Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Alfriston Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > East Sussex > Alfriston > Alfriston Camping Park > Reviews

Alfriston Camping Park
Pleasant Rise Farm
Alfriston
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN26 5TN
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 29/03/2024 to 27/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 107 Reviews
                8/10 from 107 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  107 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andrewsvoice 2 reviews from this member

 Arrived around 12 as that is the earliest you are allowed to be on site.

You drive past the lovely sheltered, mown, flat caravan field to the slopy, open camping field. We found a relatively flat site at the far end of the field and set up.

The owner arrived within about an hour and took our fee of 12 for two adults.

The facilities are basic to say the least. There are about 5 portaloos outside. You are able to use the Tennis club showers and toilet block. There was hot water though. The block is also the other side of the Caravan field to the Tent field so a fair walk. Note from site owner: Please note that from May 2010 we now have new separate Ladies / Gents, Toilet / Shower facilities.

Last note is that if it is windy then think twice. The wind funnels up the valley and hits the tent field with some force.

Alfriston is a lovely village though with great pubs. About 5-01 minute walk from site. However book in advance as they don't hold many inside and if weather is poor get very busy. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tmh970 1 review from this member

 Spent a couple of nights here at the end of July and had a great time. The location is beautiful, you shaped valley with woods on one side and chalk cliffs on the other. It is surrounded by footpaths and bridal ways so is a really well situated. The village is small but very pretty with lots of pubs and good restaurants. I would recommend to bring some bricks so you can use a barbecue which we also used as a brazier for little fires.

The facilities are pretty basic but were fine and clean. There are about 6 portaloos which were pretty clean despite it being quite busy. There is just one shower which by mid morning was without hotwater but then I should have got up earlier! Note from site owner: Please note that from May 2010 we now have new separate Ladies / Gents, Toilet / Shower facilities. There are good washing up facilities which again were clean. Roy was friendly and helpful and I like the fact that you can just turn up in the week. At night it was very quiet but we still managed to stay up late without annoying anyone. So all in all it was great and will be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flappi 1 review from this member

 The camping feild is set in lovely bit of east sussex. The facitilties were good, showers, flush toilets, portaloos.

Roy Savage the man in charge was very helpful, friendly and the source for local information.

Stayed 2 day, glorious weather and very pleasant time.

Alfriston is a very pretty English village, village greebn, church next to the green. Had an evening meal in local pub the food was great.

Will go back and five stars for overall experience. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AlandSuzy 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night whilst walking the South Downs way. The campsite is in an ideal location for this being only about 10 minutes walk off the trail.

The campsite was very quiet on the night we stayed (only us and one other small group) but the field is large enough to contain a reasonable number of tents. Unfortunately as we were the first to arrive we found it difficult to find the campsite as it was not signposted from the road and it is behind a Caravan Club site (where we started to erect our tent before being told off and moved on).
In terms of facilities, the field contains drinking water taps but these all appeared to be turned off during our stay. The shower and washing up block is next to the tennis club (the other side of the Caravan Club field).

The village of Alfriston is lovely with a good selection of pubs (we liked The George) and restaurants. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bobz 1 review from this member

 Booked for 1 night only after borrowing a friends tent (normally use a touring caravan) as we needed to be in Brighton for the day so decided to stay over. Arrived in glorious sunshine and was pleasantly surprised with the amount of space available to pitch. There are 2 areas to the site, a caravan section and tent section. The tenting section was quite big although it is sloping in parts.

Not long after arriving Roy turned up, was very friendly and explained all the facilities and what was available in the local area.

Facilities consisted of male and female shower, toilet and washbasin within the tennis club, with several portaloos next to them. Note from site owner: Please note that from May 2010 we now have new separate Ladies / Gents, Toilet / Shower facilities.

The site is by no means 5 stars, more basic, but it had all the required essentials and with the weather being very hot it made a pleasant stay and would go back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Goblinhairdo 2 reviews from this member

 This is a nice site with very friendly owners and good facilities. The shower block and portaloos are a short walk from the main tent field (200m ish) but by no means too far. The centre of the village is only a few minutes wander where there are some lovely pubs and restaurants (Ye Olde Smugglers is particularly recommended for excellent food, lovely staff and a friendly atmosphere).

Would recommend arriving early (they only take bookings for Friday and Saturday nights) as the tent field has a few slopes so getting a relatively flat plot might prove tricky if it is busy. They also did have a separate field for regular caravaners.

All in all a really pleasant weekend with some lovely walking on the South Downs 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Matt18 1 review from this member

 The site is in a great location, very near to public footpaths, and the village is a really short walk away. The site is off the main village road, making it ideal for us as we have a family. There are tennis courts for use (small visitors fee charged by Roy the owner) and the kids loved the walks nearby.

The toilets and shower block were clean and the showers had plenty of hot water. It would have been nice if the toilets were slightly nearer because we have small children but it is such a short walk away really. The site wasn't crowded and so there was plenty of room for the kids to play in the field.

We loved the village with the pubs, especially the Smugglers although our friends liked The George so there is choice! The village doesn't have a take away which was unusual but this might spoil the quaintness of the village or spoil the pub trade. Loved the icecream shop (or should I say the kids did!). We will be returning to the site as there is so much to see around the area, particularly for the kids. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brighton-ben 5 reviews from this member

 We attended to find 2 area's, one that had caravans and a couple of tents on a nicely mowed & hedged area and a more wilderness like field with quite long grass containing a couple of tents. On arrival as there was nobody around we began to erect our tent in the mixed area, only to be asked to move to the other field as one of the caravaners didn't approve. Following this we moved to the more wilderness like field that had no hedges to protect it from the high winds.

Facilities-wise: showers - out of order, wash up - out of order. Portaloo's working fine. Note from site owner: Please note that from May 2010 we now have new separate Ladies / Gents, Toilet / Shower facilities. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Polly2006 1 review from this member

 Lovely setting for this rural camp site. The only facilities when we visited were the ones at the nearby tennis club which were basic - but very busy in the morning the loo couldn't keep up with the constant use so was blocked up on my visit. The owner was really nice and happy for our bunch to have BBQs etc.

Lovely site near village though. Would return.

Note from site owner: Please note that from May 2010 we now have new separate Ladies / Gents, Toilet / Shower facilities. 


Date of Visit: May 2005
Reviewer: Jimdeep 1 review from this member

 Generally a nice relaxed site very close to the local pubs and resturants, with some good local walks and cream teas. Access to the site is over some rather high speed bumps, friends had to walk when car was loaded with camping gear.

During our stay only the chemical loos were working (6 on site, 2 right next to the tent area) but none were smelly and all had plenty of loo paper & hand soap - none have lights so torches essential. 2 unisex showers (seem to be open when it gets busy, otherwise locked) plus one dedicated male & 1 female shower (although we were advised that we could use either) which are shared with the Tennis club (showers are accessed through the small tennis clubhouse). Plenty of free hot water. Note from site owner: Please note that from May 2010 we now have new separate Ladies / Gents, Toilet / Shower facilities.

Trailer Caravans were on the electrical hook ups in the adjoining field (did not seem to be many hook ups, so maybe not too many caravans?)

Our only real problem, and really nothing to do with the camp, was the large numbers of Crows nesting in the trees each side of the camping field. Something we got used to, but a very early wake up call on the first morning - this is not your normal dawn bird songs, much much worse and lasting most of the day.

Would we go back - probably, but not when the crows were nesting. 


Previous     107 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Alfriston Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Alfriston Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Alfriston Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Alfriston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


40708 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement