Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holme Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Settle > Holme Farm Campsite > Reviews

Holme Farm Campsite
Horton In Ribblesdale
Settle
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD24 0HD
Tel: 01729 860281
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 96 Reviews
                7/10 from 96 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 91 to 96                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Reviewer: Wheelsy 29 reviews from this member

 June 2005
My friends and I stayed at this campsite last weekend in order to complete the Three Peaks Challenge walk. The campsite is ideally suited for this purpose being literally yards from the start of the walk and the Pen-y-Ghent cafe. It is also close to a post office/general store and two pubs. We ate at both of the pubs over the weekend and found that the one slightly further away from the campsite did better (although slightly more expensive) food. The campsite itself is well maintained and the farmer very friendly. He was always buzzing about on his mower cutting paths into the grass. Unfortunately, he wasn't the only thing buzzing around - I've never seen so many midges and have come back covered in midge bites. They were particularly bad in the morning - so bad that I found it impossible to get out of my tent and ended up eating cold breakfast inside it. The farmer says that they have been particularly bad this year and are normally only a problem in August.

As already mentioned by other reviewers the toilets on the site are quite cramped and in need of a bit of updating. I'd have rather have paid a little more to stay there and had better facilities. They were, however, very clean. We will probably go back to this site again next year as we want to improve on our walk time, but only because of its useful location. I certainly wouldn't go back in midge season again as they spoilt what was otherwise a pretty good weekend. 


Reviewer: Alan.bateson 4 reviews from this member

 June 2005
We camped at Holme farm prior to and after completing the 3 peaks walk last weekend. The site is well layed out with marked pitches mown into the grass. The facilities however, are less then basic. In fact i would say they were inadequate for the amount of campers on the field. They are desperately in need of upgrading. Midges were also a problem, thousands of them. I'd use the site again but certainly only for an overnight stop. 


Reviewer: Conumdrum 3 reviews from this member

 September 2004
Good points.

Excellent location for access to Dales, short walk to 2 pubs, post office, grocers and cafe, camp shop. 10mins from train station. Site good for walkers and cavers, etc.

Bad points.

Facilities are very basic, but are kept clean. Only one mens shower.

Summary.

Site gets busy at weekends any time of year. Would use site again, mainly due to location and local facilities, Cafe very good as is the Crown Hotel/pub. 


Reviewer: Sam+scott 1 review from this member

 August 2004
We stayed at Holme farm Campsite August bank holiday and what a nice place to start our first camping experience. The farmer was very helpful and the site is basic but spotlessly clean.
The site is situated right in the middle of Horton-in-Ribblesdale, close to 2 Pubs and a few shops. All in all a great place to stay.

The Keellings 


Reviewer: rickwelch 4 reviews from this member

 May 2004
We went for the Bank Holiday weekend to do the three peaks. Booked in advance - quite busy so glad we did. Well kept, small, basic site, but the farmer was constantly on site emptying bins, cleaning toilets, mowing grass etc. he took a real pride in the appearance of his site. This was our first camping experience and although we feel there were not enough toilet and shower facilities for the number of people on site, it was personal, friendly, beautiful location and well worth a visit. It only cost 9 per night for 2 adults and one child, tent and car. It has encouraged us to carry on camping! 

Advertisement

Reviewer: S Heyes 2 reviews from this member

 August 2003
Nice little site at the back of the farm house. Grass cut into pathways and pitches and bins emptyed daily. Cheap to stay. No frills site, toilet block is small and very well used when site it busy. Cars are parked in another field or behind farm house so bit of a walk carrying all your stuff. But overall good site. 


Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 96     Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Holme Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holme Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Holme Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Settle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


56223 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement