Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Brook Meadow Lakeside Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Leicestershire > Market Harborough > Brook Meadow Lakeside Holidays Reviews

Brook Meadow Lakeside Holidays
Welford Road
Sibbertoft
Market Harborough
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE16 9UJ
Tel: 01858 880886
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 113 Reviews
                8/10 from 113 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  113 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camper94 2 reviews from this member

When we arrived we were met by the owner who was polite and helpful he told us we could pitch were we liked but not past the signs designed for fishing people. We didn't mind we found a lovely spot on the waters edge which is beautiful. The toilets and showers were spotless, and the washing up facility was great, and there are two showers with toilet and sink and two separate toilets. There was no loud music and we weren't disturbed in the night or late evening, it really is relaxing. There is only one fault that you have to drive for about ten min to get to the local shop but otherwise FANTASTIC

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jayne1969 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here on a VERY busy weekend as it was the UK Festival of History nearby. Paid 15 per night including hook-up. We arrived quite early as the owner lets you turn up at any time on the day (handy), and there were only a couple of tents and one other caravan there. We were in the upper field which has 2 hook-ups, each with 3 points off of them. It did get very busy over the weekend (probably around 70 tents/tourers) and, as there are no marked out plots, it did feel a little cramped. However, everyone was friendly as we were all there for the festival. There is a shower block with 2 shower/bathrooms, one is bigger than the other, but can fit a family of four in at once if you need to. There was also a mobile shower unit just for the weekend. Now, I had my doubts, but this worked okay really, clean hot showers.

Nothing else on site (unless you're into fishing). Market Harborough looked nice, good selection of shops, Sainsburys, etc, plus loads of independent ones.

My only gripe would be that the grass was really fairly long and, seeing as it was fairly damp on the Sunday, everything got covered in grass (showers, toilets, etc), we also found on the Monday that our car wheels were spinning on the wet grass.

All in all, a good site for the money. If the festival is in the same place next year then we'll book here again.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helenfeld 8 reviews from this member

We stayed here as it was the nearest one for the Festival of History. Good points.Warm toilets inside, free fridge, washing machine and tumble dryer which cost a quid but last an hour and nice lakeside walk. Bad points. Dog poo which I trod in after only being there for 5 minutes. 2 showers with toilets and 2 other toilets. The rest were porta loos and porta showers. 2 washing up sinks. Electric hook-ups were scattered about all over the place, this ment that you felt like you had no privacy as you were all close together, people in caravans couldn't find the chemical disposal point, and the grass that was mowed was apparently for where you drove, not where you pitched. It was 15 a night which I suppose is cheap enough

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TrevEllie 3 reviews from this member

We went to this site with ANNnRICK41 just read their review and thought of a few things to add. Firstly the pitches with hard standings are a bit close together and with a large tent it took a bit of juggling to get in a position where the tent wasn't over the stones used for the hard standing base but still be far enough away from your neighbour. Also if its been a dry spell the ground can be very hard, it also feels like bricks not far under the surface in places, I'd definitely pack a few hard ground pegs.
The electric hook up post on our two pitches was attached to the side of a cabin which meant as my tent was furthest away the EHU cable had to be angled right across Ann and Ricks pitch ok if your camping with friends but could cause problems if you don't know the neighbours, with a 10 meter cable it only just reached.
If you plan to go fishing here you should know this is primarily a Carp lake with Tench being the only other fish and its pretty hard fishing the Baliff is also pretty hot on you having the correct gear i.E. A landing net bigger than 24' an unhooking mat and line of more than 8lb breaking strain, although how the line could be checked I'm not sure. You can drive to most pegs to drop of your gear which is handy and the lake is situated very close to most pitches so phoning wifey and getting her to bring cups of tea is a bonus lol. At the time of posting this it's 6/day for two rods if your camping, if you want to night fish the day runs from 12pm to 12pm so fishing overnight means another day charge of 6 and according to the bailiff there are no half days. Campers are only allowed to fish about a third of the pool as the other two thirds are restricted to syndicate members which you can join at 160 / year.
There are three cabins on the site and I was told by the bailiff that if you rent these you get temporary membership to the syndicate. I agree with Ann and Rick on all their points and would only add that Jasper and Mary are very friendly and got me out of a scrape when my battery went flat. On the day of packing up we where told by Jasper that as long as the pitch wasn't being used that day we could take as long as we liked to pack up which was very nice.
All in all a nice friendly site with only a few small drawbacks.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ANNnRICK41 9 reviews from this member

This site is very nice, we had a pitch with an EHU. The shower blocks and facilities are not really enough to keep up with the amount of people staying on a busy sunny weekend. There were two shower rooms, with an additional extra two toilets, access to a washing machine, tumble dryer, iron, kettle, and a microwave. Overall the facilities block needed a bit more upkeep as they were often dirty and in need of a clean up, one of the showers was not working, and there was never any toilet paper available.

No other facilities on site. Market Harborough is about 5 miles away, and a nice town to visit, also has a few supermarkets to stock up on provisions. The shop at Husbands Bosworth is well stocked and only about a mile away.

Loved the peacefulness of the site, the only noise is really from the geese and planes from the local gliding club. However during the day the neighbouring activity centre can be a bit noisy with the quad bikes!

Our granddaughter came to visit, and whilst she enjoyed walking around the lake and flying a kite, there were no play facilities for children at all.

Lots of dogs wandering around the site, which was a bit off putting at first, but we soon got used to shooing them away when cocking their legs against the windbreaks etc! Would advise to check your area for doggy doodars!

We will return, as this site is quite local to us, and perfect for a weekend getaway.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Woofers 8 reviews from this member

We stayed at Brook Meadow for 5 nights on EHU. We were situated in the rally field which is in front of the lake as you drive down.

The site was spacious with the central focus being the lake. The lake itself is lovely and nice to walk around. There is quite a lot of geese poo on the ground.

The shower block is in a log cabin, with 2 showers which include a toilet and basin in the room which is handy. There are also 2 other toilets to the front of the block. Washing up facilities are available with 2 sinks and there is a washing machine and tumble dryer also. A microwave was available and a hairdryer. The shower block could do with another couple of showers and toilets as there were queues a couple of times.

There was lots of room on the rally field for children to play, one group were playing rounders and we tried to fly kites.

All around a lovely site, with a gliding company next door which was nice to watch the gliders during the day.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: M1keyb 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a couple of days just before the bank holiday. Was nice and quiet but started to get busy on the Saturday of the bank holiday. The lake area is lovely and there is also a field towards the rear.
We had no problems waiting for the showers etc but I can imagine a bit of a wait when it's really busy. Plenty of hot water, could be cleaner but was ok.
Owners were friendly and helpful and very relaxed. For 10 a night it's well worth it, add another 6 if you want to fish in the lake. I'll definitely go back.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: L Harris 4 reviews from this member

There are a few electric hook ups, but if you don't want electric there is plenty of space in the field for camping and limited space by the lake. We didn't have to book, despite it being a bank holiday.

There were 2 toilet cubicles and a further 2 toilets in the 2 shower cubicles. It was nice to have a toilet, sink and shower together in one room, but I had concerns that this would cause lengthy queues. I was amazed that I didn't have to queue once! Particularly with it being a bank holiday weekend. The showers were lovely and hot and there was also a small radiator in the room.

Unfortunately there were quite a few dogs on the site and very few owners cleaned up after them so we had to check the ground carefully before pitching the tent and had to warn the children to be careful when playing on the field.

It also would have been useful to have more or bigger bins on the site.

There is an airfield nearby used by the gliding club so there is some aircraft noise, but we really enjoyed watching them.

Would certainly use again if in the area.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Shinethru 5 reviews from this member

Just back from a couple of days at this fab site. Had no problem booking, just told to turn up which was very handy as it was the bank holiday weekend. Huge field to pick a spot, we chose the main field, although around the lake was lovely but we were concerned about our youngest. Even though it was a busy weekend there was loads of room so plenty of privacy. There's a big hedge to provide shelter too.

There aren't any facilities for children as such, but a big field, some woodland and the lake to walk around was enough for us.

The adjacent airfield really added to the weekend. Before we arrived, we stopped to watch the planes and gliders taking off and landing, and when we got to our spot the planes were overhead entertaining us for hours.

There's been a lot of criticism about the facilities, which I found perfectly adequate. Although in an ideal world could be a bit cleaner and a couple more toilets / showers. Nice touches like an iron and ironing board, microwave and fridge. Best bit I liked was the comfy sofa outside to just sit and chill. This site is a bargain at 10 a night (no elec). All in all, a very relaxing weekend, I'd recommend this site and we'll definitely be back.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sliickriick 1 review from this member

Brook Meadow Farm is a working farm in Leicestershire/Northamptonshire. It has around 10 hook-ups and a chalet with two bathrooms, separate toilets, 3 rental chalets. A wonderful lake with some pretty big carp.How sad it has been to see the decline of what was a wonderful place to visit. The hardstanding have all but disappeared. There are many full time residents on the site. The prices have escalated to 15.00 per night for a caravan with electric hook-up - not keeping with other sites in the area and there is a awful amount of 'dog poo' about, which makes it difficult if one has children or if one is camping in a tent.

Previous     113 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Market Harborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5079 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019