Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Widdicombe Farm Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Torquay > Widdicombe Farm Touring Park Reviews

Widdicombe Farm Touring Park
The Ring Road
Compton
Torquay
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ3 1ST
Tel: 01803 558325
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: Mid March To End October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 116 Reviews
                8/10 from 116 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  116 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2005 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 552 reviews from this member

 A large well run site with a range of great facilities. The site accepts children, but there is an adults only section which was an excellent idea. On site is a good takeaway, well stocked shop and a good pub selling a range of drinks. Facilities were spotless and staff very helful.

The beach, at Paignton, is quite a distance away (7 miles), but is worth the travel. If you are planning to check out the local nightlife make sure a few club together for taxis as they are very very pricey. For instance, we paid £20 from Paignton to the site and this was in mid afternoon.

Would have no hesitation in using this site again if in the area. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Newport Tourer 4 reviews from this member

 We visited over May bank holiday and had a pitch on the family field as we have two children but quite a way up the hill.  The ground was especially soft so the pegs had to be checked a couple of times a day.  Granted it had been raining quite a lot.
 
The toilets were spotless with sponges & mops so you can tidy up after yourself. 
 
We went to the bar area on on two nights and it was quite full especially in the family area. 
 
All in all a lovely site and we would visit again 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jack633 1 review from this member

 A very well run site in an excellent location. Central to both Torquay and Paignton. We booked last minute and although just the two of us we wouldn't normally request an adult only pitch but it was lovely and peaceful. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. The site rules say to pitch caravan and awning and car on hardstanding but this was not possible on our pitch and as we were on an end site this caused a few problems as we had to move the car when other caravans were arriving and leaving our terrace.
The only downside of the park is the manner in which the signs around the site are worded with constant threats of visitors being evicted from the site if they disobey even the slightest rules. Surely these could be made more visitor friendly? After all people come to the site on holiday.   However I would definitely recommend this site to couples looking for a peaceful holiday. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Katiekins 1 review from this member

 Just come back from a week at Widdicombe Farm.  On arrival Reception staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful.  The shower block and washing facilities were spotless.  Good bar with great entertainment, drinks reasonably priced.  Small shop which was extremely overpriced.  Good play area for children, however, at 8.30pm they are ordered off.  The site is situated on a very busy ring road (dual carriageway) so you can only go one way no matter where you want to get to, and we found we were stuck in traffic queues everytime we went out.
 
Although this site does advertise as being a family site we found that the staff were quite down  on the kids in general and seem to have tarred all kids with the same brush and were quite rude on occasion.
 
All in all we'd give it 6 out of 10 and would not return. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brockies 1 review from this member

 Wow, this site has the cleanest facilities in Britain. The toilet and shower blocks were amazingly clean, sponges and mopes were left so you could wipe round after you had finished and they were checked often. The laundry room was of the same standard and free use of the freezer to freeze blocks and other things were good. The restaurant food looked really nice although we did not try this. The camp shop however was very disappointing they had very little choice of things and what they did have was very very overpriced. Also I have never know a shop close between 11am and 4:30 so if you are at the site during the day you cannot get even an ice cream.

The site was lovely set out and the dog exercise field was great but sadly they had no children's exercise field. The playground was brilliant for children up to 14 years old but there is no where for children to have a little kick around with a soft ball. We know that ball games are not good around the vans and tents which is why they are not allowed but a small grassed area would be of benefit as all the families I spoke to said they would have liked the children to be able to go and play with a ball.

Overall the site itself is lovely. Above all it was a good experience and I would visit again but armed with everything I needed to cook and wash up and possibly some ear plugs if I was going during the week as the traffic noise on the ring road is very noisy when you are in the family fields. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Camerashyman 2 reviews from this member

 An excellent site which offers good value for money in terms of pitch fees.
Staff friendly and helpful and the place was spotless.
We stayed on a fully serviced pitch which we found excellent value for money.
We didn't use the bar because of our dog, but the price list was on the door and it was very reasonable.
The adults only areas were well away from the areas for families with children.
The downside - very little really. The prices of caravan accessories in the shop were a joke.
You would never get bored with a lack of something to read; the places is FULL of signs, but not a bad thing really.
The only other downside was (and the site could be in no way responsible for this) was traffic congestion.
Turning left out of the site and over one roundabout frequently met with a queue; I travelled half a mile in three quarters of an hour on one occasion.
Going in the opposite direction on the same road brings you to a big set of traffic lights (left for Paignton and right for Totnes); this also gets very busy.
I spoke to a few locals and they said it is nearly always bad.
My only advice here is to use a satnav and use the lanes.
I would recommend this site to anyone; especially those who want an adults only site. 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Milkybar 10 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from camping at Widdicombe Farm & what a fantastic site it is. The staff are very friendly & accomodating, facilities are 1st class & everywhere is spotlessly clean. We were impressed from the minute we got on the site till leaving 10 days later. The childrens park is excellent, bar prices reasonable, entertainment is top rate, restaurant is small but popular serving good meals especially breakfast, takaway service is available as well. The park is split into family & adult only pitches & this is a great idea for both parties. Well situtated for touring around Torbay & surrounding area. Thanks again for a wonderful time - WE WILL BE BACK 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Dangilbank 2 reviews from this member

 We had a very pleasant week in August at Widdicombe Farm. At first all the signs telling you what you can and can't do are a bit overwhelming but they do actually make for a very well run and clean site. We had a good pitch and the showers and toilets were in abundance at all times and also spotless. Excellent turn on the Monday night in the Hayloft bar which as advertised does have reasonable prices. Overall a great site. 


Reviewer: BrianR_2 1 review from this member

 September 2004
Great site. We visited this site late last year with only a phone call before we travelled but I would advise a little more notice than we gave. We were greeted by very friendly staff that arranged a very nice level pitch for our tent. We requested a quiet pitch and this was exactly what we got. Clean and pleasant shower and toilet facilities, we couldn't fault them.

Takeaway meals were avaiable at reasonable prices and the famous breakfast was a bargain and ennough to fill us for the day. Close to Torquay for ell the visits that we wanted. Evenings were filed well by the fantastic entertainment in the bar/club. All in all a good site run by friendly owners and carefully picked staff. I will certainly be going again. 


Reviewer: Julie h 9 reviews from this member

 August 2004
Very nice site, the showers and toilets were lovely, the ground was a bit muddy when we got there and there was a lot of red clay underfoot and it doesn't easily wash out of clothes or shoes.
There was entertainment on most nights at the club, there is a freezer for your ice packs and a nice laundry.
The only downside we thought was that there isn't a bus route very close by if like us you want to leave the car and go out for a few beers your taxi will cost you 25qiud return to torquay.
You are asked not to put up windbreakers unless you are sitting out which is a bit of a pain banging them in every day and you have to lift your groundsheet every day, if you are camped in a tent for longer than a week then you are asked to move it to let the grass breath.
We were in the adult only section which was good for us, but there is a family area with a playground for the kids.
We wont be going back here because it's a good walk to find amenities if you dont want to drive a lot on holiday. 


Previous     116 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Widdicombe Farm Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Widdicombe Farm Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Widdicombe Farm Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Torquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4648 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement