Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Stonehenge Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Site Reviews

Stonehenge Touring Park
Orcheston
Salisbury
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SP3 4SH
Tel: 01980 620304
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 112 Reviews
                8/10 from 112 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Reviewer: Pegtent 8 reviews from this member

August 2005
I stayed here 3 nights, Tuesday to Thursday. Very easy to find, although I don't envy you caravan owners down those narrow lanes, with lovely clean toilets, good shop and very nice and helpful owners. However, my first pitch was too close to the "balancing beams playground", with a rubbish bin right behind and next to the path to the other tents. Kids playing football also hit my table and tent a few times. One or two of these I could have coped with, until a dog owner walked her dog off the lead past my tent, let it it wee on my car while I said hallo and my dog barked, and then on her way back let it come right up to my tent, setting my dog off and tables flying!!! So the next morning I moved pitch to a recently vacated one behind me, without asking (sorry), and then told the owners. They took it very well. Learnt from this to think about my pitch a bit more carefully next time.

It was very busy, with a lot of overnighters, but was not noisy at all. I did find it a bit cramped, although the tents were a nice distance apart, and as it was quiet got worried with my kids laughing and giggling in bed at 10.00. Think it would be a fantastic site when quieter, so near all sights, Longleat, Stonehenge etc! Would return, but not in high season!

Reviewer: Airbus321 1 review from this member

July 2005
This is a very friendly rural campsite. It was busy when we visited, but even so did not feel crowded. The partly wooded site is level with concrete pitches for caravan / mhomes. Obviously popular for visitors to Stonehenge and Salisbury, there was a truly international feel to the site, we counted at least 5 different nationalities visiting.

The staff were helpful with info about the local amenities and the small shop as most of the basics that you might need. 2 nice pubs are exactly 1 mile from the site. Shower block and hot water are clean and adequete for the site. There is a small adventure playground on site and enough space in the middle of the field for ball games. Overall we really liked this site and would visit it again.

Rating:
Reviewer: AndyMP 5 reviews from this member

June 2005
Small and friendly site. Toilet facilities basic but clean. Shop stocks all that you need. Surrounding countryside peaceful with plenty of places for kids to play. Can get busy.

Some residential caravans on site.......


Reviewer: Bacon Sandwich 6 reviews from this member

March 2005
Nice, quiet, level site situated in Orcheston village. Most touring pitches are paved with flagstones so getting level is simple. No bar or restaurant on the site, but there are three pubs serving meals in nearby Shrewton.

Easy to find with signs from the main road. Small shop but well stocked with just about everything you need.

Shower block and toilets are very clean and tidy. Services are spread around at different locations on the campsite so you have to go to one place to get fresh water, and another to empty your waste water, so it would be nice if they were all together.

TV reception is very poor. No one on the site could get a good picture when we were there.

Stonehenge is about 5 miles away. Avebury and Silbury Hill are 15 miles, as is Devizes so you are ideally located to explore the whole of Wiltshire.

Plan your stay well in advance! You are right on the edge of Salisbury Plain and the nearest Army firing range is only half a mile away so it could get noisy!!

Playground for the kids in the middle of the park. Dogs are allowed on the site, but you have to leave the park when the call of nature needs to be answered. This can be a real pain last thing at night. A dog walking area would be nice.

We had a very enjoyable stay at the site and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing break.

Reviewer: Adamcraigscott 38 reviews from this member

August 2004
Nice little site close to stonehenge. Well stocked shop. Owners very friendly. toilet block basic but clean, handy stop over for the west country.Gets quite busy so would book in advance.Quite a narrow approach road not easy to see in the dark. 3 pubs in next village 2 selling food.

Reviewer: Mick-e 2 reviews from this member

August 2004
Smallish pleasant site. People friendly and helpful on arrival. Delivered hot bread to van next morning. No play area but small climbing frames for kids. Nice views over open country side. Need to book, gets busy late evening(Aug)some hard parking areas for motor homes. Not many electric hook ups. Small shop which serves village, quite good. Toilets / showers small(seen better days but clean)

Reviewer: Scott1 2 reviews from this member

1st May 2004
This is a picturesque site very close to Stonehenge (free entry to National Trust & English Heritage members).

Pitches were on an ad hoc basis, which is OK as you could choose how close to the play area you want to be. The play area is really for young children. There are no swings, just balancing beams.

This Bank Holiday is the regular event for the Panther motorcycle owners club. Do not be afraid, they are friendly and have children too.

Owners are very helpful and shop is well stocked at reasonable prices. The showerblock is starting to show it's age however, there was plenty of hot water.

The B&B next door is owned by the campsite owners family and food is excellent.

Longleat house only 45 minutes away, so this site is a good base for a weekend away.

We had a great time.

Reviewer: GusT 1 review from this member

May 2004
We went half term week after the Bank holiday and the site was less than half full. The staff are really nice and there is a small play area for ths kids. The showers were only lukewarm and the shower heads a bit scaled up but generally the ammenities were clean and there is a good little shop.

The pub referred to in other reviews is no more. There are three to choose from in nearby Shrewton and The George sold good beer and reasonably priced food. Ideal location for Salisbury and Stonehenge and Longleat is only about 20 minutes drive away. You can also be in the New Forest in about half an hour. I would recommend it!

Reviewer: bopper 5 reviews from this member

July 2003
This used to be a favorite site with a good pub and resturant on site.

The 'pub' has been converted to cater for it's B&B clientel and has lost all character as a result. A great shame!

The site itself remains unchanged with very helpful staff.

Reviewer: rufus 3 reviews from this member

May 2003
Went for bank holiday weekend. Camp site was full but still great for the children could see them from anywhere on the site. Very friendly and helpful owner, good shop. Not many showers tho'.

Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Wiltshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3057 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0938