Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Castel La Bien Assise

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Guines > Castel La Bien Assise Reviews

Castel La Bien Assise
Cd 231
Guines
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
62340
Tel: 0033 03 21 35 20 77
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 400
Open: 06/04/ To 26/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 106 Reviews
                8/10 from 106 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mikekerryp 4 reviews from this member

 We really liked this site. Very easy to find off the ferry and not near any major roads. The swimming pool got a bit crowded but it was 40 degrees ! Great restaurant on site. Everywhere was clean and tidy. We had a good size pitch and didn't feel on top of anyone. The site is owned by Les Castels and they have a good reputation. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Judas_hill 38 reviews from this member

 We used this site for 3 days after touring round europe as a stop before retuning home, found that as we had not booked we ended up near the road and found it very noisy all night. You could only order your bread at 5pm in the evening so if you were out all day this could be a problem. Not sure we would use this site again. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chinster1957 33 reviews from this member

 We decided to have a weekend away in France and chose to stay at La Bien Assise in one of their caravans. As it was only for a weekend we chose to rent one of their cheapest caravans so I wasnít expecting too much. It turned out to be an ex Eurocamp caravan, which looked at bit dated but was actually in a pretty good state of repair. Only 2 very minor complaints: 1. The lounge area is uncomfortable to sit in (a problem I always seem to have with Eurocamp vans), and 2. They didnít supply any large coffee mugs Ė the only ones in the van were the size of an egg cup (which actually could come in handy as I donít remember seeing any).

What about the actual site? The site is a member of the prestigious Les Castels group. We had visited this site with our own caravan around 12 years ago when it used to be a 4-star site and the swimming pool was open to the elements. They must at some point have gone through a bad patch as the site is now only 3-stars.

All I can say is that the site must now be on the up again. The pitches are all reasonably large and well looked after. In fact the whole campsite looks very well maintained. Some reviews have spoken of traffic noise. There is a bit but it is not intrusive. The toilet blocks, although not plush, are still very good and much better than you get on many campsites. The swimming pool now has a retractable cover making it usable in inclement weather. The site also has tennis, table-tennis, mini-golf facilities, childrenísí play grounds, a bar (with wi-fi), a takeaway, and a small shop.

The only thing I would complain about is the quality of the food at the takeaway and bar. Because we were only staying for 2 nights we decided to make use of these facilities. I decided, rather rashly as it happens, to have a cheeseburger. This turned out to be a pre-packaged thing that was microwaved in its bag. It tasted and looked awful. My wife had the chicken nuggets which were passable. On our second night we decided to try the bar menu (which passes a very close resemblance to the takeaway menu). I had the three toughest and fattiest lamb chops you could imagine, and my wife had spaghetti bolognaise which was slopped into a thin dish to make it look bigger than it was. This was not heated all the way through properly. The food here isnít all that cheap. But it is very disappointing!

I should say that there is an independent restaurant situated at the back of the site, which we didnít try but I have heard that the food here is very good indeed.

To recap, with the exception of the bar/takeaway food the site is very good indeed. The pitches are large and the campsite is well kept and clean. It is much better than most 3-star sites and I donít think it will be long before Monsieur Le Camping is outside the site with his pot of paint adding that extra star to his signs. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Rikoshea 3 reviews from this member

 We have just been to the site and must say the site is well maintained, clean and friendly, as we were in a static caravan we didn't need to use the showers and toilets but from what I saw they were nice and clean. As we had the little one with us(9months) it was good to see they had two baby baths, one in the ladies and a bath top one in the mixed area.

We had croissants every morning and must say, apart from one day, there were really good quality.

Our only gripe, and one that would concern me a great deal if in a tent, is the road noise if you are pitched along that side of the camp. The site is on the main road used by the nearby quarry and the trucks started from about 4.30am! 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JULIED444 61 reviews from this member

 Very good site, clean, tidy and quiet.

Indoor pool was a boon at this time of year and kept the children well occupied. Even the water slide was open which suprised me - only the brave went on it - at only 8-9 degree heat on a good day!

My only moan the croissants and bread in the shop, we thought were bought from the supermarket - if you want the best quality a short drive into Guines and the patisserie next to the fishing shop, just through the square was the best.

A word of warning, 3 of the carvans were broken into on the first night this site opened - all electrical equipment, dvds and purses taken - they were all parked on the back fields. I feel the wardens should have advised the rest of us of this - as it was we all communicated with each other and were more careful. I would recommend a pitch down by the bar, in view, but then I would recommend never pitching up miles away from everyone else.

A new roundabout is now located outside of the site, so maps and sat navs maybe out of date. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jim+kate 9 reviews from this member

 Easy site to find and get to from the ferry. Staff were friendly and showed us to a pitch. The toilets and showers were clean and heated. There was a bar on site and a snack bar both serving hot food. There were tennis courts, table tennis, and a swimming pool. The site looked clean and well kept and although it was the start of the season it was fairly busy. The only downside, apart from us not being fully prepared for how cold it would be at night, was the site was used by tour operators who had a party arrive late in the night talking loudly as they walked past the tent. Would use this site as a stop over again. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sennen26 8 reviews from this member

 The site has a lot of road noise and also there was a lots of noise from people staying on the site.

The rubbish was piled up around the bins when we arrived on Sunday someone did clear up on Monday but by Wednesday it was as bad again. The site does not have enough bins for the amount of people on it.

The shower block had a broken window and also one of the showers had been vandalised I know that this is not the site fault but it showed the level of people on the site.

The site is laid out well and has good electrics the grass was cut and generally tidy.

This is a well situated site if you have a dog and need to use the vet well place for ferries and the tunnel. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: RobertsClan 9 reviews from this member

 We've used this site a few times as a stopover on the way to the south of France and found it ideal.

We found the site to be quiet, easy to find from the ferry/shuttle and has a park that the kids found great to run round and make up for being stuck in the car for such a long time.

Although we have always stayed here in a static as we are usually under canvas it's habit to check out the toilet blocks and they are clean and well maintained

We're already booked in for our stopover on the way to the south of France again this year. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: NiLi6263 16 reviews from this member

 Great site for the first night in France if you want a break before you venture further into this beautiful country or for your return leg if you want a break before you catch the ferry / train back to the UK.

You will find yourself 20 minutes from the ferry/train and on a very comfortable site with excellent facilities.

A little traffic noise could be heard but not too much to spoil our stay.

The staff speak pretty good English so no problems with booking in or out or any general enquiries.

Check out our photo link from our member page to see pictures of the site if you are interested. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 58 reviews from this member

 I reviewed this site last year in July 2006 (see below) and would like to add that when we stayed this year, the site was remarkably improved from last year.† I was not impressed with the site last year but this year it was clean, neat and tidy and very well manicured with lovely flower beds.† A lot of work has clearly gone into bringing the site up to standard again and I thought this year that it was very nice indeed. 


Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castel La Bien Assise child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Castel La Bien Assise have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castel La Bien Assise?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castel La Bien Assise dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Guines      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3471 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements