Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Seal Shore Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Isle Of Arran > Seal Shore Camping Reviews

Seal Shore Camping
Seal Shore
Kildonan
Isle Of Arran
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA27 8SE
Tel: 01770 820320
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/04/2022 to 16/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 116 Reviews
                9/10 from 116 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  116 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pch540 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite for a short two night break. The location is superb, right on the beach with fabulous views. A walk along to the west side of Kildonan, beyond the post office, yielded seals and sea otters. The site is also next door to the Kildonan Hotel which offers decent bar meals, including a children's menu. The campsite itself is perfectly adequate, but no more than adequate. Only two showers per gender, and two washing up bowls - so there are queues when its busy. The toilet and shower block are cleaned everyday, but are not modern facilities. However, the location makes up for any slight deficiencies and we will definitely return 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sleepy73 1 review from this member

 Four of us spent 3 nights at this site in 2 tents and couldn't have been happier. The site facilities were great, showers free and toilet block very clean.And not miles to trek. Opened my tent everyday to fabulous views of Ailsa Craig and Plada Island. Hotel just next door if you fancy some Arran Ale. Beautiful surrounding beaches, totally unspoilt and many many seals to be seen basking in the sun. We were here during the Folk festival and attended a concert in Whiting Bay only 6 miles away which was excellent. Weather to die for and staff, particularly Maurice so welcoming. Other campers also very friendly. Will definitely be returning 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scottishflower2000 11 reviews from this member

 I can't agree with previous reviews. The toilet block was clean enough but the showers weren't - even immediately after their cleaning!

Shop was adequate and pub handy but was really confused by the campsite rules.

We wanted to camp right next to the beach and were told so long as the tent wasn't more than chest high and we had to move our car after setting up. So far so clear - that beautiful view to be seen by everyone and not blocked by us.

Unfortunately one of the other tents was then seen to be more than an adult high and they left their car at the side. To our left there was a converted transit, behind us another and then a camper with a raising roof took their place on the Saturday. I was annoyed that the rules seemed to only apply to us, much as I understood them. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jill Weedon 8 reviews from this member

 This campsite is simply the best we have ever been to. There is just one field right next to the sea, but as we didn't need electricity we were able to park on a strip of ground directly behind the beach, and wake up to perfect uninterrupted views of Pladda Island with Ailsa Craig in the distance. Early morning, gannets dive for fish and wading birds do their thing on the beach right outside your door.
The owner has provided a covered area for wet weather cooking,a dining room, free fridges, free hot showers, a washing up room and washing and drying machines operated by tokens. Campsite owners were very friendly and helpful and told us that they try to add more facilities to the site every year.
This site seems to attract interesting characters and we met lots of people with time to stop and chat and pass on advice about the local area. Local people seemed genuinely welcoming and keen to give you ideas for walks and things to do.
There is a hotel about 100yards from the campsite with both a room serving pub food and a much posher (and more expensive) restaurant. You can chose to sit outside and have one of the best views of any pub in the country.

The bus that circles the island goes right to the campsite, so you don't even need a car. Ten minutes walk along the beach road brings you to the post office / village shop which is well stocked with both basics and luxuries.
The shop owners also run fast boat trips around the island. We went on one and it was fantastic - beautiful views of Holy Island, exhilarating speed and informative talks from the owners who put safety first and make sure that you are fully equipped before you get in the boat.

The highlight of our lovely 4 day trip to Arran was spotting first, a large group of seals, and then a group of otters on the rocks just beyond the post office. What more could you possibly ask for? 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Veraandedna 5 reviews from this member

 Simply beautiful location, really does have those seals! Spent a very happy 3 days here and would have loved to stay longer. Arran is lovely and the site is midge free! - tip for the other parts of the island is to stock up on the Avon spray - good enough for the Royal Marines, so good enough for me!

My only niggle is that the owners (who are very nice indeed) could spend just a moment tidying the grassy area at the head of the beach, rather than use it for garden clippings - but this is a purely minor personal comment.

Do go, enjoy the view have a few beers next door and count the seals! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Woodsys 1 review from this member

 Just got home from seal shore - fabulous! family had a great time, great facilities and friendly people. Views and weather to die for. So much so we have booked again for next year!

Basking Shark was spotted along with lots of seals and even a nuclear submarine!

Pub next door does great fish and chips and a great line in Arran own ale. The campsite shop sells fresh lobster and crab which is excellent also. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Danrrr 2 reviews from this member

 Wow, what a great site this is. We booked for 3 days, and thanks to some juggling, we played musical pitches and managed to stay for a week. The site is run by a really friendly couple who will go out of their way to help, (even let me jump on their PC so I could nick some files to get mine back up and running). The showers and toilets are fine, and the facilities are good, (undercover cooking area and day room with a skybox doing satellite free view which has electric sockets for charging phones, toothbrushes, games consoles etc). But where this site really comes up trumps is its location. Right on the beach, (mainly soft white sand with great views and crystal clear sea) near a colony of about 200 seals. The owner goes out fishing most days and sells his catch at very reasonable prices, so there's mackerel, crab, lobster etc up for grabs.

There's a pub\hotel next door which does really good food, (the poshest haggis neeps and tatties I've ever seen) and the booze is reasonable priced. Some great walks without needing to get in the car right on the doorstep.

Another great thing was that we met some great people; it seems that this site attracts people who just want to get along with the world in general. I can't praise this site highly enough and have nothing to critise, (but I suppose if Haven sites and satellite TV is more your thing, you may not be as impressed as we were). We'll be going back without a doubt (the kids were gutted to leave, and so were we) - one of the best sites in the British Isles. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dwkd 2 reviews from this member

 Felt that this could have been so much better - facilities a bit tired and not very clean. Dishwash area next to bathroom doors.

Can get cramped when busy - always likely with popular campsites. And there is a slight slope to the beach throughout the site.

But, great location (probably the best on Arran), few midges, excellent range of activities on the island. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Viandsandy 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for two nights(initially one but extended stay because of the fantastic weather)and the location of the site.

The hosts were extremely pleasant and courteous. The facilities we found to be superb, toilet and washing facilities were immaculate, covered cooking area available(didnt need it due to the weather)
Hotel basically on the doorstep, again excellent facilites, indoor and outdoor.

Site has a shop which sells basics which was very handy. Also laundry facilities available. The site is absolutely spotless and a credit to the owners.

The shore was about 2 minutes walk from the tent, plenty of seals to watch. It is only about 20 miniute drive to Brodick if other shopping is needed.

All round we had an excellent stay and will definitely be back, given that there are bookings available as it is a very popular site. The site also provide small barbecue stands(perfect for the disposable barbecue). 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carol65 2 reviews from this member

 WOW! What a site! Sealshore is amazing. The site is relatively small with a slight slope. Even those at the back of the site had beautiful views. On arrival, Sylvia welcomed us, showed us where to pitch and gave us the guided tour. There's a small shop in reception selling essentials and then some - people asking 'I don't suppose you've got.' and being surprised when they did!

There are 2 big fixed barbequeues in an undercover cooking area and plenty of space to use disposables - brilliant if it is a bit breezy - or you can borrow stands from Maurice if you want to cook at the tent. The day room has sky!

The toilets are lovely and clean, warm too. Sinks are brand new and the gents was painted a week or two before we arrived.

Two hotels nearby offer bar meals - the one about 1/2 a mile along the road was fab.

No midges; great facilities; wonderful views and friendly, helpful hosts in Maurice and Sylvia - what more could anyone ask for?

Only one criticism - not enough time! Book up early as pitches are going fast - I managed to get one for the summer and can't wait to get back. Surely a jewel in the crown! 


Previous     116 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Seal Shore Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Seal Shore Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Seal Shore Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Arran      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2502 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement