a freezer to store your food. The grass was nicely looked after, with ample walks and the dam down the road there was plenty to see. I came with my girlfriends as we wanted to find a site that would be good for children and this site surpassed it. I am looking forward to returning here soon children in tow, It felt very safe and relaxed. I would definatley recommend this site to any one, it doesn't just cater for one type of person it caters for all. Go see it soon.
 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ibn_adam 1 review from this member

 Have just spent the first weekend of June at the campsite with a group of friends and I am compelled to say this is a *SUPERB* campsite.
Time was running out and we needed a campsite for our weekend of fun and activities. We discovered many campsites through the internet and three campsites were put on the shortlist.
A week before we went camping, a bunch of us went to Bala to view the sites so we could decide better which one to choose.
First campsite on the list to view was Tyn Cornel and when we got there and had look round we was so impressed that it was instantly decided this was the campsite we were going to spend our weekend.
We booked in advanced there and then and didn't even bother looking at the other camp sites.
The hygiene/cleanliness of the tent/caravan pitches and toilet block and showers were immaculate. Cleaning took place everyday at the campsite. This shows the owners Pete and Jeane take great pride in running the site. They have washing up area for your pots and pans they even provide washing up liquid.
There is Laundry service too and I am not kidding even fridges/freezer are provided for your frozen food too.
The campsite owners are welcoming to young groups of people, where as a lot of campsites are only interested in families even if your not trouble causers they just wont take your word for it. On the first night at the site we had trouble putting up the tent. The whole group were first time campers and totally inexperienced. We requested help from Pete who dropped what he was doing to come help us along with another kind gentleman. We would have never had managed without their help. So just to conclude, great campsite, great set up and great owners. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fahafiz 1 review from this member

 If Heaven had a campsite this would be it. Jean and Pete are wonderful. We got to the campsite at around 7pm on Friday and had 2 hours to put our tent up till the sun set. The instructions we had for our tent were very brief so we didnt have a clue what to do. However, Pete walked up to us and started to help us. He was wonderful. A perfect example of a human being. In around an hour we had our tent up ready to start praying and cooking.
 
The campsite is very very clean. The people are wonderful. Shop well stocked with all the essentials. I would recommend this campsite to everyone.
 
White water centre is next door and great fun. A Dam is up the road where the river gets its water from and this river flows through the campsite too. The river looks great and sounds so soothing, it actually helps you sleep.
 
Campsite is very quite, toilets are very clean, individual shower rooms are available for only a £1.
 
Overall the campsite is Perfect.
 
Hopefully will use this site again. I would write more but i'm at work and need to go home now. Happy Camping everyone 


Previous     124 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Tyn Cornel Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tyn Cornel Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Tyn Cornel Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bala      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


23052 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement