Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ashbourne Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Ashbourne Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Ashbourne Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Belper Road (a517)
Hulland Ward
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 3EN
Tel: 01335 370855
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/04/2021 to 02/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 113 Reviews
                8/10 from 113 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  113 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Simonanddeb 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for the Easter break with our 4 year old + 2 westie dogs. On arrival we were welcomed by both site owners who were extremely friendly & very helpful in directing us to our pitch. Due to the site being busy & no hardstandings available the owner was very thoughtful & without us having to ask we found that he had placed wooden blocks to help support us & caravan on what turned out to be an eventful weekend weather-wise.

The site offered many fields in which to walk our dogs & even a pond to go & visit.

On the downside the toilet block was on the small side although clean - this however is temporary as there is a new brick built one in working progress that will be brilliant once finished.

Ashbourne & Carsington Water are only a short drive away & the chip shop on the market ground at Ashbourne comes highly recommended.

All in all a very pleasant site to stay at & looks to get even better with the improvements already in place. We will definitely be going back! 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarmar 2 reviews from this member

 We originally booked this site earlier in the year but due to the bad weather, we put it off until now. We were really looking forward to visiting this site, with it being adults only. The site is clean and the grass is kept short, but that's where the good points stop.
On first impressions, you think that it's a nice site, but when you take a second look, then you have to think twice. The roadway around the site is just a bit of hard core (for the cheapest). The toilet block is a porta cabin,(for the cheapest), the gents has two toilets, 2 wash basin's, 1 electric shower, no urinals. The water flow from the shower is passable, but if you have to turn the temperature up, then it slows the flow. If you gents want to use your electric shaver, then hard luck, no shaver points.
There's one washing up sink for your pots and pans and hot water is supplied from an electric geezer. The site boasts 'unlimited' hot water, well this is a laugh, you get about 2 inches in the bottom of the sink and then it runs cold.

I was surprised at the prices that the owner charges. Our tent with electric hook up cost £15.00 + £1.00 for the dog per night. If you want to put a gazebo up, then that's another £2.00 per night. I thought you paid for your pitch, so why charge for a gazebo? The electric hook up didn't seem to be at full power, now I'm no electrician, but it took 24 hours to charge my torch! It seems to me that the owners are charging top prices for a second rate site, you would think that they would a least invest in a decent toilet block, preferably made of brick.

I'm just pleased we didn't run out of gas, as being in a tent, it's not feasible to carry two gas cylinders and the site doesn't have an exchange facility. It doesn't have a shop, or a freezer for your ice packs. There's not much around the area, you have to drive if you want to find any life or shops etc. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Admiral 35 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a very pleasant weekend at this site. Owners very friendly and helpful. Pitches more or less flat and quite spacious. A little noise from the main road running by the site but apart from motorbikes this wasn't intrusive, however we were pitched at the far end of the site from the road I don't know if it may have been more annoying if we had been closer.
 
Toilet block although housed in a porta-cabin was always clean. I think maybe perhaps more than just the one shower in each of the ladies and gents would be better, but having said that I didn't have to queue at all this weekend except for the last day when the site was really quiet!
 
Only the one washing up sink as well, which did lead to a little wait and the 'draining board' did have a tendency to drain over the edge and onto the floor makng it a little wet and slippy at times.
 
Nice location easy access to plenty of places to visit - Carsington Water, Dovedale, Matlock etc. Ashbourne the nearest town about 4 miles away (10 min drive max) has a large Sainsbury's and plenty of pubs and other eating places. Tried the chippie on the 1st night we were there - very good. As the weather was good we had BBQs for our other two nights so can't comment on any of the other eateries.
 
Shame that there isn't anywhere to walk from the site other than along the 'dog walk' as the main road past the site doesn't have any pavements & I don't feel that safe walking along a busy road, especially when it's getting dark - but at the end of the day that isn't something the owners can do anything about I suppose.
 
All in all a very nice site and one to which we will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wendrocks 1 review from this member

 We visited  Peakland Caravan and camping site for three days over the May day bank holiday. The site was fully booked and we were the only tent on the field.
Most of the the caravaners were very friendly as they recognized us and our two dogs from when we stayed at Easter.
The pitch that we were allocated initially was too small to fit our very large tent tent and day shelter on, so I had a word in the site office and was immediately given a more appropriate pitch.
The toilets and showers are in a portacabin, but don't let this put you off as they were always clean and I never encountered a queue even though the site was full.
I would suggest that you take an extension lead for your electric hook up as even though you may be next to a hook up point, the point that goes with your pitch is miles away.
Overall nice site with very friendly helpful staff.
We have booked to go again. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fulltimescrubber 2 reviews from this member

 We found this site on the net and booked by phone. Spoke to a very helpful lady who gave us a pitch number and that was it. We didn't see anybody at all other than the folk who were booked on for the season. ortunately we had taken 2 electrical hook up leads and we did need them to be able to connect up but to be honest the site wasn't that busy so we could have just moved the van a little closer to a hook up point. The site was very quite which is what we wanted, in the heart of the countryside. But only a short car ride from Ashbourne. We liked it very much. Yes sometimes the main road did get a little noisy but it tended to die down later on in the evening and was very quite all night so a good nights sleep was had by both of us. The portacabin toilet block was very clean but there was only one shower - with hot water, although the pressure wasn't that great but to be fair I did just decide to have a shower and was able to use it straight away and it was free. There are not shops or pubs in walking distance so you have to be pretty well organized - but I tend to be so this for us was not a problem. There was lighting on the campsite as it got dark which is just as well as I forgot to take a torch! There didn't seem to be any hurry for us to leave either which was nice. Would we go again? Most definitely for a lovely quiet weekend. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cakebaker 2 reviews from this member

 Our first camping expedition for many a long year! The site was very clean and tidy with more caravans than tents, the hook-ups were very good; very short on toilet facilities. However, the site hugely lacked atmosphere and it was obvious that the Seasonal Caravan booked pitchers thought they owned the place and us weekenders were infringing their space. Everywhere was a drive away, even though the OS map showed that 20 yds away was a pub (now a house!). At times the main road was very noisy, especially with motorbikes. We think that this will probably suit people who don't want to mix but just want a weekend chill site. Great for walks and especially good for Carsington Water. 


Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janx 116 reviews from this member

 This is a small adult only site, the pitches are mostly hard standings. The toilet block is a porta cabin which doesn't sound much but it was kept very clean. There is only one shower in each male and female, this didn't present a problem at this time of year but I wouldn't like to be there when the site is full and  queue for ages for a shower. 
 
 There is a dog walk but most of it was too muddy to walk on, I wrongly got the impression you could let your dogs off in this field but you couldn't. Please note, they also charge for dogs, though it doesn't say so on the web site.
 
 The site is right off a very busy road and though it didn't bother us at this time of year because we didn't sit outside, but on a summers evening it would do. If you were pitched at the far end it may not be so bad. Because of the busy road too it is not possible to walk anywhere from the site only on the dog walk.
 
 I would have liked to say more positive things about this site but I am afraid I was a little disappointed. I thought it was too expensive for this time of year, considering the facilities, and for us the position fact you had to use the car we like to walk.   


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thedrae 2 reviews from this member

 Having booked at the Peakland caravan park we arrived Friday evening. The site is well laid out for both grass pitches and hard standing. It was a very quiet site with fantastic dog walking areas - we have 2 great Danes and they loved it. The area is wonderful for walking and a trip to Carsington water is well worth the trip. Be warned that if you want to have lots of mobile phone calls the signal is very weak unless you stand next to front sign at ther side of the road which is about the only place it tends to work. Any way good site nice clean toilets and good showers The owners are very friendly and eager to help. Well worth a visit and would def stay again well done peaklands 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Angel76 2 reviews from this member

 This site was lovely we stayed for a weekend and I was worried about the toilet facilities after reading all the bad reviews.

The facilities weren't the best but always very clean. It is right 2 female toilets and 1 shower so you just re-arranged the kind of times you went for your shower, no big deal really as it was always lovely and warm.

Small site not much going on. Great for a quiet relax and de-stress from hard working week. especially as I don't have children. This was the one and only site out of 7 we have been to this year that my dog didn't cause us to have a queue of kids asking if he was in and could they play with him. (Our fault for having such a cute dog.)

Oh! and for road noise (WHAT ROAD NOISE) if you count little murmurs ever 10 minutes or so ! and this nearly all together stopped on the evening. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bluenoes 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights over the May bank holiday weekend. It was the first time we had spent more than one night since we started going camping last year, so we were a bit concerned by some of the reviews we had read on here. But we had nothing to worry about.

I had found out that the site was fully booked after we had booked, and thought it was going to be rammed. Surprisingly, there was loads of room for everyone, we counted around 20 pitches, around the edge of the field, and the inside was left clear.

We arrived after non stop rain for a couple of days, and the field was really soggy, and we feared the worst. However, by the next day, it was almost dry, and the day after it was like it had never rained! Brilliant drainage!

The dog walking area was well set up, a large field right next to the camping field. The only surprising thing was the expected (and correct) request to clean up after your dogs, only to be walking round in a field full of horse muck :)

The toilet facilities are very small, but manageable. We didnt have to queue, but planning permission has gone in for a proper block, which will make a difference.

As for road noise? Was nothing really, I guess it depends on what you are used to.

All in all, we had a great time and would recommend this site if you want peace and quiet away from the kids ! 


Previous     113 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ashbourne Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ashbourne Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Ashbourne Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4815 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement