Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Polruan Holidays Camping & Caravanning

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Polruan Holidays Camping & Caravanning
Polruan By Fowey
Fowey
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL23 1QH
Tel: 01726 870263
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: 01/04 To 01/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 115 Reviews
                9/10 from 115 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  115 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Maxt46 52 reviews from this member

Spent a couple of nights at this site in early April, thought it was great!

Showers and toilets were very clean, and were included in price (some might say free but feel it's all in calculation).

Good little shop, nice people in charge, no negatives at all really.

Just be aware the roads (lanes) leading up to site are very narrow and care is needed, but once there you can leave van on site and catch little bus at gate, takes you to Polperro and Looe great! far better than driving!

Or better still why not jump on the little passenger ferry across to Fowey.

The village with its 2 good pubs is only a ten minute walk away downhill, but walk back is a bit of a struggle uphill!

Like to think I will return one day but with so many places to visit it's becoming a struggle to get to them all.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Djbazzabarry 1 review from this member

A really nice clean site with amazing attention to detail in all matters concerned, with making the customer feel special, no excess grass cuttings, immaculate toilets very clean and tidy refuse area, good shop, after one year of our absence the changes are very noticeable, well done to the new owners.
Polruan village is small, nice views from quay, and two lovely friendly pubs, trip across to Fowey by ferry is great, with lots of shops, pubs, and restaurants, a fantastic area for walking, the Hall Walk is a must, down through the wooded valley, then around the estuary, views from hear are spectacular, stop for a pint at the Ferry inn across to Fowey and back to Polruan also great coastal walks we have walked most of the South West Coast Path, this part is one of the best, a fantastic long weekend.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mildgreen 7 reviews from this member

Good campsite. Mrs MG and I stayed here for a week in August 2009. It ticks most of the boxes: spacious pitches, owners are very friendly and helpful, site is nice and quiet (although it's family friendly it's all pretty civilised), fabulous coastline nearby. The only points that make it a little bit off being perfect are the fields are sloping (I gather this is the norm for South Cornwall near the coast) and I'd ideally choose a site that was easy walking distance from an idyllic beach - but given that there are wonderful beaches all around within a few miles this is hardly a grumble. I usually try and book campsites right on the coast but that's just me. There is also a bit of a battle for the showers in the morning - could do with a couple more - and the lights in the showers go out without warning. Overall, very good.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Den den 3 reviews from this member

We spent two fantastic weeks at this site. It must be the best site I've ever stayed at! The owners are very nice and friendly, everywhere was spotless.
Hot showers, laundry room had microwave and fridge for campers to use. Shop was well stocked, next to it is a information room with internet.
Polruan is a very pretty village, two pubs that sell food, a small supermarket and a tea room. But no takeaway which we would have found useful. We very often used the ferry over to fowey

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davemw 20 reviews from this member

This has got to be one of the best campsites in Cornwall,Its on a hill above Polruan,views of the sea from both tent fields,nice roomy pitchs.

The Showers were soooooo clean,and kept that way all and every day,as were the toilets,even the wash up sinks where kept clean.There is a Laundry room,with a hot drinks machine,all kept clean and very tidy.In fact the 'whole' site was kept neat and tidy.

There is a shop with most things you would want food wise,even a few camping goods etc.

The owners and there sons are all very nice and helpful people.

There is a no noise rule from 10.30pm till 8.00 which is upheld by ALL (if not you will be asked too)even the few dogs where quiet ! No radios that all can hear to.This together makes a very nice relaxing Holiday.

Would recommend this campsite 110%

We all had a great time.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tot308 4 reviews from this member

What a campsite!

We had booked well in advance as we have a large tent. The owners couldn't have been more accommodating to get us a pitch. We stayed for a week but would loved to have had more holiday from work to have stayed for longer!

Pitch was large enough for us which was a good start but on a gentle slope - after purchasing some sticky matting for our table it wasn't a problem! The ground was fairly stony and we bent quite a few pegs. Also ensure your guy lines are tight - we experienced a gale or two - ok nothing to do with the campsite and just the good old british weather putting our tent through it's paces.

Toilet block is the cleanest I have ever seen and constantly being kept clean and tidy. Showers are worked by a push button timer outside your cubicle but gave ample time for shower and hair wash and the water was lovely and warm (no need for the Caution Very Hot Water signs) it was a perfect temperature.

The children's playground consists of 2 swings. These were a little high for our 6 and 4 year old. But there was space beside it for playing with the frisbee etc. However there is a nearby playpark instead if this doesn't suit your needs. Note that children are not allowed anywhere on site unaccompanied by an adult - even going to the toilet. We were unaware of this on arrival but were soon informed.

There is a good shop on site and a vegetable van came round 3 or 4 times a week with fresh fruit and vegetables etc. Ice packs could be frozen here if you made a donation to local charities. Also they were more than happy to charge camera or phone batteries again for a charity donation.

Washing machine and tumble drier, this is in a lovely room with a communal fridge which is for everyone's use.

There was a great information room with loads of leaflets on surrounding area and also books to borrow.

The tent fields both had amazing views.

It was also so quiet. Most campsites have a no noise after 1030 rule and this one is no exception. After 1030 you could have heard a pin drop on site which was great - we had such a week of brilliant sleep (apart from the night of the gale already mentioned!)

The owners work really hard to keep the site in good condition, extremely clean and tidy and go out of their way to help you.

Polruan village is a short walk and is breathtakingly beautiful. It consists of a harbour, small shop, post office, 2 pubs and a tea-room and foot passenger ferry to Fowey. It is an extremely steep hill down into Polruan and even steeper on the way back up!

Nearest beach is Lantic Bay - not for the faint hearted. It's down a very steep cliff which was such a hike to get back again. However we had a lovely time there so worth the visit.

Trips out to amazing coastlines, single track roads, fantastic scenery. Car ferry from Bodinnick to Fowey cuts a long drive if you are going in the St Austell direction. Passenger ferry to Fowey good if you looking for more shops or restaurants than the tiny Polruan can offer.

Now for the bad points - I can only think of one - and that is too many notices. There are notices everywhere in the toilet & showers saying caution hot water, slippery floor, mind the step, beware of traffic, no unaccompanied children, framed park rules in different languages, etc etc. OK I know I'm nit picking but it is the only thing which annoyed us.

And a handy hint is take a torch, some areas of the site obviously get quite dark at night.

All in all this is a complete gem of a site, just wish it wasn't so far for us to travel to it!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Arlotrac 3 reviews from this member

First time we had visited this site and will definitely be back! The whole site is kept clean and tidy and whilst we were there the grass was cut almost every day.
The showers/toilet blocks were always clean, although as a female with long hair I did struggle to wash my hair with the 7 minute shower. The owners were very pleasant, helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this site to anyone.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Percy2 7 reviews from this member

We have visited this superb site many times over many years and despite changing hands since our first visits 10 years ago, standards are still exemplary. However, it is busier than it used to be and because we hadn't booked we had to pitch for a couple of nights on the hardstandings in front of the caravans which wasn't the same without the views! The facilities are immaculate and constantly being cleaned - but becoming small with a full campsite, especially when one of the three ladies' toilets became out of use! Notwithstanding the owners could not be more cheery and helpful, with an excellent little shop on site (and a fresh veg van visiting in the morning) and good local information room. Previous reviews say everything else! Good meal in The Lugger in the village in the evening and ideal for lovely walks out to the stunning coastline and around the peninsular. Beautiful location and will visit again no doubt for the above and it is handy for the ferry across to Fowey despite the stiff climb back up the hill. The onsite caravans looked immaculately kept too for when we get tired of camping!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: FamilyHandley 1 review from this member

We visited this site for the fourth time in early June and as usual the standard of all the facilities was very high indeed. We rang on spec to check availability and the man on the phone was friendly and very helpful.

The view of the channel and Fowey estuary from the bottom field(which is tents only) is what brings us back year after year and we cannot recommend it enough. Once it was a little bit windy at the front of the field, but this was the exception and we have never been bothered by it any other time. Our 4 year old boy Tommy spends his time running around the field and on the swings, there are only 2 swings on site(well, you wouldn't want enormous climbing frames spoiling the vista) but the park at the top of the hill is a lovely stroll and is a spectacular place for the young ones to play.

The toilet block is always immaculate and the communal fridge in the washing room is a godsend if you like a cold beer. Our only reservation on recommending it too highly is that everyone else will discover our favorite site and we wont be able to book in the future.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nick_north 1 review from this member

This is an excellent small, quiet campsite with seaviews for many pitches, and seems better located for classy Fowey (via foot ferry) than its rivals. The walk back involves a good calf stretch but equally so for rival campsites and it's made easier by a pint or two of St. Austell brewery's Tribute in Polruan. The campsite is clean and well-equipped, with very helpful manager Kevin.

With good weather all week we never got bored of the out-of-the-way beach at Lantic Bay a mile to the east (fitness required) - a real treat although a wetsuit is desirable for extended swims in June.

When dining in Polruan's pubs give the Lugger a wide berth and head straight for the Russell Inn.

No negatives, perfect for us. Happy camping.

Previous     115 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2529 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019