Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Carsington Fields Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Carsington Fields Caravan Park > Reviews

Carsington Fields Caravan Park
Millfields Lane
Carsington Water
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 3JS
Tel: 01335 372872
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 17/03/2024 to 01/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 104 Reviews
                9/10 from 104 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  104 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Taluka 1 review from this member

 We choose this campsite for our first camping trip with child aged 2.
Pleasantly surprised how welcoming it was and how attractive it looked. Pitch was large but some of the field was wet and muddy and unsuitable so we could spread out a bit.
Lots of families with young children and a little play house with toys in like tractors, bikes, balls to play with which my little one liked. Showers were £1 each and the cubicle was very small but water nice and hot and some free toiletries in the ladies which I thought was a nice touch.
 
Ideal location for exploring Carsington Water, we drove there but it was near enough to walk to. Ashbourne not far away with banks, supermarket etc.
Nice pubs all around, we didn't eat in any but they looked good.
Food at Carsington restaurant lovely and wholesome. Lots of little shops there too, like the health food one and the bookshop was well stocked.
Would definitely return to site again, friendly people, dog walking area and lots of interesting leaflets in toilet block. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Frogget_66 2 reviews from this member

 Carsington was our second forage into the camping experience and once again we were not disappointed, apart from the British weather of course. It poured down upon arrival on Friday and again Sunday when we left. The real feel for this site came about with a relatively sunny day when we were able to explore the excellent facilities at Carsington Water nearby. An impressively clean and tidy toilet/shower block. Plenty of good humoured camaraderie around the outside pots and pans wash area as we all tried to make light of the bad weather, despite the optimistic predictions during the week. In all a good friendly site, but with no other amenities make sure you take plenty of provisions. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Primus2 16 reviews from this member

 Lovely site , excellent toilet block/shower block we stayed there april 2007  near the pond they have , the owners are very helpful and offered to help us back our van in if we were struggling will deffinately be going back and I think they will give the cc site next door a good run for their money on the quality of the site , carsington res is almost next door so is only a 15 minute walk away and the knockerdown pub is well worth a visit for a good meal . 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cloughy 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for one night on 28 April and found the site to be excellent. Clean facilities and nice hot showers (take £1 coins!). Ideally located for exploring Carsington Water and the Derbyshire dales. There was plenty of room on the site and the owners put up the site full sign early evening, so I was glad we arrived early! 


Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steve1961 18 reviews from this member

 Lovely peaceful site close to Carsington water which has water sports, cycle hire, a very good children's play area, a few nice shops picnic area's etc.
The nearest pub is around two miles away, a nice walk over the Carsington water dam takes you to it, they serve good food & a good selection of drinks, they also have a small farm with animals that the children can look at.  
There are plenty of pitches on the site with electric hookups for caravans & tents set out around a small pond, or a large field for camping if you want to be a bit more back to nature.
There is a charge of £1 a time for the showers. The new washing up facility's & toilet/shower block is spotless with nice hot water, however a few shelves in the gents showers to put soap etc on would be good! A few lights around the site at night would also be a very good idea as it is pitch black, even with a torch my o/h was very apprehensive about walking to the toilet block after dark, as they are in total darkness until you walk through the door & the lights come on. 
On the whole we enjoyed our stay here & would probably visit again, as I have said it's very handy for the beautiful countryside surrounding Carsington water & Matlock, & the owners are very nice & friendly. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lornaw1500 2 reviews from this member

 Visited this site at the weekend, lady was friendly when visited as only booked the night before. Nice level flat pitch, was very disappointed as single parent cost £12.00 per night and had to pay for showers. Don't mind paying if reflected in the price, but very basic, no shop also and as was camping cannot really carry the basics like bread and milk either. If visiting this site please be wary as more suitable for caravans than tents and more geared up to caravans and rallies! Very dark at night as not much lighting except from the toilet block!   


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrsk24 1 review from this member

 Thought the site was beautiful, shower block was clean but it is a bit of a trek in the night! Owners were very nice and friendly. Ground was quite hard so make sure you have tough pegs. All in all it is recommended, kids will love it, plenty of room to run about. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clarebearbarton 1 review from this member

 Had a fabulous weekend here - plenty of drinking water sites, quiet, yet children made to feel very welcome. Very safe for them too. Plenty of room. Showers & toilets kept very clean and well stocked.

Would definitely visit again. Reasonably priced. Bricks available for BBQs too. Perhaps more rubbish bins rather than just sited in a wheelie bin at the entrance to the site. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Stebbo87 1 review from this member

 For the right balance between good facilities but an easy-going atmosphere, I recommend this site. After continuous rain the previous week I was worried the site would be flooded, but a dry bank holiday weekend (for a change) was enough to make the ground fine for our friends' tent, and, after a little persuasion, we got our campervan into the top field too.

The couple who run the place are very friendly. There are several marked out pitches in the bottom field (mostly with 16A hookup) but, if you prefer something a bit less regimented, the top field is 'free seating' and lots of room for games of football and rounders. It's a green and pleasant site - no open camp fires allowed, but barbeques OK.

The new shower block is great (must have been a bit dire before this was built) with 2 washing up stations also. Hot water good 95% of the time. Location is excellent - take your bikes for good cycling round Carsington Water and High Peak Trail etc. 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jac3312 1 review from this member

 Well what a gem, this site is lovely, The new shower block had just opened on good Fri morn and is as expected immaculate, even though it's only 2 showers each. We were on a hard standing pitch and I'm glad we were as it rained a lot and the site is very soft around the pond. Having spent a lot of time talking to the owners you can see that as another review said "this is someones dream" nothing is too much trouble for them. Every penny they earn is put back in too the site, most of it on drainage. You can see that they are winning the battle of the drain.

The weekend we were there was a Sterling rally at the same time and they had a whale of a time. I am sure this will become a real favourite and the owners deserve every accolade that they will surely get. Well recommended. And at £14 pn over easter a bargain! 


Previous     104 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Carsington Fields Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Carsington Fields Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Carsington Fields Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


57015 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement