Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Dockenflatts Lane
Lartington
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 9DG
Tel: 01833 630228
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/03 to 02/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 110 Reviews
                9/10 from 110 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Eel28 16 reviews from this member

 We can sum this site up in just one word - WOW!
 
We were met by a very friendly chap who showed us to our very level pitch and pointed out the toilets, water points etc, and even offered to help us set up.  Throughout our stay there was always members of staff to be seen around the site which was quite comforting, they even spotted an erroneous tent within a very short time of it appearing!
 
The facilities are really out of this world, and certainly get our vote for the best we have used.  very modern and sparkly clean, that even includes the chemical disposal point - most impressive. 
 
The small town of Barnard Castle is about a 5min drive away and houses the castle and Burrell's - probably the best fish and chip shop ever, well worth a visit here just for the fish and chips.
 
If needed, Catterick Caravans is about 20 mins away and sells all the usual camping and caravan accessories you would want from a tent peg to a caravan and all sorts in between.
 
As seems usual there is an abundance of local information on places to visit and things to do in the area along with a small shop in the reception area.
 
Before we left we were discussing the possibility of a return visit in the very near future. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TekkieAnne 10 reviews from this member

 Visited this site during some very wet weather and the pitches were very soggy.  However, I should imagine that the site would be absolutely brilliant in nice weather. The pitches were large with plenty of space between units and the site managers were very pleasant and helpful.  The toilets and showers were very modern and clean and the laundry room was superb. There is a very nice play area but unfortunately it is sited directly in front of the toilets.  During the weekend, when children were on the site, they congregated outside the entrances to the toilets and were riding their bikes around.  They had also thrown toilet paper around the ladies toilets.  If the play area had been sited elsewhere I’m sure this would not have happened. We had one sunny day when we were able to explore the area and found that Barnard Castle is a lovely little town.  The castle ruins are well worth a visit.  We spent a very pleasant afternoon exploring the grounds and reading all the information points that were strategically placed.   We found a lovely restaurant called Valentines where the food and service were second to none.  If you park in the pay and display car park and walk out into the main road, you’ll find it half way down the hill on the left hand side of the road.  I would highly recommend a visit. We definitely wish to return to this site but hope to experience it in better weather next time. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: New_to_camping 4 reviews from this member

 Amazing - everything about this site was brilliant. So good we decided to join the C&CC and please note this was our first ever camping trip as a family.

There was a little park, with slide and swings, little shop with a good range of basics.

Staff were second to none! They had files with lists of places to eat, visit and walks. They walked round the site throughout the day and asked if you were ok, or just stopped to say hello. Made us feel very welcome.

Very local to the lovely shopping centre, with a fantastic chippy! and loads of other nice looking places to eat.

The thing I loved most about this site was the dog walk. Nice long walk all the way around the sight, fenced in and far enough away from other campers so not to disturb them.

Showers and likes were cleaner than clean and I would rate this site 10/10 for everything!

Will certainly go back again and again.

Lorna and family (OH 2 kids (15/7) and dog) 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wissymo 8 reviews from this member

 This is the best campsite we have been to so far.The grass was very short,the playground was nice,the facilities were spotless and the warden was very helpful.The town of Barnard castle is nice and the stables next to the campsite were great.We went to a place called Beamish which is really worth a visit.We would certainly return and I would recommend it to anyone. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Julie23 5 reviews from this member

 Yet again another great time at this site, even thought the weather slightly against us at the start of the bank holiday it soon warmed up and by all account I think we had it quite good compared to rest of the UK.

Girls loved the riding (as I did) and met loads of new friends and miss them.

Bill and Irene are great hosts and the site as always spotless.

Thanks for a great stay - just sorry we had to leave early. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jkeg 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned home from this site and have to say what a fantastic time we had.  We managed to pitch next to the play park and toilet block, which was excellent for the children.  5 minutes from centre of Barnard Castle, helpful wardens and notices on entry to the park advising of children at play!  All facilities were of an excellent standard and we will certainly be returning in the near future. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dave+Angela 7 reviews from this member

 We spent a week here , and it was superb , Very friendly and helpful wardens , the facilities were spot on , always spotlessly clean , if closed for cleaning ,then the disabled facilities were open for use.
 
Small children's play area went down well with our young daughter ,and a pony trekking centre ,is next door to the site .
 
Nice flat pitches , and the site is maintained to a very high standard.
 
On site shop sold the basics , we found the Morrison's supermarket in Barnard Castle to be good , ( follow the signs for the short stay car park to find it )
 
Looking to go back in 2007 for a few days. Highly recommended 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Julie23 5 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site and we used it for our first family outing, & highly recommended by my parents who dont live far away.
 
My two girls aged 7 and 4 loved the site and everything about it was spotless clean and plenty of hot water, infact it was warmer in the shower block one night than in the tent!
 
Would and will be going back 2007.
 
  


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kahns 38 reviews from this member

 The only reason we're putting in a review is because the site hasn't previously had one from a motor home. Everything said by earlier reviewers is true, and the comments apply equally well to motor homes.
 
We had a grass pitch which was perfectly level and firm, in spite of the rain. I think they have some hard standings but the place was very busy. The approach road is narrow but it's short and anyway has passing places so any size of outfit can use it.
 
The wardens were among the best we've ever met and they kept the facilities (and the site itself) beautifully maintained and clean. The showers were roomy with loads of hot water.
 
The only sounds we heard were the distant bleating of sheep (manic), the odd clip-clop of horses hooves, the occasional rumble of a car driving over a cattle grid and the whirring of the wheels of the wardens' bikes. Apart from that, the site was wonderfully tranquil. Even the kids played quietly - perhaps the wardens put something in the water;  wish they'd pass the secret on to other camp sites.
 
A great and welcome site. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Colin42 6 reviews from this member

 We have just had a lovely few days at this excellent site. The staff were very friendly and were always on hand to help if needed. The toilets were spotless and were cleaned and checked throughout the day. Plenty of hot water for showers, washing up etc. And the showers were free. Not a lot for the children to do although there is a small play area, but as the surrounding countryside is lovely and the camp site is within easy reach of Barnard Castle and the Dales it should not be a problem. We enjoyed a meal at one of the local pubs. And this was excellent. The site is flat with hedges and the grass is well maintained. There is a choice of hard standing or grass pitches and most have EHU. Would strongly recommend and will be returning before the season ends. 


Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barnard Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


909 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement