Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Henlow Bridge Lakes

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Bedfordshire > Henlow Village > Henlow Bridge Lakes > Reviews

Henlow Bridge Lakes
Bridge End Road
Henlow
Henlow Village
Bedfordshire   (Browse area)
SG16 6LN
Tel: 01462 812645
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200 pitches. 6 Lodges. 6 Cabins. 3 Pods
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 112 Reviews
                9/10 from 112 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 3madboyz 14 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a group camp at Henlow bridge lakes and have to say I am very impressed!

Great location for us as is only an hour from home and was central enough for our camping buddies to join us.

On arrival, it is clear that the site has been well thought out, is immaculately clean and has obviously been considered as a long term investment.

The hard standing/all weather pitches are dotted around the reception area and facilities block and so are great for the less abled, Large, accessible shower and toilet facilities are also available.

The toilet and shower block are spotless and a credit to the site with under floor heating and piped music, there is a key system in place where you pay a 20 refundable deposit for a key to the main gate, campsite entrance and toilet/facilities which are locked after a certain time in the evening, the fisherman's toilets and the campers toilets are also separate which we thought was a good idea (muddy waders etc. )

The grass camping pitches all have E. H. You available and their own individual water supply which is a brilliant idea in my opinion, we were told that all the camping pitches are 12x12M which is a great size. The grass is almost like it has never been camped on it is in such great condition (no bare quagmire-esque mud patches like some sites), the pitches are also very well drained and many of them are planted with shrubs around the boundary, making it easy to know what space you have.

Lots to do in the neighbouring area but the site itself has many endearing features (with lots more to come we are told), the walks around the site and it's lakes are really nice and there is an abundance of wildlife.

There is a decent play area in the middle of the main field which the kids in our group gave their seal of approval.

We were told that there are big plans in the very near future for group camping areas and communal fire pits which all sounds very exciting.

The site is great if you love fishing and I thought the idea of 'swims' for disabled people was a really nice idea.

Staff were very helpful and understanding when we had to make amendments to some of camping buddie's bookings and we were grateful for this.

All in all this is great site that is still very new with lots more to come, I reckon that the planned extra facilities will be needed as I think, once established this site will be a real (busy) gem. The only negative would be the road noise from the A road that runs alongside the site but we got used to it so not a major issue.

Would recommend without a doubt and am looking forward to visiting again in the future, keep up the good work guys :-) 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sue clarke135 2 reviews from this member

 This is the first time we have stayed at this site and it was brilliant. The toilet/shower block was kept very clean and there was always hot water. The grounds were very neat and tidy and there are plenty of walks from the site.

The staff are very friendly and will help in any way they can. I would recommend this site and will be making a return visit in the near future.

If you are into real ales there is a great public house called The Engineer which has about 25 real ales and 7 ciders to keep you happy. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nurseflo 4 reviews from this member

 My son lives in the village (abt 15mins walk away) and as he does not have enough room for us all we took our tourer with us. We stayed for a week in glorious sunshine.

As we live a long way away we asked if we could come to the pitch early morning and was told that we could come any time after 7am when they open - so we drove overnight and arrived at 7. 30am and was welcome immediately by staff by our name without us telling them !

We had been given a pitch next to the toilet block due to all 3 of us having various disabilities.

We had electric hook up with our own water supply to the pitch.

Electricity is via a electric card which you purchase in either 1's or 5 cards from the site - when we arrived there was 1. 30 on ours already and we put another 3 on over the week and left 90p still on ours when we left.

The pitches are arranged in small circular type units of about 6 pitches per unit - we were on our own all week

TOILET BLOCK - caters for men - women - disabled - baby changing all having their own rooms. Piped music and very warm heating Very clean and was well presented and furnished to a high degree.

LOCAL INFORMATION - well displayed within foyer of toilet block area to local attractions and info you need

LAUNDRY - sited at end of toilet block with washing machines, tumble dryers, iron and ironing board. Also is the pot washing sinks Again all very clean and presentable

PLAYGROUND - lovely playground split into 2 for younger children and older children inc a summer house with little chairs for the little ones. Lots of open space for football and other games.

CHICKENS - my little grandson loved visiting these daily inc the little chicks.

FISHING LAKES- there is 2 very large fishing lakes and 2 smaller ones for the fishermen (which we are not) but is a lovely pleasant walk to walk around them

WALKS - lots of lovely walks around the site in the countryside

LOCALITY - you are about a 5 mins walk maximum to the train station (you can hear them passing by but not intrusive to your peace and quiet) to take to you London (abt 40 mins away on the train) or towards Peterborough the other way

Buses pass the end of the road to various local villages -Henlow is about 15 mins walk away across the fields on one of the tracks where you will find 3 pubs a chippie, post-office cum shop and a sandwich shop

SITE FACILITIES - has a basic shop with a variety of standard items all reasonably priced and you can pre order specific newspapers and cakes/bread/pastries for the following day - all very reasonably priced. Site is very clean very pleasant and well worth coming to.

If you don't want to camp they also have these PODS a bit like a large arched Swedish log cabin - but with all the mod cons - lighting heating electricity, your own BBQ and wooden seating etc

Whilst we were there they were installing electric barriers which did cause them more problems than us which did help in that you did not have to open 3 gates to get into the place (generally only 2 gates to open with a slide lock during the day - main gate is locked with a padlock at night which you do have a key for)

STAFF - all are very helpful and polite and speak to you as they pass on their various jobs

Overall this is an excellent site and we would certainly use it again 10/10 for amenities and staff especially as it is very near my son 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Cubleader 1 review from this member

 We chose to stay at this site for one night because our friends kids wanted to experience camping for a night and they live in Henlow. We have driven past this site regularly and decided that it would be ideal for the one night with it being so locate to the kids home.

The staff we friendly, helpful and full of advice and options for us (should we bring tents or sleep in a pod). We decided that we would hire a 'pod' for one night and we were not disappointed ! Everything we needed was there, though we had to hide the tv remote control from the kids. We had a lovely walk around the site pre-dinner (BBQ) and the kids enjoyed the wildlife and watching the people fishing, before going off to the on-site playground.

Shower block/toilets - Very clean & modern, bumped into someone cleaning it twice in the 24hrs we were on site

Washing Up/Laundry Rm - Very clean & modern

Shop - basic but varied (inc fishing gear which made the boyfriend very happy)

We plan to return again this year with some friends who are campers for a long weekend, the boys are going fishing and us girls are planning a relaxing weekend with our books (50 shades of grey) whilst the kids are off playing in the playground or the open spaces. So it ticks everyones boxes.

Highly recommend this site to everyone they have even built disabled access fishing area's ! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Maverick1 1 review from this member

 Visited this site in July. Excellent caravan facilities. Very organised, Very clean and Very friendly. All the facilities have been very well thought out and much planning has been made to provide a high quality site to caravans. Water and electric very close, waste facilities very close. Grounds very well maintained, very clean. Staff all provided excellent service and went out their way to help. Security good with a locked gate at all times. Key access if you need to leave and come back. Provision of bread and newspapers. Shop is excellent for grocery and not bad for fishing essentials.

Walks are very picturesque and pleasant. Excellent disabled facilities. Great value for money at just 20 per night. Electric meter is just about 3 for weekend so is nothing really. No mr fiddler type extras such as charging you for dogs, awnings etc as most camp sites seem to do when we had been looking.

Fishing is only my opinion but the brochure says the river is more difficult and challenging to fish. IMHO it is so overgrown that I doubt anyone would attempt to try. The lakes are very well maintained they look very muddy although there was recent rain. Caught baby tench and young looking fish which were all quite small about 20 over 10 hrs. Didn't do much for me but I guess kids would love it! I would say that at least there is a large stock of smaller fish in the lakes. Can't comment on the carp fishing as I didn't try for them but I saw about 4 carp caught individually ranging from 5lb to 9lb over 1 day. I thought 10 per day was a little high particularly as the fish were smaller and we were on holiday in caravan. I think some sort of reduction should be made for people staying in caravans.

Although I have to admit this does not distract me from giving 10 out of 10 as what slightly lacked on the fishing side was more than made up for on the caravan site side. I don't like to leave the review as it might attract more punters and I might find it harder to book in future ha ha 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Family H 1 review from this member

 Just got back from our first camping trip and our first time at Henlow Bridge Lakes and it was fantastic. We had great weather which was a real bonus.

The site is spotless and the staff really friendly and helpful. The shop was well stocked for both camping, food and fishing. The fishing lakes were excellent, my seven year old went fishing for the first time and over the weekend caught 10 fish so loved it.

The road can be a little noisy but after the first night you do get used to it and then do not really notice it. On the Sunday morning the owner came round with a tractor and trailer and took the kids & adults on a trip round the site which they loved.

Would really recommend this campsite, the facilities are excellent, really clean and modern. The pitches are nice and big with water and electric close by.

Lots of things to do and the site has a really nice feel about it. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DanielWood 1 review from this member

 We visited for a Friday & Saturday night and it was a VERY wet time, however the campsite was lovely. Its still a pretty new site and will certainly improve as it matures but the facilities were incredibly clean and well maintained.

The showers and toilets were warm and welcoming and thoughtfully laid out. Pitches were very large with soft springy grass although I guess this is likely to change with continued use. ! Staff were very relaxed and friendly. We didn't get into the shop so cant comment on that.

The fishing lakes / ponds are open to kiddies so you do need to keep an eye on the smaller ones.

All in all a very nice site and one I think we will return to, hopefully with some nice weather.

A nearby pub called the Fox & Duck (Stotfold) which we popped to for a late lunch surprised us with some excellent food and service. We were actually headed somewhere else but the huge diplodocus in the large garden (which is great for kiddies) made us stop and we were very pleased we did.

There were 10 of us and it was about 3pm but they got us all sat down and served very promptly and patiently (we took ages to decide)! Well done all at the F & D! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: AJDimond2001 1 review from this member

 Stayed in one of their pods which was clean, warm and comfortable. Staff were very friendly, facilities are good and ablution block is well kept.

Site nicely laid out, use of hanging flower baskets gave a nice friendly, welcoming impression. Nearby road and railway line can be heard but is not too intrusive.

Although we are not anglers, the lakes and angling facilities looked very good indeed. All in all, a very good experience. I would thoroughly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Absinthe_boy 17 reviews from this member

 We spent two nights at Henlow Bridge Lakes in the recent heat wave as it is quite local to us (under 30 minutes drive). For other people the attraction might be that it is a little out of the way, but close to civilisation and on a direct train line to London. There are lots of lovely shops in Baldock, Hitchin and Letchworth nearby and some good pubs in Arlesey. During the day you can hear the train pass but it stops during 'normal' sleeping hours.

Facilities are impeccable, the site is one of the cleanest we have visited. It's a fairly new site so the trees are not yet mature, when they are it will be amazing. For now, many pitches have little shade. However the pitches seem all to be level with plenty of space for large units. There are lots of EHUs and drinking water taps.

In the toilet/shower block there are mops to encourage guests to keep things clean and they seem to do the trick. The block is also cleaned 4 times a day by staff. The only minor gripe was that there is no space between hand basins so you have nowhere to put your towel and things while you brush your teeth or shave. And there's only one hanger peg on the shower door, so you can't hang many items of clothes. A plus point is a free hair dryer.

Other facilities include an on-site launderette reasonably priced, iron and ironing board (appeared to be free to use) and nice dish washing facilities. There's also wi-fi and a nice desk with network points and power sockets for you to sit at and plug your laptop in.

In time, when the trees are mature, this will be one of the nicest sites around. There's a nice children's play area and of course the fishing lakes. I've not tried angling for 25 years or so but the lakes attract ducks and geese which is lovely. You might even come across sleeping ducks in the evening, and see the geese fly in the morning. You'll also see squirrels and rabbits. The sunsets were divine.

Definitely recommended for a nice break, and as the site matures it will get even better. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: YNBH 1 review from this member

 We have just returned From our 4th visit to this campsite and each time it has got better and better and the facilities have improved! It is impeccable clean from the pitches, walkways, surrounding areas and toilet facilities. The staff are very friendly and helpful and are keen to maintain the site to the best it can be. The pitches are of a good size and as well as electric points water is available on most. There are some lovely walks for dogs and a field to let them off for a run. The washing up, laundry area iss clean and idealand even has a telly in it. Fishing is good and the two new lakes look lovely for disabled fisherman/women. The small shop has good fishing bits but could do with some additional camping bits, tent pegs, guy ropes, toilet bloo amenities etc.

It is close to a train station for visiting various areas and we have hardly heard the road or train noise.

The kids even had a Easter egg hunt and tractor ride on Easter Sunday that the site organised.

Thanks we will be back! 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Henlow Bridge Lakes child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Henlow Bridge Lakes?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Henlow Bridge Lakes dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Henlow Village      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Bedfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3274 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement