Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Flodabay Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Harris > Flodabay Farm Reviews

Flodabay Farm
4 Flodabay
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3HA
Tel: 01859 530353  or  07767 751847
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 3
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 131 Reviews
                10/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hilli 5 reviews from this member

 We had booked 7 nights at Flodabay in our caravan and were so glad we did. The road leading up to Flodabay was a bit narrow, but spectacular scenery. The owner was at the gate to meet us on a sunny Saturday. We had booked pitch 1 over looking the bay, but a storm was coming in so the owner suggested pitching in his drive, which was a very good idea as the winds were very strong.

The owner was so friendly and couldn't do enough for us, a perfect host. We got some of his homemade sausages which were delicious and his eggs from the shore line chickens were out of this world.

Flodabay is an ideal base for touring Harris and going into Lewis. The pitches are up a steep hill, they are very spacious and the views are breathtaking. There are quite a few picnic benches to sit and enjoy the view, we even saw 2 sea otters. There aren't any showers or toilets as yet, but that didn't bother us having our own facilities.

There are 2 private lochs that you can fish in the owner also supplies the rods, loads of land to roam which our dog loved.

One night the owner arrived with the most delicious mashed potatoes, scallops and prawns.

All in all we had a fantastic holiday even though weather wasn't that kind. Definitely recommend Flodabay 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Suestaines 1 review from this member

 Just returned from touring the Outer Hebrides in a campervan with my disabled grandson. Stayed here for two nights and the owner could not have been more helpful towards us both. I was met at the gate even though I was four hours late as the ferry from N. Uist was cancelled? The site was up a steep gravel roadway which I managed in first gear after the owner had driven me up the day before. My site and the views on this unusual but breathtaking landscape took my breath away as we'll as the hairy journey around the narrow roads. I wouldn't have missed this for the world. Water and electric hookup together with disposal was all we needed but there are plans for showers and toilets.

My second night I was treated to the most mouthwatering meal delivered hot to me. All I needed to do was eat it. What a treat.

I was treated to a sample oh their home made honey and freshly cooked bread and oat cakes.

I hadn't realised it but there was also a service wash available.

From our Luna landscape base we could see the lochs and even the seals and although I didn't. 't use them there was our own picnic table. Very few places to stay on this island but I am delighted that I braved the 'C' road to this unique setting.

The owner did everything within his power to make my stay a great one. Many thanks. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Doris57 5 reviews from this member

 Surrounded by lunar landscape in a truly peaceful spot overlooking the bay. If you want total peace, tranquillity and wildlife this is the place. Coming south Floddabay B&B is on your left and opposite is a newly fenced entrance. If you not greeted upon arrival by Tony then pull off road and knock on B&B. Do not be put off by very steep drive, looks worse than it is and is worth the view. We got our 7mtr MH up fine. Only five pitches, with two prime ones at the front with an unobstructed view to sea. Level pitches(but front two very exposed in windy weather). Bay very good for seals and resident otter. Miles of open space behind and two lakes with marked out walks out and about. Only here two nights so did not try out the golf. EH, Grey waste and fresh water. No loo but had that all on board so not bothered. Picnic benches provided to each pitch. Tony could not be more helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Can order cooked meals delivered to your unit if ordered the night before. (Tony was a chef in previous times and his food is recommended). Only thing I would say is, it was the most expensive stop of the whole Hebrides trip, £20 a night & £5 extra for a front pitch with a view. Suited more to couples. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JLHGJH 2 reviews from this member

 A wonderful site in a unique location. The owner has done everything possible to make this an exceptional experience. The food, brought hot to your van door would grace any high class restaurant and is all locally sourced. The owner has created a private nature reserve, complete with lochs, otters and orchids for campers to explore and enjoy, with the added benefit of free canoe and boat, fishing rods and golf drives. This tiny site(4 or 5 pitches)is a must for anyone exploring the Outer Hebrides and deserves to be a huge success. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lissasviews 7 reviews from this member

 We came here on the recommendation of a fellow motorhome driver at a camp in Lewis. He couldn't speak highly enough of the owners and the view, so I rang up and managed to book us in for that night. We took the scenic route along Golden Road which was stunning and showed us all of the east side of Harris. However, we now realise that you can get to Flodabay quicker and easier by taking the west coast and coming off through Leverborough. Anyway, we were met at the gate by the owner and his son and directed up a steep hill to an amazing spot with a spectacular panorama.

Our big 7 metre van coped fine with the hill. We were astonished at the spot. Looking out over a bay and rugged mountains covered in heather. It was a very grey windy day when we arrived but it was still gorgeous. We instantly decided to stay an extra few days! It is the owner's extra attention to detail that make this place special though. The view comes with 2 private lochs which you can fish in. He brought up his own rod for my husband as it was more suitable for trout fishing. He provided us with oars and life jackets and we were told to take the boat or kayak out when ever we wanted!

A really nice touch is the good quality picnic tables which come with each pitch, and others are dotted around in the mountains to make the most of the views. Hidden behind each pitch is a golf driving range complete with a barrel full of balls and clubs to whack away into the hills! That was surreal fun to do in gale force winds! Also, your dog has free range: there are no sheep in the 30 odd acres so he can run free in the heather and around the loch. It ticked so many boxes for us, included a strong phone signal.

He only allows 5 pitches, infact we had it to ourselves for 2 days. The owner relies heavily on word of mouth as the site is hidden from the road. Water and electric are available but as yet, no loo or shower (though he has some great plans for these!) However, in a self contained van this was not an issue and disposal points are very handily located. On top of all this the owner offers a homecooked meal delivered to your van if ordered the day before. There was so much food in the package and it was lovely.

I was able to watch the seals in the bay and scoured the sea view for dolphins. It was complete tranquillity. My husband spent hours at the loch fishing and simply unwinding. Perfect. We will be back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Clare74 3 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful find! Owner couldn't have been more helpful, meeting us at the gate and driving us up to our choices of pitch. The views were wonderful, the children enjoyed the gold, and if only we had more time we would have taken advantage of the offer of life jackets to go out on one of the 2 lochs within walkable distance of the site, and belonging to the owner. This site is a must to return to when we go back to Harris.

In addition to the site, the owner offers his homemade, if not home grown, produce. Free range eggs, but better still, the most amazing marmalade, jam and much more. The crab and bread was superb, and I only wish we'd bought more of all we did.

I've marked 6/10 for facilities on the basis they are few HOWEVER teh owner will be installing toilets and showers this year and then it would be 10/10.

Customer service - there should be a 12/10 - the owner couldn't do more for us, he was great. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: CamperVanner 1 review from this member

 We were impressed with the location of the site, in an elevated position, overlooking two small bays. We received a very warm welcome, with information about what was available locally. The site has two small lochs and we were told that we were welcome to fish or use canoes whenever we wished. We were given a menu on our arrival, and had the pleasure of a beautiful hot meal, delivered to our van.

We really appreciated the peace and tranquillity of the site. We wanted to be away-from-it-all, as it were, but to have access to shops etc. Within a reasonable distance. For us, this site ticked all the boxes.

Our visit this time was all too brief, but we should very much like to return. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Globetrotter72 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 4 nights with our touring caravan. We had a pitch at the front with beautiful views over the bay, and often ate at the picnic bench in front of our caravan.

The owner gave us a loan of a buoyancy jacket for one of our daughters and we had great fun using his 4 person dinghy on loch 2.

We ordered a surf and turf buffet and Flodabay fish and chips from the owner. Delivered to our door in a basket and tasted as good as they looked.

The site is on the east coast and is very peaceful, not too far to drive to the beautiful beach at Seilibost on the west coast which is shallow and ideal for kids. The Hebrides Art Café is also a must to visit.

The steep road to the pitches is fine for motorhomes, but caravans need to be towed by a 4x4. We will definitely return to this site on our next visit to the beautiful island of Harris. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rasputin1 4 reviews from this member

 Turned up at this site a day early, we had been on the road about 5 days up to this point but it was no trouble and probably a bit lucky that they had space for us even though there were only 3 pitches. 2 off which looked over the dramatic Floodabay which is a sheltered inlet on the east side of Harris. There was another motorhome parked alongside who were Dutch if I remember right and a caravan further down the hill with only views of the surrounding hills. As I said earlier we arrived a day early we were met by the owners daughter who after a little confusion about the dates showed us to the pitch which was loose stone. The entrance to the site was not for the faint hearted, the girl said just take a run at it you will make it and we did with a little wheel spinning here and there but trust me the views are spectacular, it was blowing about force 4 when we got there and the van was rockin a bit but it was well worth it for the views. After an hour or so the owner turned up an ex chef as he put it, a pleasant guy who gave us loads of info including the weather forecast fortunately the wind wasn't to get any harder.

The owner being a chef cooks dinner for his guests on a pre order basis preferably the order goes in the night before, We were running low on supplies as there is not an abundance off shops in the area so I decided to chance my luck, phoned the owner asked him if he could do me and her indoors who is a vegetarian some grub, no sorry he says don't have anything defrosted, oh well I thought get the cheesy pasta out Shona (staple food of campers ) we will just have to slum it, 5 minutes later my phone rings it was the owner , I could do you some baked pollock with chunky chips and a vegetable bake for your wife and that he would deliver it to our van at 7 oclock well it turned up piping hot and deliciouse and he only charged us a tenner for it.

Great host, Great location. Only down side no toilets or showers does have electric hook ups.

Forgot to mention you can hit some balls on the golf tee into the hills or do some fishing in the small Lochs he will even supply the tackle.

To the owner your a Star thanks

Ian & Sho

PS gave it a low score for child friendliness as you are perched on top off a hill, no sheer drops but you would have to keep your eyes on your kids. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Roger C 3 reviews from this member

 A great little site set in the glorious countryside of the east side of South Harris. The proprietor, could not be more helpful, has gone to a lot of trouble to help visitors make the most of his 40 acres and I can confirm the excellence of his meals, delivered to the door. Together with the peace and quiet and wonderful views I regard it real value for money, even for one person. I spent 4 nights there and will certainly return next time I visit Harris. 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Flodabay Farm child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Flodabay Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Flodabay Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Harris      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4474 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement