Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Wigan > Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park
Smithy Brow
Wrightington
Wigan
Lancashire   (Browse area)
WN6 9PP
Tel: 01257 451326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 103 Reviews
                9/10 from 103 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  103 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Geecrossbird 1 review from this member

 My boyfriend and I have just returned from Charity Farm after a three night stay.  We were staying in a tent and were both really impressed with the site.  The site is well organised with labelled fields and numbered pitches.  The toilets were spotless, they must have been cleaned a few times a day, as whenever I had left mud prints and grass on the floor from my shoes, it had been cleaned and mopped by my next visit.  The showers were also very clean and were nice and warm; you also get a lot of hot water for your money (compared with other sites). 
The local pub is nice for a posh meal in its restaurant area, a bar snack or just a drink.  We also had an evening in Eccleston which is just 2 miles up the road.  We spent two days fishing on the ponds on the site.  There was a wide choice of ponds and pegs and the pegs were well maintained.  The countryside and surrounding nature / wildlife was lovely to relax in.  When we were there in May, there were lots of ducks and geese about, with little baby ducklings/goslings which were nice to watch playing in the water.
My boyfriend is a keen fisherman and he caught quite a few fish at Charity Farm including a large tench which he described as 'a specimen!'.  I was quite happy to relax with my magazines and enjoy doing nothing! We have already planned to return to Charity Farm in a few weeks, I think it may become a regular little retreats for us to get away and relax in the country.  


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Patb 3 reviews from this member

 Have just returned after a 3 night stay, 2 of which our 3 grandchildren stayed with us. Electric hook up, awning plus extra child, £46.00. Had a great time. Fred, the owner was very helpful.
 
Some beautiful walks in the area. Free access to walk in all of the Farm fields, many of which are set out for cross country events. Birds, sheep & horses in abundance. Our grandchildren loved every minute of it.
 
Toilets & washing facilities free Showers 50p very clean. Well stocked vending machines with  microwave facility.
 
Will be going back again. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sexyback 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this camp site for the very first time, found it by looking on the Internet. First impressions very nice and big. We were put in a large field with plenty of space between one another.
The toilet facilities and showers were good, (50p to use showers). They also had washing up facilities and a vending machine with snacks. There were also several fishing ponds to use for a price, in which we didn't use. Plenty of horses, but they are not inbounds to visit in the stables but they are in the fields daily.
The site hasn't a play ground for the children to play on but there is space in the fields to play. A local pub a 10min walk which has a beer garden. We enjoyed our visit and will be coming back and recommending to friends. 


Date of Visit: December 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Unclebosse 3 reviews from this member

 Spent some days here around New Years Eve. Excellent planned pitches with hard standings + grass aside, good, spotlessly clean toilet block with hot showers (50p). A peaceful, countryside place,mostly for people interested in horsing, fishing and walking (with the dog probably). Liked the place, especially as the pub (Brookhouse Inn,10 min walk away) had excellent food and bar. Like to come back here.
Lisbeth and Boo Johansson, Gothenburg, Sweden 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Pajcaul 6 reviews from this member

 Having read the good reviews, we looked forward to visiting the site but were disappointed. We were given no choice of where to site and simply told to 'go over there'.  This was close to the chemical disposal point.  We found it quite expensive for a basic site, as we had to pay extra for being in a trailer tent, extra for our small awning and 50p each for a shower on top of the site fees.  The toilets were very clean but the shower that my daughter went into had an old razor on the floor and needed cleaning.
The vending machine milk chocolate that we bought was white coated and the biscuits gone off although well within date.  The other facilities in the vending machine area were OK.  
There were no facilities for children which we knew before arriving but we had read in other reviews that there was somewhere to play.  This was not the case when we were there. There were rules about not playing ballgames on the caravan/camping area, which we agree with , but others ignored this and nothing was done.
All in all we would not go back to the site.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Theego007 2 reviews from this member

 Just been back to this campsite for the second time and it was just as good as the first!

Very quiet site, with two good fields for tents, the pitches are well enough apart and electric hook-up is readily available.

The shower/toilet blocks were kept immaculately clean all the time we were there and the snack shop, although being self service vending machines, was well equipped and clean.

There are a few really nice walks around the site, there are a number of fishing lodges there too and the local pub that provides excellent food, is only a couple of hundred yards down the road.

Oh yeah, the owner was constantly smiling and happy to be of help as well! I loved it! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Allsopp89 5 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site, in the countryside. loved it here and would recommend it to anybody who has a love the the country. It is on a working farm and so is particularly good if you like animals (horses in particular). There is 4 good sized fishing ponds which is priced at £5.00 per day. Good clean toilet and shower block and a canteen which has vending machines serving coffee, tea hot chocolate, together with sweets and crisp & pop and then another vending machine that has biscuit's, cereal, pot noodles etc (very good idea). The owner is very nice and friendly and makes you feel right at home. would recommend to anybody of all ages although not much for children unless they are into fishing.  


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Theego007 2 reviews from this member

 Just arrived home after experiencing our VERY FIRST camping excursion, along with eight other families. We were due to stay at a campsite in Filey, but because of extremely high winds and poor weather, we had to come home again. We found this campsite and contact the owner to see if he would accommodate such a large group and he was superb from start to finish.

We paid £8 per night/per tent for the first two people, plus £2 for each person after. The two days/one night stay there for my wife, twin girls, myself and my dog cost us a mere £12!

"Farmer Fred" pre-warned us of how basic his site was, but it was perfect for us! He even went to the lengths of providing a field so that we could all play rounders, without annoying any of the other campers.

The facilities were immaculately clean! The shower blocks are modern as are the toilets and there is a shop containing vending machines where you can purchase any necessities that you may need! Overall, the weekend has been one of the most enjoyable ones ever for me and even though this was my first taste of camping, I will be returning very soon to farmer Fred and the charity Farm campsite! Thank you! 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Shazwoo 1 review from this member

 What an excellent site. Stayed for 2 nights in our trailer tent cost £12 a night with electric hook-up. Although no facilities for children plenty of room for them to play in the fields as you pitch round the perimeters. Shower, toilet and utility facilites were very clean. Had a block with a couple of vending machines in. Had 4 ponds to fish on which cost £5 per day. Owner very helpful and friendly.

Local pub worth a visit although a bit pricey. Village nearby has supermarket and only a couple of minutes drive.

Will be visiting again!
 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Katluce 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent site, went with a group of friends we had 3 tents, 5 adults, 5 children with electrics and there was loads of room. OH fished for two days excellent fishing at £5 per day. Kids played ball games in front of tents and loved it. New shower block currently being built. Owner was lovely. All in all great site cant wait to go back 


Previous     103 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Charity Farm Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wigan      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4848 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement