Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Parkers Farm Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Ashburton > Parkers Farm Holiday Park > Reviews

Parkers Farm Holiday Park
Higher Mead Farm
Ashburton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ13 7LJ
Tel: 01364 654869
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 31/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 112 Reviews
                9/10 from 112 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chrisuk1000 12 reviews from this member

 This is a large site which has very good wash/ toilet/ shower facilities. The shop has plenty to offer and there is a large amount of information available for local attractions at the reception. Ashburton is the local town and has an excellent Tourist Information Centre and local supplies. This is a good base to explore Dartmoor from or visit Plymouth etc.

The entry and exit for the site is a lane outside the site which leads to the main road about 400 yards, this is more annoying than difficult but the real problem is the noise it creates. Considering the expense I was very disappointed to find that I was not on the main site but put into field H which has the hallmark of overflow! This field looks straight over the carriageway so hope you don't get dumped into there, everything is much further away and you are not in the lovely advertised private bits. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: 100acrewood 20 reviews from this member

 Owners are very friendly and made us feel most welcome. A bit close to the A38 - you could here the rd all night and day, but eventually you got used to it, the dog walk was a bit far away and up a very steep incline which when temps are 30 + u dont feel like climbing! The food in the bar was lovely and the pitches of decent size. Showers and toilets fab and couldnt wish for better facilities.

Really enjoyed our stay (if was a little limited on our getting around with the hills) but a must is to try the pub on the way to Newton Abbot (the food is to dye for)! 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 2tents 4 reviews from this member

 We have stayed here on numerous occasions over the last few years. Rhona & her staff are fantastic. It is like our second home. The play areas are well equipped for the children. There is also a pets corner which they love & the farm walks are great. Colouring competitions are also run regularly. Piggys' Trough restaurant serves good value for money meals.
There is a nice bar & children are welcome. Entertainment includes Family Bingo, karaoke, singers.

Toilet & shower facilities are spotless & there is always hot water & plenty of washing up sinks. A freezer is available for ice blocks. The shop is well equipped. EHU is available on the terraces.

The quaint town of Ashburton is close by & beautiful Dartmoor is there for exploring. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Com_lag 3 reviews from this member

 Huge level pitches, friendly staff, and good play areas for kids made this a nice stay. Unfortunately the showers were scalding hot and despite telling staff it didn't seem to make much difference. Also the site overlooks the A38 and the road noise bounces up the valley. By the third night we were used to it (just), but if you're after the tranquility of the countryside you may want to look elsewhere. 


Reviewer: Ninauk 2 reviews from this member

 July 2005
We Visited Parkers Farm for a quick weekend to try out our new caravan. On Arrival at 7.30 pm we were greeted by a friendly face and shown to our pitch. All the pitches are level and have a great view. The toliet / shower block was one of the cleanest we have seen no matter what time of the day we visited them. All the staff had a friendly smile and very helpful. The dogwalk is a bit of a climb up the hill but you can drive to the top where there is a bench to sit on, the walk to the top is worth it as sitting on the bench and taking in the views is wonderful. The shop store had the essentials and the takeaway was very good. We will be going back again to this site next year if not before. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Bramley01 5 reviews from this member

 May 2005
We didn't get off to the best of starts as they had lost our reservation but luckily they had space for us to stay. We stayed in a tent with no electric hook up. We were in a field with no proper pitches, however, this meant we had as much room as we liked and it felt a little more relaxed.

Park is very clean including the toilet and shopwer block withcih was a little small. Only three showers, three sinks and three toilets. Amazingly we never needed to queue and there was plenty of hot water and the showers were really good.

Loads of animals around to see and everyone there was really friendly. We would definately go back again. 


Reviewer: Cbell108 2 reviews from this member

 June 2005
Good Site. Toilet facilities exceptionally clean & maintained regularly. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Pitches are level and in very good condition & a very good size. Plenty for the children to do, including the not to be missed farm walk. Various farm animals around the site most of which are friendly. Bar & restaurant & shop available, prices not to steep. Located just a couple of miles of the moors & with easy access to the surrounding area.  


Reviewer: Paulwaddilove 2 reviews from this member

 August 2004
Very nice little site this one & friendly.
But, the toilet blocks x 2 are far too small, consequently they get dirty very quickly at this time of year.
It is also not for people who may suffer with any heart problems, the hill is very steep!
Having said that I would certainly use this site again, the electric hook-up for the tent pitches is a very useful extra. 


Reviewer: gjpitt 9 reviews from this member

 July 2004
Disabled Accessibility: 95%

This is a well laid out site on a hillside. Don't let that put you off though as this is definately one of the more accessible sites we have been to. The site is terraced so each pitch has good view across the surrounding countryside. The lanes are mainly tarmaced so making it easy for wheelchairs.

All the pitches we could see were level and very well kept.

There is a modern, well-equipped toilet block, with toilet, shower and washing facilities (Key Required) in one room and accessible washing-up area. All these facilities were exceptionally clean and fresh, a real pleasure to visit.

The Laundry room is currently not accessible but there are plans in hand to remedy this for 2005.

The shop will also be upgraded for next year but there is still wheelchair access through the rear storeroom.

There is a games room that is also accessible for the disabled if you can negotiate a small slightly steep hill.

There is a restaurant onsite, again accessible, not crowded and with good food.

We stayed on a wet and windy weekend and the site was almost full. We found the site very, very clean and tidy. There were plenty of friendly and helpful staff around. Highly Recommended. 


Reviewer: emgin 13 reviews from this member

 Sept 2003
Apart from the fact that Parkers Farm is not far down a lane from the main A38 to Plymouth and a little noisy at times, I cannot fault this campsite. Thanks to a tiered system, there are not too many tents and/or caravans positioned next to each other which helps to keep the site peaceful.

The shower and toilet blocks are fine - clean with plenty of hot water and free showers (which is always a good thing - I do not appreciate having to pay extra to have a shower). Onsite is a bar and restaurant where I had one of the best steaks ever! Go early in the evening though if the lamb and mint pudding with mint gravy is on the specials board coz it sells out fast!

The staff are friendly and are there to help, and all in all, everything was heavenly. There are farm walks for the kids (and adults too I'm sure if you want to go) and plenty of farmyard wildlife wandering round freely (harmless by the way), including a very pretty peacock and a not so pretty peahen. She had chicks with her last year which I assume are now well on their way to being adults. A lovely site that I would recommend to all. We are going to Wales this year otherwise nothing would stop us going back. Many thanks to all at Parker's Farm. 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Parkers Farm Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Parkers Farm Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Parkers Farm Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashburton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4001 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement