Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gairloch Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Gairloch > Gairloch Holiday Park > Reviews

Gairloch Holiday Park
Strath
Gairloch
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV21 2BX
Tel: 01445 712373
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 119 Reviews
                9/10 from 119 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: JaneH 63 reviews from this member

 Nice level site with a friendly welcome. Local hotel near entrance and shops including butcher, newsagents, fish and chip shop, bookshop/cafe etc.

Not too far to walk into Gairloch village where there is a supermarket,fuel, hotels, TIC etc

Clean facilities, good washing up area and nice views out to sea.

Well worth a drive out to Melvaig Inn along the single track road as the food and beer were lovely with a friendly welcome. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Keithydee 21 reviews from this member

 Vey clean, level and tidy site, the current manager is in the process of refurbishing it, the site is central for the town itself which is very handy. The wardens are probably the most helpful site managers we have ever met.

The site doesn't have any facilities for children however with everything so close to hand this isn't a problem. There is a pub/ restaurant just outside the entrance and shops within 50 yards which provide most of the day to day things you will need, watch out for the basking sharks, seals and otters in the area too. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sinechalmers 1 review from this member

 This is one of the favourite sites in the UK and I have stayed here every year for the last 5. The location is great, situated right in the centre of a beautiful village and a 2 minute walk from shops, pubs, book shops and everything you could want. Wardens are friendly, facilities are always clean, campsite is flat and the views are great! What more could you ask for 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JBEW 1 review from this member

 We found this site by miscalculation, (we were looking for the other site just down the road). However, a friendly approach by the warden at reception, we decided to stay. Once set-up, our pitch gave us wonderful views over the loch, and the Island of Sky. In addition to this, to make a site good, you need clean and tidy facilities. Although the toilet blocks are dated and the number of showers should be increased, (at certain times of the morning my wife encountered queuing during our visit in June. I can only imagine in the high season with increased numbers of guests this could be a regular possibility). However, they were spotlessly clean and well maintained. You also need friendly and helpful wardens. At the time of our visit they were Colin & Marion, Colin I had met in the reception, nothing was to much trouble i.E., European camper-van tripping the electric, Colin lent them a cable to over come it and we were all made happy. A tent with broken poles and nearly blowing away, the occupants were out for the night. Colin & Marion had the answer, and fixed the problem, while the guests were out enjoying their evening, unaware how close they had come to loosing their tent, until I explained it to them the following morning. It is a quiet site but a very short walk leads you to the main street with a great butchers-fruit-veg shop, newsagent, post office, small supermarket. There are a few cafes, restaurants locally, and lovely walks along the sea front and a great beach a short drive or a lovely walk away. The weather was fantastic during our visit, 14 day in all, which helped a lot! However, there can be a wind, but then that keeps the midges away.  


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Maidmurron 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights. The site was well looked after with nice even grass pitches.

There's no shelter but if you have a good tent and plenty pegs you should be fine.

Owners Colin and Marion very friendly and helpful.

Toilets and sink area were both kept clean.

Marion could be seen going around in a red boilersuit cutting the grass etc. They both work hard to keep a lovely site.

Shops and pubs near by with some great beaches around the area.

Red Point is well worth a visit. You can take the car so far then its a down hill on foot to the beach.You need to be steady on your legs to get down and up again.

I've lived in Scotland all my life and I didn't realise how lovely the Gairloch area was. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thesaint 28 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a couple of days. The warden was friendly and this site is ideally located for shops, the Millcroft Hotel bar and Hillbillies (Mountain Coffee) and the local butchers. There is plenty of walking nearby, a local golf course and boat trips from the harbour.

The toilets and showers were clean and adequate. There is a laundry room and a dishwashing area. All in all, a very nice campsite. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Oklahoma16 1 review from this member

 The main attraction of this site is the wonderful views over the sea, but to make a site excellent you need friendly helpful wardens and clean, tidy facilities. Although the facilities ie. Toilet blocks are a bit dated they were spotlessly clean. It is a quiet site but a very short walk past the pub next door leads you to the main street with a great butchers/fruit and veg shop, friendly newsagent and local small supermarket. There are a few cafes/restaurants and lovely walks along the sea front and a great beach a short drive or a lovely walk away. The weather was fantastic which helped a lot! We will definitely be back, it is now one of our top 10 favourite sites.  


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: LJS49 5 reviews from this member

 Brilliant level site on elevated position above the village. Can get very windy at times but the view from site makes its exposed position worthwhile.

Wardens at the site could not have been more helpful as we found out when our stand alone awning threatened to take off across the bay.

First class toilets and showers. Always plenty of hot water.

All the facilities you require easily within walking distance of the site. You must try the scones in the cafe at the mountain shop.

I will be back and soon. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rvnamn 1 review from this member

 Excellent site, large level pitches well set out and tidy. Toilets and free showers very clean with plenty of hot water. Site wardens Marion and Colin very helpful and friendly (they kindly gave us loan of gas bottle and regulator when we ran out of gas).
Good pub, cafes and shops all within 100 yards of site. One of the best sites we have stayed on would recommend to anyone and will certainly return. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: S n buxton 9 reviews from this member

 Due to a recent hand injury I was unable to erect my tent without suffering some discomfort. The warden could not have been more helpful in that he actually put the tent up for me - refusing the offer of a 'drink'.

The site was extremely well laid out and maintained to a commendably high standard. The toilet / shower facilities were clean and kept in tip top condition throughout the day. I especially liked the novel way that barbed wire was inset into a transparent toilet seat in the gents shower block!

The pub next door sells real ale and provides good food - as does the Myrtle Bank Hotel just round the bay. All required facilities (shop, post office, restaurants etc.) are within a stones throw. There is also a cafe (Hillbillies) nearby, but I did find the coffee there to be at best 'average' and also rather expensive.

Strongly recommend this camp site, and cannot speak to highly of the wardens - they actually care and take pride in the site A++++++ 


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Gairloch Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gairloch Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gairloch Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Gairloch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3048 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement