Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Amerden Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Berkshire > Maidenhead > Amerden Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Amerden Caravan & Camping Site
Old Marsh Lane
Dorney Reach
Maidenhead
Berkshire   (Browse area)
SL6 0DZCheck Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 50
Open: Closed For 2019, Reopening 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 161 Reviews
                9/10 from 161 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  161 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trisha28 2 reviews from this member

Wow, this site is small but impressive. The sites facilities are clean (toilets immaculate), extensive ammenities(laundry facilities, sinks for washing up) and lots of extras we haven't seen on camp sites before (chocolate vending machine!).

The children's play area is small but well maintained and certainly kept our two children amused (8 and 7).

The staff were welcoming, friendly and relaxed.

We used the site to go to Legoland, which is around 8 miles away, which seemed to be the reason for many of the fellow campers stay.

The site is close to the M4 so you can hear the hum of the traffic and must also be on a flight path with caused alttle disturbance for my partner, however, me and the children were not affected. Our overall impression was that the site was well equipped, friendly and clean. Would recommend to anyone, by far the best site we have stayed on to date.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Craigmc100 1 review from this member

Visited this site for 4 days while touring around England. Wish we could have stayed longer! Bev and Stu the owners couldn't have done enough for us. Even let us hire bikes for free to cycle up the side of the thames, which is a 2 minute walk from the site. It has a beautiful walk along the river with some stunning veiws to be seen and the Lock is definitely worth seeing. There are barges coming and going throughout the day and the disco boat at night.
This site is spotlessly clean showers and toilets are superb with loads of hot water at anytime of the day. We have an 11yr old who loved this site even though there was no complex on it. He made lots of friends here playing around the site and at the small play park.
It is ideally situated for visiting Legoland, Windsor and London. Train station 2 minutes away and train takes you into London in 25mins. Sainsbury's is just up the road ideal for getting in your barbi food.
This site is definitely one of our favourites and cant wait to return again next year but hopefully for longer this time. People mentioned previously about The noise from the road opposite is no problem the gentle humm of the cars sends you off to sleep after your busy day out and about.
All pitches are level and some are secluded in little booths surounded by a hedge on each side it is perfect base to set up camp and to enjoy your holiday however busy or relaxing it may be.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mikezaluk 2 reviews from this member

Just thought I should put in a quick review of this site.

We went here specifically so we could be near legoland and thorpe so we could visit both while there.

The site is small, neat and tidy. It has a good show block and small playground for the kids. The staff are friendly and welcoming and we had a huge pitch.

The surrounding area is very nice and if you can afford it the famous Fat Duck restaurent is very close by. If you can't aford that the associated pub will sell you Heston's famous triple cooked chips.

Yes we would go again

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hull tiger 6 reviews from this member

Nice small site in the Thames Valley area.

Toilets very very clean. Staff very helpful. Pitches at the back of the site are right next to the M4 Motorway to London very busy 24 hours a day. Ask for Pitches near the toilet block these are the best on the site right next to the wardens area!

Nice river walks on the Thames to the Town

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gailgavin 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a four night stay at Amerden Campsite and wished we had stayed longer. We cant rate this campsite high enough This was our first time camping and we were very impressed with the campsite especially after we moved onto another one after this and it was really awful. I think Amerden has set our standard for future trips. The weather was very wet but this did not affect our stay. We were welcomed on arrival and were given a pitch next to the playpark which was ideal as we have a 5 year old son. The toilets and shower block were yards from our tent which meant we didn't have far to go and they were kept immaculate. Everything was at hand and even had a vending machine which was kept well stocked in case you got hungary for a snack. This site is ideal for Legoland and also Chessington which we all loved. We didn't mind the noise at all from the moterway and from the planes and we slept ok. Our son Cameron loved this campsite the best (he met a lovely little girl from Glasgow who he talked about all through the remainder of our holiday and would love to get in touch with again)so its a great place to make new friends.

We are going to go back next year and thank the people who run the camp for such an enjoyable stay.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Xanadu819 4 reviews from this member

Old fashioned in the best sense of the word. Well run; friendly; clean and tidy. Absolutely ideal. Incredibly helpful staff; toilet/shower block was always impeccable; freezer & microwave facilities were spotless.

On-site vending was very good value and well thought-out.

Very easy to find and set amongst an beautiful old orchard a lovely walk to the Thames and a real working lock.

The children's play area is small but perfectly formed and was more than big enough for the number of children staying.

Only 15mins to Legoland made it an ideal start to our holiday - thanks to all involved.

Yes the M4 is close but after 10 mins you don't notice it.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stephmummy 1 review from this member

Lovely campsite. Really friendly staff and great facilities.

This was our 1st camping trip so we were a little apprehensive, but if all campsites are this nice then bring it on!

M4 is noisy but it is still a real gem!

Great location with good links to Windsor. We spent the day at Legoland, which was fab. Would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dimapps 5 reviews from this member

Fantastic, friendly, relaxed site run by 2 lovely wardens. They helped us find a great pitch near the children's play area, no noise though, every thing had gone quiet by 9pm and no children were out playing before 9am!
The site has plenty of trees, which meant shade, as it was very warm when we were there. Toilets and showers were very clean, plenty of hot water in the showers. Easy walking / cycling access to the Thames, plus lots of other cycle routes around (little map available from the office). Unfortunately we didn't have time to sample them as we spent the day at Legoland (15-20 min drive).
The only downside is the M4, but the owners of the site are very open about how close they are to it. It is never quiet but you do become used to it as background noise. Will use the site again when we visit Legoland next year, the kids might even be old enough for Windsor Castle by then as well!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Noeleegee 1 review from this member

Lovely site, well maintained. Good riverside walks. Traffic noise from M4 but a small price to pay for a well situated clean and friendly site.
Owners seem to be very thoughtful, even had a microwave and vending machine (crisps, chocolate, cold drinks etc.)
Handy for Windsor / Eton visiting, also Legoland. Hope to visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TheEardleys 7 reviews from this member

What a fantastic, picturesque and welcoming site. Lovely level pitches, great for novice campers like ourselves. Beverly very helpful on our arrival, we picked a great pitch at the end of the orchard, surrounded by tall fir trees - it was very secluded and made for a lovely weekend.

Amenities were excellent, always hot water, toilets and showers spotlessly clean. Washing up facilities ideal, again, always clean. Playground great and a lovely safe site for the kids.

Yes, there is the road noise from the M4 but after the first night, it just became background noise, didn't bother us at all.

We also used a local taxi company (Windsor Cars) to return from visiting friends in Windsor - they were punctual and reasonably priced.

Really handy site to stay at to visit Legoland and Windsor. Would definitely recommend this site and the kids can't wait to go back.

Previous     161 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Berkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


906 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019