Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart > Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site Reviews

Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site
1 South Balfern
Kirkinner
Newton Stewart
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG8 9DB
Tel: 01988 840613  or  07752471456
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 98 Reviews
                10/10 from 98 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  98 in total, now showing 91 to 98                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jesssiex 1 review from this member

We stayed at this campsite after reading the wonderful reviews on here. Lovely flat pitches which are 10 metres wide for those of us with large tents, the toilets and showers are free and very clean.
 
Free washing up liquid, scourers, ice also use of picnic tables. There is a local shop and pub a couple of miles away and supermarkets available in Newton Stewart which is around 8 miles away.
 
The only problem here was the ants which attacked me each night in bed!
 
One of the best campsites we have stayed at 9 out of 10.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MamaBo 1 review from this member

What a great little site. We chose Dunroamin after reading earlier reviews and were not disappointed.

The site is perfectly flat grass (heaven for those of us with large tents) with spacious marked pitches. Pitches round the sides of the field have electric hook ups, those in the centre don't. The site was quiet when we arrived and we were free to choose our pitch.

The friendly owners are tent campers themselves and the facilities have been thoughtfully planned. The showers and toilets were spotless, freshly decorated and looked brand new. Shower cubicles were huge, with plenty of well placed hooks for hanging clothes/towels. There is a family shower room too - but the main showers are so big that you could easily take kids in with you. Hot water is free, the facilities are open round the clock and they are centrally heated!

There is a laundry/washing up room - washing machine and tumble dryer (50p for 20 mins) although if the weather is good you can use the outdoor rotary clothes line. Immaculate washing up sinks with plenty of worktop space round them, cloths, scourers and washing up liquid all provided. There is a freezer for ice packs and ice is provided for campers to take for drinks.

The games room has a small TV, pool table and a selection of books. This is a real bonus on a chilly evening if you are tenting. For the kids there is a sandpit, swingball and basketball hoop.

There is a small shop in Kirkinner, just a couple of minutes drive away, a Co-op in Wigtown and a few more shops in Newton-Stewart. You do need to plan provisions ahead as this is not late-night or 24 hour shopping territory - one reason to come here! The Bladnoch Inn, just outside Wigtown, does reasonable bar-food but sadly no real ale.

£11 a night for 2 adults and monster tent - a bargain! We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alisontco 1 review from this member

This camping and caravan site is a quite a new site in that it is there third year. We camped here over the Easter period in our tent for a week. There is nothing on this site that could be faulted. The site is quiet and safe for families with small children with ample space for them to run free. The showers were hot, and I can only speak for the ladies loos were immaculate,however my husband said the same about the men's. The site is run by the owners and they show you individually around on arrival. Excellent well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CLAIRE1000 8 reviews from this member

A relatively new campsite. Really lovely owners who let me borrow a tent when one of my poles snapped. The surrounding area is beautiful with many places to go for idyllic walks. Also, an Osprey pair breeding nearby for all those bird watchers! The campsite is an standard size. It can be a bit windy as the field is open from all sides however the views are stunning. The shower and washing facilities are excellent. Immaculately clean, warm and stylish. There are no shops near the campsite so some careful planning is needed. There are electric hook ups if needed and a couple of statics permanently on site which can be booked. Bikes can be securely locked in a large shed although the campsite does feel really safe and is after all quite far down a farm track.

An excellent site for walkers and mountain bikers and well worth a stay!

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lorrnev 4 reviews from this member

This site is an absolute gem, flat level well drained pitches, with plenty of room to move around. Really inexspensive too.
The shower block is the cleanest most modern I have yet to find.
For dish washing, not only are you supplied with hot water, but the cloths, scourers and washing up liquid too!
There is a washing machine, tumbledryer, ironing board etc, oh and a radio to turn on and listen to while doing all of the latter. Washing line and pegs supplied as well.
There is a freezer to use free of charge for ice packs etc.
The best feature we found was the games/sitting room, great for use on wet nights, small pool table, television, books, games, jigsaws and more. Also a sandpit for toddlers, swingball, and basketball net.
All in all an excellent small site, the owners are in their second year and making improvement all the time. If I had a small criticism it would be that the site is very exposed, but hedges and trees have been planted all round to combat this. In a couple of years they will make a big difference.
Well worth a visit, site owner even came out to help pitch in very high winds.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Pryce Clan 1 review from this member

Spent 4 nights here and deliberately chose it because we were looking for something a little off the beaten track and not too busy. Drumroamin doesn’t disappoint on either point being at the end of a farm track in a relatively sparsely populated part of Scotland. This doesn’t mean that the site is rough or basic though, in fact, it’s quite the opposite. The amenity block is newly built, is finished to a very high standard and is kept immaculately clean. The showers are spacious being the “wet room” type so no mouldy curtains to cling to you or leaky screens to bang your elbows on! There are also clothes washing and drying facilities which you’ll need 50p’s for but the freezer is free to use and is also kept stocked with free ice cubes. There is no on-site shop though, which you need to be aware of, so picking up that pint of milk or loaf of bread can be a bit of a trek as the nearest shop is maybe 3 – 4 miles away. If you need to do a ”proper shop” then Wigtown is about 5 - 6 miles way and has a small Co-op. Be warned though, the pace of life here may be very different to what you’re used to and you certainly won’t find 24 hour petrol stations, supermarkets and takeaways on hand! There are plenty of things to do if you’re happy driving a few miles. The children really enjoyed Monreith Animal World, the Butterfly centre and seeing the ospreys on CCTV in Wigtown. In fact, we’re fairly sure we saw one soaring over the campsite on our last day which was brilliant. The owners, Lesley and Ralph Shell, are very helpful, friendly and always on hand with advice or a chat! Overall, we had a lovely relaxing time and if you don’t being mind woken by the mooing of the cows at 5am then you will to!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Martin+adam 1 review from this member

Just had 3 nights at Drumroamin with my son and I can honestly say it was brilliant. The campsite is great, very quiet, ideal for families and couples.
The site itself is green and lush and there is lots of space with plenty electric and water points. It is an ideal base for visiting S/W Scotland. The owners, Lesley and Ralph are very helpful and the facilities are absolutely spotless. Now when I say spotless I mean spotless and I have not seen cleaner showers or toilets anywhere. There are 3 separate male showers and also a separate family room (not sure about female showers, but there is probably 3 as well) and also 3 sinks to do your dishes in and 1 to wash your clothes in as well as a washing machine and a dryer for which there is a small fee.
Next door to the shower block there is a room with a T.V, pool table, lots of tourist info (maps etc) and books to read.
If we return to this area of Scotland we would have no hesitation in returning although I think when we return it might be a bit busier as word gets around.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smax68 2 reviews from this member

Just got back from a 2 week holiday staying at Drumroamin farm. The site is easily one of the best sites we have stayed on. The field is a flat grass field which is regularly mown. The pitches are wide and marked out so that you know where you can pitch your tent within a safe distance from others! Many of the of the pitches have EHU. The views across the bay and mountains are breathtaking.
The facilities are new and spotlessly clean with three showers in both male and female toilets plus a family/disabled room. The showers are also free with constant hot water. There are three indoor pot washing sinks plus laundry faciltiies ( sink,washer and dryer).
There is a games room with pool table, T.V, books and information leaflets. Outside there are swingball, netball and a covered sandpit for the children to play with.
It is the little touches added to this site that make it stand out from many others. The owners Lesley and Ralph are really friendly and helpful, nothing was ever too much trouble for them and they were always to be found to answer questions, offer help or cleaning! The pot washing area had washing up liquid, cloths and scourers provided and there is a freezer to freeze ice blocks and ice cubes were available too! All quiet from 10pm to 8 am was very much appreciated as we have 2 young children and this was enforced when necessary.
The site is 2 miles away from the village of Kirkinner where there is a little general store and a pub. We went to the the Kirkinner Inn a couple of times for a meal. It has a beer garden with a play area and the food was lovely and lots of it at reasonable prices! To walk off all that lovely food there is a peaceful woods a mile up the road from the site. We walked both trails in the woods one just over a mile and one 3 and a half miles.
We used the site as a base to explore The Machars area. The beach at Monreith was a beautiful sandy beach and very quiet. We also visited coastal villages, Port William was nice, and historical features such as Whithorn abbey, St Ninians Cave and chapel and hill forts. We took quite a long drive to visit the Mull of Galloway where the lighthouse is open to visitors at the weekend. Travelling north towards Newton Stewart we also explored the Galloway Forest Park with lovely trails to walk along. One activity we didn't try but will do next time is hiring a mountain bike from Newton Stewart and cycling around Kirroughtree Visitors Centre.
We only booked to stay at this site for a week but had such a wonderful holiday that we extended it to two weeks. We feel that we still have lots to do and will definitely return especially as we now know that we have found an excellent place to stay.

Previous     98 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 98     Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4773 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019