Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Riverside Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Ely > Riverside Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Riverside Caravan & Camping Park
21 New River Bank
Littleport
Ely
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
CB7 4TA
Tel: 01353 860255  or  07813 523960
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 49
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 118 Reviews
                8/10 from 118 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  118 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: January 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SimesandNicky 14 reviews from this member

A pretty little site, nestling across the main road from the large dyke along the river.

We arrived on a bright fresh January afternoon, but it had rained for a few days before (and snowed a couple of times while we were there) and the ground on the site was very soft.

There is a winding gravel roadway around the site but I was glad we had a Range Rover when we pulled the van onto the grass - the 4 wheel drive allowed us to position the van with a minimum of damage to the well kept grass - in fact it's so well kept it's almost a lawn!

The facilities were clean and tidy - and warm inside despite it being freezing outside and the site owners were cheery and helpful.

The town of Littleport boasts a brilliant Indian Restaurant - and not too much else - like most small fenland towns it looks a bit run down and untidy

Ely is only about 5 miles or so away is lovely. A good selections of restaurants and pubs to suit any pocket and you can see the cathedral (the Ship of the Fens) for miles as you approach. Parking is good and there is a pretty little marina area with a good pub and restaurant too.

The day we went they were celebrating the fact that the cathedral had been open to the public for 900 years - sadly they closed it for the day to celebrate! :-) So we never got to go inside - but I am told it's well worth it. Cromwells house is also in Ely.

Back to the site for the evening - I can say that there is little light pollution (it's very dark) and beautiful starry skies were there for us to enjoy.

All around the edges of the site were permanently placed tourers and a few static vans too - some used as holiday homes and some were being lived in full time - mostly by men working in the area - but no problem with that - they were off out and away each morning without disturbing us.

A very quiet and peaceful site, but having visited the area and had a look round I probably won't go again - but I would recommend it to anyone who wants to visit Ely.

A nice enough site - no children allowed.

Date of Visit: November 2008 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: THE REAL FATBOY 10 reviews from this member

Just spent two nights here and can't fault it. £12-50p per night including electric hook-up, the owners are friendly and very helpful. The site was tidy and well cared for, and the toilets / showerblock were clean and tidy. It is obvious that the owners take great pride in their site. The black horse pub serves good food and is only five minutes walk away. Littleport has a good range of shops and services. Ely is five miles away and has a few decent pubs, the cathederal is a must for a visit! Will definitely visit Riverside again in the near future.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tandem42 2 reviews from this member

An absolute gem of a site catering for all types of units. Lovely landscaping, spotless facilities and very helpful owners. Easy cycling with Ely only 6 miles away and great walks along the riverbanks watching the narrowboats and wildlife. Only a short walk to the local pub and Littleport which has all the essentials.

This site is on our list for return visits and we highly recommend it for anyone looking for a relaxing and peaceful break.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Black-cats 4 reviews from this member

Positives: The campsite was very pretty and well maintained. The toilets and showers were cleaned every day. The fridge was very handy. The absolute highlight of the trip was an Indian takeaway (which was delivered to the site as hot as if we had been in a restaurant) from Curry Choice in Littleport. The menu was fantastic and the food to die for (the burgundy painted takeaway near the free car park in Littleport). We recommended them to fellow campers the next night and they also had a wonderful meal.

Negatives: What really surprised us was the road that ran between the site and the river which was like a race track but is not mentioned at all on the website. The noise was very noticeable and locals told us there were often fatalities. Our dogs could not be exercised off the lead on the riverbank as the road was too busy and right next to the water the undergrowth was uncut.

The owner's dog (and chickens) ran free on the site and visited our tent often, which wound our dogs up, as they had to be on a lead. We returned from a shopping trip to find the owners and their friends peering into our tent and they did not even acknowledge us when we pulled up - where we come from that is not good campsite etiquette. We won't go back, the road was horrid and apart from Jodi - the other owners were unfriendly. We might have been more welcome had we belonged to the static owners ‘club’.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: J+G01 4 reviews from this member

Where do we start, this site is brilliant, it was our first time using a caravan, and the owners made sure we were ok, and really were helpful.

The site was beautiful and clean, and so so peaceful, it was absolutely wonderful, chickens roaming freely and the whole site could not be faulted.

There was a good pub just along the river which was recommended by the owners of the site, and they were right, it was lovely to sit and enjoy a meal in there.

Beautiful walks, would definitely recommend this site to anyone, we will definitely go back for longer next time, a fantastic experience.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Meganb 1 review from this member

I don't go camping very often, as I prefer the luxury of home comforts, but it was a family camping trip so I went along.

As we pulled into the Riverside Caravan & camping park I was really surprised at how lovely it was (my idea of camping is a muddy field and rain) instead it was beautiful grounds, with lovely green grass and lots of space in between each tent and caravan.

We were met by the camp manager Jodi and her dog, who were both lovely and polite. They showed us to our spot and informed us of where all the local ammenities were as well as reccommending the best places to eat, and things to do (which we did try out, the fish and chip shop she reccommended was brilliant)!

I spent 2 nights camping here and could not complain about one thing, the toilets and showers were clean and spacious. The fridge that was provided for customers use was very close and a big bonus as being an ammature camper I forgot to pack a cool bag.

Also the site is right next to the great ouse river which was beautiful to walk up and down.

All in all, I found this campsite to be beautiful, have great facilities and the manager (and her dog) to be extrememly friendly and helpful. I will defo be staying again (maybe for my second camping venture) and will also be recommending it to all my friends!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DEBDOYLE 5 reviews from this member

Quiet little site, possibly more geared for caravans though. Facilities really good and clean, even got fridge / freezer where you can store stuff. Nice walks along the river nearby and into Littleport.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Derekdnl 1 review from this member

Very good clean site plenty of space and very well laid out. The shower block is small but clean and has everthing you need.
Fishing 20 yards away is very good and Littleport is a very nice small village. All round 8 out of 10 ps owners very helpful

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Juliereaduk 3 reviews from this member

Excellent, clean and tidy, adults only site. Dog friendly, chickens roaming free and superb grounds. Owners very helpful. Great walks along the riverside and an enjoyable Sunday lunch in the local pub a few minutes walk away. A short drive takes you into Ely to visit the cathedral, museums and shops, also pubs along the riverbank. Definitely visiting again another weekend.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mattlock79 1 review from this member

During 2 great visits to Riverside I have found the staff there very friendly and welcoming and the price very reasonable. The site is maintained to a very high standard with everything you will ever need. Clean toilets and showers being the most important, plus quiet surroundings and the river Ouse offering some great fishing within 50 meters of the campsite.

There is a pub a short 5 minute walk from Riverside and lots of shops and restaurants either in Littleport or just round the corner in Ely

I will definitely visit Riverside again and recommend it to anyone looking for a clean and friendly family run campsite.

Previous     118 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3142 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019