Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Shepton Mallet > Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping Reviews

Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping
Batcombe
Shepton Mallet
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA4 6BW
Tel: 01749 372373
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 24 April - 20 September 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 102 Reviews
                9/10 from 102 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fyre 3 reviews from this member

 A great place to camp. Set in beautiful surroundings with a free boating lake. A large green for any activity you choose (we played boules). Very friendly couple running the place. And scores of local attractions to choose from.

Fishing was great, the fish there seem very naive so catching was easy tho the bigger fish did evade us. But considering the heat alot were caught. 8lb being my biggest. We only fished the end lake.

My first visit to this end of the country. I'm really glad we chose this place! A big thumbs up.
 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aliandnickb 1 review from this member

 Have stayed at this site several times over the last few years, keep coming back because of the beautiful scenery, peace and quiet (no traffic noise).  Toilets and showers are clean and functional and we like the new location of the washing up zone.  For real ale and good food lovers like us there is also a friendly pub at Wanstrow (we advise booking if you are planning to eat).  For locally produced meat, veg, dairy products and biscuits etc. We heartily recommend Gilcombe farm shop close by on the A359.  Site is also good for kids with plenty of scope for exploring and adventures, boating or just kicking a ball about. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Justy 13 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for 3 nights at the end of half term and it is absolutely beautiful.  The site is under new ownership and they are really lovely helpful people who are also living on site in a camper van.  The pitches are completely flat despite the site having steep slopes all around and the grass was short and well maintained.  The toilet block is basic but functional with lovely hot showers and separate 3 pin plug sockets which were great for hairdryers.  Even though the site was full we did not have to queue for facilities. 
There is a freezer for ice packs too.
There is no shop onsite however you can purchase charcoal and and disposable barbeques for less than the shops and it is only a few minutes drive to local villages.
There is no playground but there is a nice clear area for ball games and a boating lake with free to use rowing boats.
All in all this is a fab site that we would highly recommend.  If you want a lively site at the centre of things this is probably not for you however the peace and quiet suited us just fine and our 5 year old found lots of children to play with too. 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Idm100 1 review from this member

 Stayed here over the bank Holiday and had a great time.I thought the improvements to the toilet block have made a big difference and the site is in excellent condition. Very much looking forward to our next visit to this well managed very picturesque spot. 


Date of Visit: September 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cyan 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful, landscaped campsite set in a vale. Level pitches, each pitch setout with hedges/bushes giving some privacy. Very idyllic. Tried Batcombe pub. Very nice but too pricey. Preferred real ale pub in Bruton which has won awards and is mentioned in the good pubs guide. Food simple and reasonable. Downside to site is the toilet block (log cabin). A little chilly for the guys as sometimes too well aerated. Owners were very welcoming and helpful. Good spot to visit local area such as Longleat, Street, Glastonbury. Set in a lovely part of the country. We would definitely go back. Dont forget your torch. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Tee-pee 8 reviews from this member

 This is so relaxing. The site is laid out lovely and the boating fishing lakes are really nice. When booking ask for a pitch overlooking the boating lake and you’ll drift off in daydreams whilst cooking your evening meal.

OK the toilet/shower block is well ventilated but at this time of the year it is fine. Early and late season it might be another story.
 


Date of Visit: June 2005
Reviewer: Spudfamily 1 review from this member

 This camp site is ideal for those, who like me, want to get away from it all. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful and the amenities are clean and of a good standard. It's a quiet, off the beaten track venue with beautiful scenery and plenty of country walks to satisfy anyone who enjoys walking. The site is well drained and you will never be cramped as each plot has its own boundary.
 


Reviewer: Chrisfh 5 reviews from this member

 May 2005
Beautiful and idyllic are the first words that spring to mind on arrival at this site. By the time we left we had added peaceful and stress reliving too. The site has been landscaped with 3 fishing lakes and a small boating lakes. There is terracing of the pitches so that they are all fairly level and of a good size. The owners are friendly and helpful - we camped on a quiet weekend and were told to 'chose a pitch that we liked'.

The toilet block is the only downside. Yes it is kept immaculately clean. However, it is in a wooden structure and the wind, which was blowing up the valley whilst we were there tended to blow straight into the men's showers (so my hubby says). The women's side was pretty well ventilated too. On the women's side there are 3 washbasins, 1 washing up sink, 2 toilets and 3 showers(free). On the men's there are 2 toilets, 1 shower, the waste disposal point, 2 washbasins and a washing up sink. When we were there only about 7 pitches were in use, I can imagine that on popular weekends there would be a lot of pressure on the facilities.

There is also a large area set aside for games, and walks around the valley. A couple of picnic tables are also tucked away as you follow the footpaths. There are 3 drinking water taps, so you are never too far from one of these.

Whilst we were there, early May after the Bank Holiday, there were only a few other people and the whole effect was beautifullly peaceful. If the site was fully booked on a popular weekend no doubt it would be a lot less peaceful - but it is still a beautiful location and I would definately go back there. 


Reviewer: DerekP 7 reviews from this member

 April 2005
We first visited this site some three years ago. The owners Donald & his wife are always friendly & very helpful. There are various walks in the area all of interest. The toilets & facilities are very basic but always clean, but the site is without doubt one of the most picturesque you will find & well worth the basic nature of the toilets etc.

There is lots of interest in the surrounding area. We have taken our grandchildren with us in the past & there is something of interest for them on this site. If you should look at the picture on the web site the unit in the lower left is ours, the unit to the right of this was my daughters. 


Reviewer: Frome50 10 reviews from this member

 August 2004
If you are looking for a quiet site, with no club, bar, shop or pool, this is an excellent site. The owner is extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble for him. During the week we spent there, he sorted out our electrical problems and dealt with a wasps nest as soon as we discovered it.

It must have rained every day during our stay but we still enjoyed every minute. The site is beautifully landscaped and the walks through the valley are spectacular. The fishing was exciting - if not very productive! (The big one got away.)

The shower and loo facilities are basic but were cleaned daily while we were there. There is no soap provided or towels/hand driers, so you would be wise to take your own if you wish to wash your hands after a visit to the loo. Showers and hot water for washing up are free. Another point worth noting is that the internal lights are on a timed switch which is located outside the shower block. It would be worth finding this switch if you plan to use the facilities after dark!

The pitches are of varying size and shape, some with electrical hookups. The site is spread lengthways through a valley so no-one feels crowded.

Altogether, this is an excellent site, especially for those who do not like the more 'commercialised' holiday parks.

We will definitely be returning, if only to catch the big one which 'got away'! 


Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Batcombe Vale Campsite & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Shepton Mallet      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


907 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement