Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Ingleton > Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site > Reviews

Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site
Thornton In Lonsdale
Ingleton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
LA6 3PD
Tel: 015242 41432
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 42
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 106 Reviews
                10/10 from 106 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (28)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 101 to 106                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 86 reviews from this member

 This was a return trip for us after an abortive visit in August 2011 when we left after one night due to torrential rain in the area and the prospect of no change for the forthcoming days.

So we re-booked and returned in May 2012 for a five night stay.

This site typifies what a CS should be all about laid back with good basic facilities but also superb views.

The site is set out in a circle and is sloping although the terraced hardstanding pitches are all level with adjacent electric points. The water supply, toilet emptying & rubbish recycling area is located in a fenced area at the entrance to the site.

The views over the sheep pasture include the Thornton in Lonsdale church, the Marton Arms Hotel and the summit of Ingleborough. Whilst we were there, it was delightful to see the lambs running around the fields, especially George, the tame one that came to greet us when we walked by.

Ingleton itself is only a 20 minute walk away and the Country Harvest shop is less than 5 minutes across the A65 for fresh supplies.

There are plenty of walks available from the site recommended are the ascent of Ingleborough and the walk into Kingsdale with all the pot holes & caves.

Sandra & Alan were always available to chat to and advise on walks.

In conclusion, Thornbrook Barn ticks all of the boxes of our CL/CS requirements and we would thoroughly recommend it for a restful stay.  


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nickb500 13 reviews from this member

 Spent 5 days at Thornbrook including the Easter weekend. For us it was the ideal site. Generously sized pitches set at slightly different angles to each other so not directly overlooking others, yet with fine views. Although not having toilets or showers, the water points, bins etc were all close at hand and immaculately kept. The site was also very well drained considering the quantities of sleet, snow and rain which fell at times! The sheep and lambs were a joy to watch.

Sandra was very helpful with local knowledge; sadly the pub in the village is currently closed as it has been highly recommended before so we tried some in Ingleton itself. The Wheat Sheaf was our favourite - nice atmosphere and busy with walkers and families while also being dog-friendly with a large beer garden and also a large restaurant. One of our days was actually a scorcher and we did the Waterfalls Walk. This covers over 4 miles and almost countless waterfalls, with snow covered hills making for some great photos. There is a 5 admission fee, but the paths and fences were very well maintained for safety reasons so we did not begrudge paying. Ingleton is such a good base for exploring many of the Dales so we will definitely be returning to Thornbrook. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BurleyfOX 1 review from this member

 Stayed for one night so we could do some walking. We walked Ingleborough which is a 5/10 min drive away if that.

The site is in a lovely location, 6 hard-standing pitches with electric all good size. Waste, water, bins etc very close but not too close and very clean and tidy. We knew there wasn't, but just to reiterate there are no toilets or showers. Countryside views and on a good day you can see the summit of Ingleborough.

We had evening meal in the local pub in the village, about 7/10 mins walk if that. It's a very nice place 'under new ownership'. The food (good pub grub) was fine but not exactly cheap. There were lots of good beers but the staff were new and struggled pulling a decent pint, that said we would go back again and would eat again.

Ingleton is a 10/15min walk away and everything there for your stay, small supermarket, mini bank, pubs, cafes and other small shops.

This is a top location if you fancy taking in the lovely Yorkshire Countryside.

The owners of the site were very friendly and helpful. Having never previously stopped at a site without shower and toilet facilities we will certainly return here as soon as possible.

The site was easy to get to, just off the A65, up a purpose built track, and the sighting of the pitches made it easy to manoeuvre and set up.

There's nothing there for children to do, but it would not stop us taking our 6 year old daughter. It's all about location and what you intend to do. It's well fenced off and child friendly in that respect. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Michael Parker 4 reviews from this member

 Camping and Caravanning club CS. Excellent level hard standing pitches with EHU, well drained despite heavy rain, pleasant stream adjacent (but fenced)

Friendly, helpful owners, even supplied a pitch marker in case we took MH off site Facilities consist of water supply, grey water disposal & vidange plus recycling, all immaculately clean.

10 mins walk to decent pub. More in Ingleton (15 mins), plus cafes & shops. V peaceful location.

Should be OK for kids, they can't get far, but need to be able to amuse themselves.

Good for walking cycling or just chill 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suzanne Foster 12 reviews from this member

 This is one of the best small sites we have visited. There are no shared facilities such as a shower block or toilets so you have to self sufficient. The pitches are fully serviced and the site is immaculate.

The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. They allowed us to borrow their own ordnance survey maps to help us when we went walking. There are plenty of walks to do in stunning scenery. There are also lots of places to visit in the car.

There are no facilities for children. There is a pub about 15 minutes walk away. The beer is good and so are the meals but you can wait anything up to 50 minutes to get your meal after ordering!

Ingleton is about 25 minutes stroll with some nice pubs and restaurants. This is a site that you will definitely return to. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Greybeard127 16 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 9 night stay at Thornbrook Barn and have booked for another 7 nights in September!

It is a lovely site and Sandra the owner is very friendly, although once you have paid, she tends to leave you alone!

It's not too far to walk into Ingleton and there are Pubs and cafes there.

The site has only been open since Easter 2011 but they are having a lot of repeat bookings so they are obviously doing something right!

There is a great view of Ingleborough from most of the site. We can recommend the Homemade Jam which is actually made by her young son. 


Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 106     Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ingleton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


58267 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement