Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoburne Cotswold

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Cirencester > Hoburne Cotswold Reviews

Hoburne Cotswold
Broadway Lane
South Cerney
Cirencester
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL7 5UQ
Tel: 01285 860216  or  01425 282358
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Static Caravans Only
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 141 Reviews
                8/10 from 141 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  141 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Floatie 14 reviews from this member

 Just returned from five nights at Hoburne Cotswold, on first impressions I didn't like it, very large site. Statics's, lodges, tourers and campers but you should never judge a book by it's cover!
 
Once settled onto our pitch A30, little road noise could be heard from our pitch and you are down in the tent field. Some superior pitches surround the edge of the 'A' field better pitches in 'B' field and better showers & toilets too, the block nearest to our pitch was very poor.
 
We did enjoy ourselves, the kids (8 & 4) liked the free indoor swimming pool, not to deep (4ft) and a small water slide that even my husband enjoyed!
 
Kids club with Sammy Seahorse every morning & early evening our children really enjoyed this and can't wait to go again. We are going back in half term but this time in 'B' field.
 
The staff and entertainment team were excellent and the food in the restaurant was good - large portions not too expensive.  


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cluedocat 3 reviews from this member

 The site is in a lovely location.  The toilet/shower blocks were very clean and there was plenty of room in the shower cubicles. 
 
We do not have children and felt that unfortunately they struggled to cater for adults.  Everything involved children which is fine if you have some but quite tedious after a while if you haven't!
 
Some of the 'adult' entertainment quite good but we wished that they had enough material for people on a two week holiday as we found that we saw a couple of shows more than once.
 
We found the staff helpful and the prices reasonable for food and drink.
 
They also had a fishing lake on site which left a lot to be desired.  The lake was split into two - one side for pedal boats and one side for fishing.  The boat side was free from weed but the fishing side was full of weed to an extent that the fish were getting stuck in amongst it and my husband, who likes to fish, found it pointless to even try.
 
The only other thing we found, which agrees with a previous review, is that we probably wouldn't go to the Cotswolds again as there was not a huge amount to do.  Cirencester is nice but very small, Gloucester is ok but beyond the catherdral it's a bit scruffy, Swindon was ok but we did go to Oxford and that was fabulous. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camper62 2 reviews from this member

 Best site ever! all the staff was very useful and helpful. The on site wardens helped us move pitch as our pitch was too wet. The facilities are top, they have a great club with top acts such as Phill Blackmore, far better than anything else, indoor swimming pool with a large flume, outdoor pool with a small toddler area and outdoor seating, fishing pool with plenty in as I was told by a fisherman (201bs carp)

Pedelo pool wich was very cheap at only £2.50, sammys shack a children's bar with character themed items for sale as well as milkshakes and slush puppies, a restaurant / pub with sky sports big tv and mini bowling, costcutter and a laundrette.
The toilets were refurbished with individual wash basin, towel hook, lamp and mirror.

Not much in the local area a few water sport activities and Cirencester nearby but not much there so no point in going.
The site was good overall and plenty of things to do. A bit expensive but worth the money for a weekend away. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul 35 1 review from this member

 We spent 2 weeks here at the beginning of August (2 adults and a 7 yr old). Easy to get to and accessible. They had no problems with their water, even though it was a few miles from the floods. The facilities are good, nice clean showers and toilets with plenty of hot water.
The clubhouse was ok, a tad expensive for beer though and you need to get there early to get a decent seat for the evening entertainment. There is a children's park that is fenced and a football and tennis court. 
The staff were friendly, but some of the male lifeguard's in the pool, seemed to be more interested in looking at the female holiday makers and come across as slightly immature.
Out and about, you have Swindon, Gloucester, Cheltenham and the Cotswold water park, all within easy reach. I don't think that I would go there again, not because of the facilities, but once you've exhausted what is out and about, there's not much to do. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Evo747 3 reviews from this member

 Visited this site along with another family in another caravan. Chose the site because they have four young boys and we wanted something with facilities for them in case the weather wasn't particularly good; it wasn't!
 
We wouldn't normally pick bigger 'family parks' but this was a delight and struck a good balance between having too many or too few facilities. The kids enjoyed the entertainment, the indoor fun pool and the football and tennis courts. However, they do come at a price - its not the cheapest site for a pitch.
 
The restaurant in the club-house is very good; portions are large and reasonably good value but drinks are little more expensive than a pub.
 
There is a shop on site. Costcutter is not the most appropriate name though - its expensive so its worth the four mile trip into Cirencester to one of the big supermarkets.
 
Superior pitches are only superior in that they have a gravelled area for awnings adjoining the pitch.  Taps are scattered all over the park - usually no more than two or three pithces away.
 
We were sited near one of the newer toilet blocks and it was spotless. The older blocks are just as clean but obvioulsly not as fresh.
 
The staff were very friendly and helpful and helped shuffle pitches around after we decided at check in to extend by one day. However, on departure day they were very keen to have us away at the prescribed time of 1000 and the 'wardens' urged us on at 1010 despite very close to finishing the packing up. We felt they could have cut us a little slack, if onyl a few minutes. We did investigate the possibility of an extension but at £16 for a late check out we felt it wasn't worth it.
 
Overall, an enjoyable visit and we would consider another visit there.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Max010103 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 2 week holiday. This was a fabulous site. Everything about it was great. The indoor and outdoor pool were brilliant and very clean plenty of friendly staff. The pub/resturant were also good with entertainment for both children and adults. The sammy seahorse club was also good for the kids. The toliets that we used were fantastic always very clean and well kept (there were 2 blocks which had been refurbished and 2 hadn,t but sure they will be done soon) and probably one the best facilities I have seen and used. the park itself was also very well kept. overall this site was brilliant, the holiday on the whole was great and will sure to return. 10/10 for this site  


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Csimcox 7 reviews from this member

 Went the week of the torrential rains and floods. The site was well drained (thank goodness) and tent users luckily had plenty of room to swap pitches if theirs became too wet. (I suspect people never turned up due to forecast)

Our party had two mums, 4 kids under 7 and a baby! If you want a campsite that will keep your own brood happy and active during bad weather choose hoburne! One day we were in the complex from 9am till 9pm and they used the bowling alley, tv area, indoor playarea and indoor swimming pool, with entertainment during early afternoon and evening!

The food was ok - the baguettes and curly fries a winner at lunchtime from the kiosk outlet near swimming pool, restaurant a tad expensive.

The only down side was the customer service levels. (We nicknamed them the Grumpy face brigade) Some customers waited up to 2 hours for a cooked breakfast, and some staff didn't wear caps to hold hair back whilst cooking. (but a word changed this!).they were only probably as miserable as us regarding the weather! 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sarahh56 52 reviews from this member

 Wonderful site!  Very friendly staff, great pool, and the washroom facilities are the best we have ever seen!
 
The grounds were well maintained and there are plenty of staff around to help with any questions that you may have, the pool, sauna, steam room and soft play facilities are free and there is no time limit!
 
Keep it up Hoburne! 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jackie30 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for long weekend. It was very clean and well maintained. The toilets and showers whatever time of day were always clean as was the water and chemical toilet disposal area. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly going out of their way to help with enquiries. It was our first visit and were worried because of size it would be noisy but it was pleasantly peaceful. The club house and entertainment was very good. Only two things let it down for us was the very slow service in the takeaway and the fact that we couldn't take our dog. If they start to allow touring vans to be able to bring dogs we will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Duncanf 6 reviews from this member

 Our second trip to Hoburne Cotswolds in as many years. Excellent site, plenty of space on the pitch and plenty of space for the kids too.
Two of the four toilet blocks have been refurbished to a very high standard over the winter - the other two are due next winter, although they're still fine with good warm showers. Everything is spotlessly clean and rubbish bins emptied several times each day.
The site was very busy over the Bank Holiday, as you'd expect, but check-in was quick and noise levels didn't keep any of us awake. Ducks and rabbits were very frequent visitors to our pitch and the 9 young cygnets  in the nearby swan nest were well worth seeing.
Kids loved the evening entertainment - the club is very popular although we avoided eating there due to a terrible meal last year.
With *so* much to do nearby we didn't even manage to get in the excellent pool this time, but we will definitely be back. 


Previous     141 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hoburne Cotswold child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Hoburne Cotswold have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoburne Cotswold?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoburne Cotswold dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cirencester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4563 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement