Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Crows Nest Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Crows Nest Caravan Park Reviews

Crows Nest Caravan Park
Gristhorpe
Filey
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO14 9PS
Tel: 01723 582206
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Tourers 50 - Tents 200
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 222 Reviews
                7/10 from 222 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  222 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Suehill01 1 review from this member

Came for Easter weekend apart from the horrific weather and serious high winds have to say the new shower/toilet/laundry/washing up area is amazing like a five star hotel on your camping field the showers are hot very clean. We are going back in June, August and Sept would recommend to anyone def an improvement from the old facilities last year the staff seem more friendly the swimming pool was on the cold side could do with being more heated considering the weather we had. Entertainment was great never got bored once even the kids.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hirsty1970 7 reviews from this member

We arrived here late Friday evening of the Bank Holiday Weekend in the pouring rain! You pay at reception and are left to find your own pitch.

The site never seems to run out of spaces for tents its so big. It is a fantastic family site but not enough showers to accommodate the vast amount of visitors. Hopefully this will have improved with the new toilet/shower block that has been built.

We set up our tent near the cliff top, oh my was it windy! but with plenty of pegs our tent stayed put.

It is ideally situated to explore the rest of the coast and has a club, shop and swimming pool.

We had a wet and windy weekend but still enjoyed it.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Jobyjo 2 reviews from this member

We had an excellent holiday, Filey is perfectly sited between Scarbrorough and Bridlington. The camp site is clean and tidy, the shop is open all hours and well stocked, burger bar and chip shop nice, Friendly and helpful staff in reception. The caravan was clean, we bought some mugs as the cups provided were small. Our 4 yr and 14 yr old sons loved the playground, we didn't use the pool but it looked clean, only bad point is noise from people on way back from night out but once in their own caravan/tent no problems.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Angelaandian 2 reviews from this member

Spent a week here as it got excellent links to filey, Scarborough, bridlington etc, the site is well kept, lovely grassed areas and flowerbeds, and although toilet blocks look old they are cleaned regular as is the laundrette room, the shop is fantastic stocked for spares repairs, but not somewhere you could do your weekly shop! the club is small but ok. The park is well laid out but a fair distance from the tourers. On the downside come Friday and Saturday nights you get a lot of should we saw rougher people coming to just get drunk and make lots of noise 3 tourer caravans had been there 3 weeks (kept extending on their credit cards) as they had no jobs to go back to (classy eh!) and really dragged the site down as it would have been perfect otherwise very gobby very drunk all the time! Definitely a lovely site just be wary of the boozers at the weekends it noisy, but that's the downside of a cheaper price I guess!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shadylady40 1 review from this member

Another very good camping trip at the Crows Nest. This is my fourth year here and it ticks all boxes.

In fact it was our second visit here this month.

Facilities are basic but functional, showers and toilets etc.

Big play park for kids. And been very fortunate to get pitched not too far from park, too. Can see my little one playing without worrying.

It has a little shop too, very reasonably priced. And a little fish and chip shop which if you need a break from the outdoor cooking is very handy.

Small pool on site which again is small but functional. Little slide into pool too. Kids love it. (small charge for pool, but if you go on a morning, the pass lasts all day! )

Night times there is usually entertainment on. Always been very good.

Centrally located for everywhere, 5 mins into Filey. Then bit further you have Bridlington, or Scarbrough.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crushyo3 2 reviews from this member

Just came back from this campsite and enjoyed the 4 days we were there. However, if you like sites that are quiet don't go to this one. It was very busy (approx 100 tents)but even though there were so many campers the toilet/shower blocks was kept reasonably clean considering there were so many young families using them (could do with more hooks and shelves in shower cubicles along with new locks replacing on some of the doors). The washing up area didn't have hot water majority of the time and the top field gets very blustery so try and find a sheltered spot to camp. The entertainment was ok, drinks priced reasonable, the shop was not expensive and there is a nice chip shop on site along with a butty van that are once again reasonably priced. The swimming pool isn't very big and got busy during the day which I expected with the site being busy. Overall, I would recommend this site if you have a young family and want a cheapish holiday (wouldn't recommend for the campers looking for a quiet holiday. Oh and the views are fantastic!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chakra 5 reviews from this member

Visited the Crows Nest Caravan Park with our tourer. The pitches are small and cramped. The good point is that you did not have to go far to fetch your water! Did not use the showers we used our own instead. Shop was okay and reasonably priced, but we tended to shop at Tesco in Scarborough which obviously is cheaper. The swimming pool is 2. 00 per person, which for 5 of us is 10. 00 a visit. If you enjoy swimming, it is probably best to book a site with a free swimming pool included in the price. There was only one play area, which due to size of the caravan park was inadequate. It is mainly a static caravan site with a large field for tenting and a small number of touring caravans. On the positive side, Scarborough and Filey were just a few miles away and we enjoyed going to the beach. There is a park and ride nearby which is cheaper than paying for parking in Scarborough, which is very costly.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Justcamping 8 reviews from this member

We have just returned from this site, its quite a nice site, has beach access if you don't mind going down the cliff edge, a bit slippery under foot. Has a good camping field, the touring pitches are small, very hard to put your caravan on. We were lucky as we got a pitch that wasn't occupied at either side, had to take off car and push it in. Decent shower / toilet blocks but take your own loo paper as they don't replace often. No problems with electric must be 16 amp. It has a shop pub/club and swimming pool. The shop was well stocked but the staff weren't very friendly, doesn't cost much for a smile. The club is very small and the swimming pool cost 2 to go in which wasn't worth it to us. Also has a butty van and chippy on site ,didn't try it. Would we visit again, possibly

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Russlee 2 reviews from this member

This campsite is quite large and seems to be geared towards caravans with the tenting field being an after thought. The only real facilities for the tent field was the pot washing area where the hot water seemed to be on for 15 mins in a morning and 15 mins in the evening.

We were on an electric hook up pitch (waste of time, come to that later), these pitches are close to the kids play area which is the only positive thing I can say about the whole site (park was very good and kids really enjoyed it), these pitches were also closest to the toilets and showers on the tent field, 2 mins walk down, 5 mins if at other end of field. The toilets and showers are in need of a overhaul, grubby, small, dated are words that spring to mind to describe them. The major problem on this site for me was the lack of staff, hardly saw anyone throughout our stay apart from around the reception. Bins were often overflowing and noise continued well beyond 1AM with no wardens to be seen or heard ever.

The electric hook up was a complete waste as even trying to charge a mobile phone would trip the electric off and when we asked the 'friendly' reception staff for help/advise we were told WE needed to unscrew the front off the supply point and reset the circuit breaker (which we had to do at least a dozen times a day) and for which you need a screwdriver, the staff on reception were not interested in the slightest.

In our group of 3 families we all suffered the same issues with electric and although told we could pitch together when booking found we couldn't when we arrived.

Pitches on electric are quite small and there is a road immediately in front of pitches approximately 2 metres from door of tent.

We used the pool once and the only issue was the changing facilities (small and only one shower) with around 20 people in the pool.

To gain access to the beach you are required to descend using a rope ala paratrooper style.

To summarise :- poorly maintained site (for tents), staff not interested and very un helpful, too few staff for size of site, facilities required for tent field and electric supply rubbish.

Ending on the only positive I can think of, the location in relation to Scarborough and Filey is great.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Slabber 1 review from this member

Despite a few bad reviews listed on this site I decided to check it out for myself. The campsite was clean and the showerblocks and washing facilities were all working perfectly with lots of hot water and any time of day or night.

The on site shop was well stocked and surprisingly very reasonably priced for all daily needs products. Unlike other rip off campsites I have visited.

The clubhouse was also well presented and friendly barstaff on hand to tend to customers (three times on my visit I witnessed bar staff going to the locked shop after hours to get customers milk bread etc) great service.

Limited on site food fare with chip shop and fast food vans but many restaurants within walking distance of the camp.

Overall enjoyed my stay no major complaints will definitely return to this camp in the future.

Also park and ride facility nearby for trips into Scarborough where parking is expensive.

Previous     222 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2628 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019