Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids > Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park Reviews

Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park
Caerfai Road
St Davids
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 6QT
Tel: 01437 720274
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 107
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 112 Reviews
                9/10 from 112 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CliveN 1 review from this member

 We spent 9 nights here (we had originally only booked for 5 with the intention of moving on but we liked it so much we decided to stay on !) We found the site and all facilities to be spotlessly clean with plenty of hot water always available on tap and on top of this the views are breathtaking !
The site is within 15-20 minutes walking distance of St David's which has a good selection of restaurants available for those evenings when you don't fancy cooking in and within striking distance of the beautiful coastal path. Can't wait to go back ! 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jo6073569 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for a long weekend, and was quite impressed. The site is at the very end of a long road which has other campsites along it. One of these campsites is an organic farm, with a farm shop, which sells expensive provisions.The site itself is quite sloping, but made up for by the amazing views of the bay which are truly breathtaking. This also makes it very windy, so aim for cover behind the hedge. Toilets and showers were clean and not too busy. They also have useful ‘family rooms’ with showers and toilets that are large enough to shower the whole family! They would seem to have a very strict pitching policy, and when we pitched our tent 3 ft too close to the next person (due to our next door neighbours being in the wrong place), our tent was moved whilst we were out, which damaged our tent and left our stuff upturned. They would also seem to have a policy of not even attempting to ring people before they carry out this, and when we complained it was explained that this was done quite often, and was not unreasonable. Despite this, the staff were friendly and helpful.They also have good washing-up facilities, with a small fridge available for use. St David’s has a small supermarket, which sells a good selection of food, and the town also has a small number of arty shops, coffee shops and even a couple of surf shops. Although you’ll be lucky to find any surf!  


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: BethanGarrood 1 review from this member

 After returning from 2 weeks at this park, I would not recommend the 1st field to families with children under 5. We had two 2 year olds that were naturally curious and wanted to run and explore. There is a road running through the middle of the site and often cars are unable to keep to the 5 mph speed limit which caused concern. An adjacent private field with bulls in it did not help, as sometimes the gate was left open. The other caravanners seemed unused to children and as a result we all felt very stressed when a hostile letter greeted us on the 3rd day to control our children.

The facilities were excellent however and there was a very useful organic shop on site. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davidj 4 reviews from this member

 This was a really nice site. We had a lovely 5 day break here.

The facilities were great. Clean and plentiful toilets and showers and a reasonably priced laundry. The owner was very helpful when we pitched our tent about a meter short of our electric hook-up point and lent us an extension free of charge.

It was a bit of a drive to get anywhere other than St David's itself and if you're not a big fan of country roads, you'll not enjoy this too much!

The only complaint I have is the ground! You can really tell that you are on a cliff. About 2 inches down its pretty much solid rock, which is no fun when hammering in pegs, so make sure you get there in plenty of time before sunset! 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BigMona 97 reviews from this member

 Just spent four days at Caerfai Bay and had a great time. The park itself was quite busy with constant comings & goings of people. We were positioned in the 2nd field with our motorhome amongst the tents and other motorhomes. The 1st field is for static and touring caravans only.

The toilet blocks are good, clean and well serviced. At times there we queues to use the showers and toilets.

The location of the park is awesome with the its views of the bay, and with St Davids itself only being a 20 minute walk with its amazing cathedral and bishops palace. There are also some amazing restaurants in town but bookings are needed.

The coastal path is on the doorstep and provides great walks, however everyone seems to use this area as a dog lavatory so watch your step! 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Alan99 2 reviews from this member

 August 2005
Lovely site, well run and great for families, with fantastic views and a wonderful little boogy-boarding 'n rock-pools beach to keep the young'uns happy. One word of warning: make sure you have a good tent. When the wind comes off the sea - and it hit Force 8 one night we were there - there is no shelter whatsoever, and things can get a bit hairy.  


Reviewer: Vorsprung 3 reviews from this member

 August 2005
Just got back from our second visit to this site. The fact that we returned after a week there last year probably gives you a clue we are fans.

This is a family orientated site that is very well run. The site office is open between 8 and 6 every day and the staff are very helpful. Icepacks are available at 20p each which is useful. There is also a microwave (20p for 6 minutes) and a designated area for washing/hanging wetsuits. The dishwashing and toilet facilities are plentiful. Usefully there are 4 big family shower/washrooms, although you may have to queue to use these.

I have seen a comment in previous reviews about the washrooms being far from the third field (where we non-hooked-up tent types are sited). We were at the far end of the field and I would say the washrooms were about 150 metres away. I suppose it is am matter of personal preference if this is far or not. We thought not, although we did have our bikes to ease the journey, but at worst it is a 2 minute walk. Camping is meant to be an activity holiday after all. In my experience being too close to the toilet blocks also means having to endure lots of traffic.

We were there in peak season and the site was packed. That said, the sloping nature of the field means everybody can enjoy the terrific views of St Bride's Bay. Its postion is exposed to rain and winds coming in off the sea. It is not a site for campers who worry about the weather. However the sloped nature of the field means that it drains well. We had heavy rain on our penultimate day, but the following wind ensured our tent was bone dry for packing up time.

The sloped nature of the field means you may need to have a think about how to pitch your tent so that the sleeping parts are reasonably level, although some may appreciate the excuse to roll into their sleeping partner at night!

Despite being busy, the site seems to attract well-behaved guests, many like us being return visitors. Lots of families mean that in the evening there are children playing footie, racing about on bikes and throwing frizbees, but all good clean fun and no hooligans. If the idea of the occasional stray football hitting your tent bothers you, you may prefer an andults only site. During our stays there, everybody has respected the 10pm quiet rule, and the site was very silent overnight.

The site is adjacent to the Pembrokeshire coastal path and within easy walking distance of St David's village centre (or city centre to respect its cathedral status!) Turning right out of the campsite enterance takes you down to the small but lovely Caerfai beach. This has golden sand, rock pools and caves to explore.

One note of caution, the site is reached along a single track dead end road, which also leads to the beach. It can be busy, but there are plenty of passing places so be prepared to be patient.

In conclusion then, this site is highly recommended. Some would prefer a less busy site, but Caerfai's popularity reflects thast the advantages of the site outweigh this concern. We will be going there again next year. 


Reviewer: Jane Westcott 3 reviews from this member

 August 2005
Excellent Site. The view are fantastic of St Brides Bay. We were here first week of school holidays - campsite was full and the facilities cope well. The family shower rooms are great, loads of room for scrubbing the kids clean. You can walk to St David's from campsite, which is steeped in history. The beach of Caerfai bay is next to campsite, the path very good, bit steep at times.  


Reviewer: AmyJon 1 review from this member

 August 2003
We booked in at Caefai Bay after finding it on internet search with very little information. The site is well organised, and although there was a slight slope on our pitch this was made up by beautiful sea view straight from our tent. The beach is a treasure, clean and perfect for families. Would certainly recommend site for families, but as we went without children can assure all that anyone would feel welcome there. 


Reviewer: claire r 2 reviews from this member

 June 2004
We spent a week on this campsite in June. WE had not booked and had ear marked a few possible sites in the St Davids area. We saw this site first and thought the views were stunning and although we did go and check out the others, we came straight back and were very happy with our choice.

We arrived the tail end of Whit week and the site was still reasonably busy but still gave us a choice of pitches. The day after we arrived the campsite virtually cleared with all the kids going back to school. The pitches were fine, some had a bit of a slope on them but nothing too difficult. The toilet block was great, spacious shower cubicles, clean and hot.

Overall we were very lucky with the weather. Although we did find our tent in the middle of some sea frets in the mornings sometimes, this campsite has some of the prettiest views I have seen.

The organic produce from the farm opposite was really tasty if a little expensive, the beach was clean and pretty and its a pleasant walk into St Davids from the site. I would recommend both the campsite and area without hesitation. 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Davids      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1836 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement