Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - South Lea Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

South Lea Caravan Park
The Balk
Pocklington
Pocklington
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO42 2NX
Tel:   or  07989616095
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 130 Reviews
                9/10 from 130 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  130 in total, now showing 61 to 66                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MandDB 2 reviews from this member

We visited this site again (probably our 6 or 7th time) over the Easter weekend for 3 nights and as usual everything was fantastic. The site has great security with a barrier at the entrance / exit (activated by key card).

As usual we were warmly welcomed and shown to where we were to set up. The pitch, as with all was perfectly flat with electrical hook up. We set up next to our in-laws caravan which is sited there permanently and had a fantastic weekend.

The toilet/Shower block is excellent with plenty of toilets and nice hot showers. These facilities are cleaned very regularly so are immaculate all the time even in the muddiest of weather. There is also a large dog walking area and a nice play area for kids.

Whenever we go here we love it and would recommend it to anyone and will definitely be going there again in the not too distant future.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bingo + Caz 3 reviews from this member

Visited for the Easter weekend which was our second visit to this excellent site. From the initial telephone enquiry & booking to the meet and greet at the site you are treated as the most important visitor they have had. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, they are always pleasant and helpful.

The site is kept immaculate and the toilets and showers are clean at anytime of day or night. The only downside to the showers is if you do not get in early you will not get much hot water.

The town of Pocklington is about a mile away and is very old world and we thoroughly enjoyed exploring its many shops. York and the East Coast are both within easy driving distance. The Yorkway Hotel a short walk away is very welcoming with good food and drink.

Like I said this is our second visit and will not be our last.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: T5aby 2 reviews from this member

My husband, daughter of 9, our westie, Dougal and I have just returned from this fantastic park. We were met at reception by the owner who was very friendly and told us everything we needed to know as well as there being lots of tourist leaflets for us to take. We were also given some recommendations as to where we could eat out.

Our pitch was hardstanding with electric and close waterpoints. We had plenty of room for our awning as well as the car. The playpark was excellent and can be seen from most pitches around the park. My daughter spent most nights playing until it was getting dark.

The toilets and showers were absolutely immaculate day and night and had no cobwebs! The showers were lovely and had an area where you could dry and get dressed, with plenty of door hooks and a stool. A hairdryer was available if needed.

There was a huge dog area where you can let your dog run free which Dougal absolutely loved as he doesn't do being tied up.

The park is situated a mile from the lovely town of Pocklington and is only a half hour drive to York with it various attractions. We also visited Beverely which was lovely. There is a hotel, The Yorkway, very close by serving excellent food in nice surroundings and has a pool table, darts and television. Only problem there are no footpaths to and from the park.

All in all we had a great week at South Lea and would definitely stay there again if we were going to return to the area.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Michael1960 1 review from this member

We first visited in 2006, when we returned in 2009 the site was as immaculate if not better, beautifully maintained with obvious attention to detail that raises the bar in the area. It's the best site in the area, easily located just off the A1079 which comes off the A64.

It's a great location close to York which of course has much to offer, but also a short drive from places such as Scarborough, Whitby, too many to mention with numerous heritage sites, museums, not to mention some of the best beaches in the UK.

The toilet block is excellent, the site is very family / child friendly with a large safe central play area with plenty of space even when the site is full.

There are good shops and supermarkets in Pocklington just up the road which also has a good library. There is a pub next door. Nick and Louise are always welcoming and helpful I think they always go the extra mile when it comes to their guests, which is great, we all know there are many sites where you have to find out stuff for yourself, cant find help when you need it, hardly ever see the owners / wardens. This isn't one of them it's exactly what you want clean, friendly, help is on hand if needed, it's well maintained, clean, well located, loads to do in the vicinity, if you want a good base for visiting the area and the East Riding this is it.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Monica Grant 1 review from this member

This is an excellent site which we first visited in June 2006 and have revisited many times since then. The owners Nick and Louise are very friendly and helpful and give everyone a warm welcome.

South Lea is easily accessible from the A1079, turning onto the B1247. The site is attractively laid out with well-maintained flower beds and borders. The toilet block is exceptionally clean with free showers and hair dryers. There is an external (under cover) pot-washing facility and adjacent recycling bins.

For children there is an adventure-style play area. Dogs are welcome and there is a dog-walking area on the site.

The nearby motel has a restaurant/bar which is open to non-residents. Nearest supermarket is a mile away on the edge of Pocklington, a lovely little market town with character. Pocklington is at the foot of the Yorkshire Wolds, a beautiful area with pretty villages. York is a short drive away (Park and Ride available) or take a bus from Pocklington. A visit to the nearby Burnby Hall Gardens is recommended, as is a stroll along the nearby Pocklington Canal.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Weejanet 33 reviews from this member

Spent three nights in this lovely site. Very well kept. Very clean shower toilet block. Kids play area looked good. Loads of information, magazines and books at reception. We took the advice of the owner and ate at the Italian which had an early bird offer, great! Lots to see and do in area. We used the park and ride from the designer outlet into York centre and it was certainly easier than trying to park in the town centre plus you can have a wee look round the Designer outlet. Too many things to see and do in York that we could not fit all in so we will just have to go back another time, and of course we will stay at this caravan site again.

Previous     130 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 66      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth 560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3460 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


Black Friday SALE
Black Friday SALE
OLPRO have masses of amazing Black Friday offers EVERY DAY throughout November. Prices slashed on inflatable awnings and tents





0.0898