Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wild Rose Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Appleby In Westmorland > Wild Rose Park Reviews

Wild Rose Park
Ormside
(lake District)
Appleby In Westmorland
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA16 6EJ
Tel: 01768 351077
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 280
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 114 Reviews
                8/10 from 114 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Reviewer: Hornetman 1 review from this member

 August 2004
I'm a newcomer to UKCampsites, but not to Wild Rose - my son won't hear of staying anywhere else when we're up in that area. We've done the lot - motorbike with dome tent, car with frame tent, trailer tent and touring caravan, and even stayed in one of the statics (which are not for rent, all privately owned). H

ave to agree whole-heartedly with every comment, brilliant facilities,bvery well kept, great for families and dog-owners. Plenty of tourist attractions within easy reach.When I asked my son where we should christen Charlie (our challenger) without hesitation he said Wild Rose! Five-star, highly recommended! 


Reviewer: Frankjb 10 reviews from this member

 May 2005
Just returned from a Whit Bank Holiday Weekend at Wild Rose. Expected a full & teeming noisy camp. Lots of people, and happy young children, but in fact well spaced & landscaped plots together with fantastic views (Cross Fell from sitting at your caravan window!)and abundant wildlife & trees made this a most relaxing break indeed. A great site & the best we have been on.

Staff very helpful, seperate toilet & shower blocks which were spotless all the time meant for a stress free holiday. To put it in context, the main shower block had 8 sperate cubicles. I never saw more than 3 of them used at any time when I used them which was over Sat, Sun & Monday on a glorious & full) bank holiday. OK a "2 returnable deposit was needed. So what - they were spotless!

Swimming pool was well used by ther children, the restaurant & takeaway & "Mace" shop were very good. Cheese & chips sounds odd, but v. tasty! Not sure about ther pizza though..

Shop is good value & has everything from canvas glue & water pumps to fresh bread, eggs & ice cream.

A little pricey, 18.60 + 2 for a child +2 for hookup in high season. but you get what you pay for. Peace of mind & peace & quiet. There were no loud parties or music that we could hear even though the barbies were all out late into the evening. 


Reviewer: Aberlake 2 reviews from this member

 April 2005
Was here week after Easter. As stated by other reviewers can't really fault site at all. Excellent facilities. Restaurant and takeaway were on limited hours on non-peak days but food was great, if simple. Well priced, fish & chips to take away 4, 1/2 chicken & chips 5. Beans, curry sauce, peas etc 50p a tub (large!). Restaurant sirloin steak (8oz) was 10 ish.

On site shop has everything you could ever need (we bought a TV aerial and alcohol as well as food!) and extremely well priced. Most accessories were cheaper than in most caravan accessory shops. Food / drink prices exactly the same as any local Mace. Nice to see a site shop not over-priced. Staff extremely helpful.

Toilet blocks were superb, even had piped radio 2. 


Reviewer: Jma28 7 reviews from this member

 August 2004
Great site, only problem we had while we were there like so many others this month was the rain!
We stayed on Braithwaites Fold, ths size of the pitch was more than adequate but a little tricky to put the van on (backwards uphill isn't easy when getting on to the plot!).
There was a shower block with toilets, private wash basins with mirrors, a baby bath and hair washing sink. Around the back are about 8 sinks for washing up after meals, which was great. The facilities in this area are extremely busy but spotlessly clean nevertheless. At one time on site there were some repair works going on in the ladies facilities which meant there were only 2 showers and the electric sockets didn't work. This is obviously down to upgrade/upkeep of the immaculate facilities offered. If you go to reception you can get a key for the main toilet/shower block near reception (2 deposit only) and there are twice as many shower's and queues are not as long (for the impatient like me!)
The shop is well stocked and they sell alsorts of accessories for the caravanner/tent owner which I thought was great!
The pool was always very popular (Yes even in the rain) although it was cold (supposed to be heated???).
Reception have a stock of poopa scoops for the squeamish dog owner (like my husband) or you can get bags from the dog waste bin at the bottom of the site, I thought this was a great gesture.
There is a river just down the lane which we spent hours in trying to catch the small fish, the nets can be purchased from the shop at just 99p.
Over all, although they couldn't do anything about the Great British weather, we enjoyed our time at this site and would recommend it to any one. Enjoy :) 


Reviewer: Mandy123 2 reviews from this member

 July 2004
Just one word EXCELLENT.
Very clean especially the toilets/showers, but could do with some more in donkeys nest.
Very good takeaway and shop.
Just very good facilities all round.
Well worth paying that little bit extra.
All staff very friendly and helpfull. Do I need to go on.
 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Pete67 4 reviews from this member

 July 2002
We had a wonderful time at Wild Rose. It was one of the best run campsites we've been to. The children had a great time and we didn't leave the site very much. The play areas are great as are the swimming pools (they are cold). The shop is very well stocked and reasonably priced, so no need to stock up at a supermarket. I'd go there again. The children loved the rabbits and hedgehogs at Donkeys Nest, especially the hedgehog that came into our tent. 


Reviewer: Kimnchris 3 reviews from this member

 July 2004
6 berth caravan, 4 children and 2 adults. Fabulous campsite, well laid out. Reception open until 9.30pm. Take away and cafe on site. Food excellent. Shop on site has just about everything you would need. Three parks for the children catering for a variety of ages. Outdoor swimming pool / paddling pool - cold but the children still wanted to be in it!

Super pitch, perfectly level and plenty of space to manouvre.
Check out time 12pm but there was no problem about staying on a little longer (3pm).
Even though it rained it did not spoil our visit. We will be back. 


Reviewer: Steve Henderson 3 reviews from this member

 August 2003
I can honestly say this is a great site..
The tent pitches in the "Donkeys nest" are massive (well worth it), we had our tent (vango tbs 800 dlx), our big gazebo and trailer with car and all surrounded with our windbreaks.
Staff more than helpfull. Take away is mint, good value, try the 1/2 chicken and chips.
Showers/toilets nipping clean and the swimming pool is just the job to cool off.
The dog area is well planned, drinking water/poop bags on site.
The shop sells anything at a fair price and there is a local pub just down the lane, pleasant and good meals.
10/10 I will be back ! 


Reviewer: Elizabeth Jones 3 reviews from this member

 14th August 2003
This site is superb. It is very clean and well kept. It has lots of flowers everywhere and really is very hard to find fault with. There are plenty facilites and a well stocked shop.
The only negative things about it are there didn't seem enough showers and some of the pitches are on a slope. You can choose your own pitch when you arrive as when you book you dont get allocated a pitch, but if the park is busy then you may have to put up with one on a slope.
I would certainly visit again. 


Reviewer: Mad Mitch 1 review from this member

 August 2003
Visited August 2003, with Khyam RigiDome Ultimate, during heat wave with two children 13 & 11.

Strengths
Good site, clean and reasonably well catered for. Cheerful staff. Clippings removed when site mown:-) Good location for Lakes & Pennines.

Weaknesses
Too few showers; do not believe pool is heated; primarily a static caravan site - tents are sited in "Donkey's nest", the worst (noisiest) part of the site next to the road with significant heavy and agricultural traffic.

If eating out, local pubs poor - look further afield, e.g. Royal Oak, Bongate, other side of Appleby which is v.g. 


Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wild Rose Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Wild Rose Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wild Rose Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wild Rose Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Appleby In Westmorland      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6265 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement