Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Lucksall Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Hereford > Lucksall Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Lucksall Caravan & Camping Park
Mordiford
Hereford
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR1 4LP
Tel: 01432 870213
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 145
Open: 1st March - 30th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 182 Reviews
                9/10 from 182 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  182 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joybringer 5 reviews from this member

Positive: Beautiful site, grass pitches immaculate, friendly staff, gorgeous flowers everywhere. Toilet blocks amazingly clean. Good reasonably priced cafe on site, shop stocked well for essentials. River access for canoes/kayaks is perfect & great fun. Good dog walking area on site too.

Negative: Caravans are mixed with tents in same field which (noise wise) generally don't gel. If staying in a caravan, I would recommend asking for a pitch at the entrance end where majority of caravans are, as that seemed much more peaceful there.

Minor gripe would be that if you stay in the last 3 fields the toilet blocks are a fair distance. The new toilet block is very busy but if you walk a few yards further to the older middle block that one is usually empty.

Summary: Fabulous site, stunning location, kept immaculate, grass cut obsessively so is virtually manicured. Very friendly & reasonably priced, would definitely stay again (perhaps not on end fields though if in caravan at peak times. )

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janetand john 6 reviews from this member

Arrived on a Sunday and staff were helpful from the start. Our pitch had already been allocated to us so no need to cruise around to find a pitch which we find a bonus.

This is one of the best sites we have been to, the pitches our roomy and the grass is to die for if only I could get mine to their stantard.

The shop is well stocked and the cafe does a mean bacon sandwich + other delights.

We took great delight in feeding the ducks with our stale bread.

All the Shower blocks were immaculate can we please put piped music in all for next season.

We are going to book up for next year.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Osmosis 4 reviews from this member

Just got back from a long weekend and we are completely happy with every aspect of this site and all the staff. The pitches are spacious and the location is stunning.

The washing and shower blocks are immaculate with plenty of free hot water. The camp shop and cafe are reasonably priced with a complementary pot of Tea on arrival gratefully received.

Right next to the River Wye its perfect for fishermen and canoeists alike. This is a site that other site owners should visit.

The Moon Pub just a 10 minute walk away now offers a lift back to the site for a small donation.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Angus1215 5 reviews from this member

My mum was from Hereford, and we spent a lot of time there as kids and loved it, but as she passed away recently it seemed a good time to go back and have a look around and see my only remaining aunt who still lives there. It has been nearly 30 years since we stayed there so I was sure what to expect.

We booked a week a Lucksall on the strength of the reviews on here. On arrival it looked spotless and ideally located.

We were allocated our pitch ( a bit strange as I`m used to the CC method of `pick your pitch`) and on seeing it and setting up was very disappointed. I think it was 63, but it was in surrounded by trees, felt really hemmed-in (but was of adequate size), and it didn`t get any sun, at any part of the day. Not what I anticipated, or the brochure suggested, but possibly what some people would love.

I went to reception to ask if I could be re-located (they didn`t like my description of the pitch as being `dingy`), and was told I could move to an open pitch the following day.

Next day - what a transformation! Massive, superbly tended pitch, open, sunny and just brilliant. What with the spotless amenity blocks, direct river access to fish or canoe, small cafe and numerous helpful pleasant and polite staff, we absolutely loved it. So much so that we decided to stay for a second week (and forfeit pitch fees we had already paid elsewhere), although we did have to move pitches to a riverside one (no hardship there).

The newer, bottom end of the site isn`t as attractive, but still is OK and will no doubt get better as it matures.

Walking is plentiful, but the roads just outside the site and a bit of a hazard with speeding vehicles, blind beds and no footpaths, so cycling isn`t the best.

There are several pubs within 10 minutes, the New Inn has good beers but no food in the evenings, the Green Man is expensive and a bit pretentious, the Bunch of Carrots does a superb carvery, the Cottage of Content is very small and traditional with a short but very original menu (I had Lamb Crumble as a main and it was excellent), but the best of the lot was the Butchers Arms at Woolhope.

Probably the nicest meal we have ever had in a pub/restaurant. Simply superb. The nearest pub, The Moon, promised service with a smlie from the new management, which you got, but the food was grim and unless you are just drinking, is worth avoiding.

Overall, an excellent site. Clean amenity blocks (x3), hardstanding/grass pitches, decent play area for the kids, basic shop with essentials (order you morning paper), river access, and you have Hereford, Ross-on Wye within 20 mins, with other attractions such as Symonds Yat, Brecon, Ludlow etc still within easy reach.

They also have tent pitches which again are on good grass (mown twice weekly), some of which have picnic tables.

We will be back!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Maxyjohn 11 reviews from this member

What a lovely site. It's easily accessible, the shower and toilet block were always immaculate, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The 'grounds' are perfect, the grass was cut daily, giving it the appearance of a bowling green. The riverside location is lovely and had facilities to launch our own kayak. There is also a kayak school on site, the young guy running it at the time was very kind to our son when he fell off his bike, he cleaned him up and gave him a plaster for his grazed knee!

The pitches are the nicest we've stayed on, you can choose your pitch when you book. The bus stop is just outside the site taking you into Hereford.

All in all a fabulous, we would whole heartedly recommend it

Will visit again

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Deb White 1 review from this member

Wonderful spot next to River Wye and overlooking woodland. Immaculate site, pretty flower beds all around and even piped music in the toilets, which are spotless. Pitches are very well spaced and Steve the manager is really friendly. He cycles around on his bike checking the site regularly throughout the day. The layout is very appealing and our children spent hours cycling around and having loads of fun in the play area. There are some lovely walks over the fields either alongside the river or across the road into the woodland. Both directions you can reach a good pub for a much needed drink. Overall the best site we have been to as yet.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rutledge 2 reviews from this member

Superb site. There are three toilet blocks - always kept immaculate.

The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The shop has all the things you need including the things you forgot to bring with you!

The pitches are large and beautifully kept. Grass like a golf course! A lot of time (and money) has been spent on the flowers, bushes and trees.

I would certainly recommend the site without any reservation whatsoever. This is the first time that my wife and I have been to this site and it will certainly not be the last.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cdenham 4 reviews from this member

We were greeted warmly by the proprietor on arrival. The site had immaculately manicured grass and plenty of room between pitches. We were pitched right next to the river so had lovely views. The showers were spotless with hot water and piped music throughout. The shop was well stocked and had everything you needed. Dogs are allowed on site and all were very well behaved we didn't hear one dog barking. Well worth the money and would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Youlbury 16 reviews from this member

This is a nice site situated next to the river Wye, pitches were large enough for my Icarus 500 + canopy and car, water nearby, showers and toilets modern and clean,not always left clean by others though.

Nice location with rolling hills and woods on one side and the Wye on the other, I went with my brother for the fishing.

The river is a very nice place to be however caution should be taken due to the high banks that are very unstable and slippery.

The Wye when I went was up by 6' so it was hard to fish but still caught a few Barbel, please go to Sues angling shop they will help you find a good spot and the ticket offers more than just the river on site.

Very friendly staff, you will need to drive to a pub if you want food, it is around 20 mins to walk but it is quite dangerous with blind bends and not a lot to walk on but the road.

I would go back it is a nice place to be.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CarpenterClan 15 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to this site, we spent 5 nights here. Pitches are all allocated, we however did not like our allocated pitch, it was cramped and surrounded by hedge, so we drove back to reception and asked for another. They were very helpful and our next pitch was lovely, not hardstanding, which we had booked but it was ok, drainage was very good so we didn't flood, even though we had a lot of rain. I did feel slightly nervous at night being next to the River Wye with all the rain we had.

We were in the new part of the site, our nearest toilets/showers were brand new and lovely. They were never shut, they must clean them as and when without shutting them down. No hairdriers in our showers, there was a pay drier in one of the others though.

The site is all level and clean and tidy, lovely flowers everywhere. There is a short dog walk down the far end, can get muddy though, could do with putting shingle down really. There is a further walk going off site along the river but there is a style, so not suitable for our big dogs. You can walk off into the forest over the road, but it has no way markers and was very wet and muddy when we went.

There is a children's play area.

The site has a shop selling a few essentials, no papers though. There is a canoe hire shop on site too, we had a big canadian canoe out for a couple of hours, that was good fun, had the weather been better we would have used that facility more. You can canoe down river for half a day or a whole day to designated spots and they will collect you and bring you back to camp.You can even launch your own canoe or boat from the site at no charge.

We saw a Buzzard family soaring above, doing acrobatics in the sky, that was wonderful. We also saw a Falcon attacking one of the Buzzards. Binoculars are a must if you like bird watching.

There are a couple of pubs locally serving good pub grub and dogs are allowed in too. The nearest supermarket is in Hereford.

There are lots of fishing pegs along the river, seems very popular with fishermen.

Previous     182 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Hereford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4762 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019