Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sykeside Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Sykeside Camping Park Reviews

Sykeside Camping Park
Brotherswater
Patterdale (lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0NZ
Tel: 01768 482239
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 111
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 132 Reviews
                8/10 from 132 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 10 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Schoey55 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from the site today, from a short two day stay.

Beautiful surroundings, totally enclosed by hills. Nice flat site. Shop has quite a few useful items if you forget something but as usual pricey.

Showers were clean and plenty of hot water but this was midweek, no idea about weekend when site is full.

The Brothers inn situated at the entrance to the site serves good beer in pleasant surroundings. Bring your appetite if you eat there, large portions of good looking food.

Would recommend this site for its central location and unspoilt views.

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: VangoMan72 2 reviews from this member

A stunning location and a very well run and maintained site. A pleasure to go to - whatever time of year! Great pub and bar on site with good food (if a tad pricey). Excellent Full English if you don't fancy cooking on a wet and miserable morning.

Be warned though - the middle of the main field is prone to flooding in heavy rain and is often closed off during such periods. Higher ground is available, but is limited. Also note that the middle of the field is very exposed and is subject to the full force of the wind racing up the valley floor and down Kirkstone Pass. We have seen many a tent wrapped around a tree or blown over the hedges in bad weather come morning time.

The Badgers do come sniffing around occasionally too, so be sure to keep your food well sealed up (and preferably in your car) overnight. The pub can fill rapidly during busy times too, so if you want to eat there or fancy a table for a few beers, you have to get in there early doors.

A firm favourite of ours, and highly recommended.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andrew.sharp3 7 reviews from this member

This site at the bottom of the Kirkstone Pass to the north was an impromtu stop after a long hard day in the saddle. However I was welcomed to register at the bar and given freedom to pitch where I wanted on an already busy site.

The views are stunning, of course, but you pay a price for the beauty, being in a radio and mobile phone dead spot. The facilities are very good, but some noise control late at night would have been appreciated as some people partied beyond midnight nearby.

I had to move on early next morning, and having a practically sleepless night encouraged me to get away asap.

It wasn't my cup of tea that particular night.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stu4668 2 reviews from this member

Superb Site, great facilities - 2 bars/restaurants, toilets/showers always clean and free. Great location and a management commitment to ensure site rules are obeyed.
This site I would certainly recommend for families. I have stayed at this site for 6 separate visits now.

Date of Visit: February 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Montypeg 5 reviews from this member

Our favourite site in the UK. We've stayed here is sun, rain and snow (and even got snowed in), and whatever the weather we've enjoyed our visits tremendously.

The setting of the site gives wonderful views, there are great walks from the site, it's run by really friendly staff and there is an abundance of good food and ale at The Brotherswater Inn. New Year here is really special but you need to book.

The facilities are good, although at peak times the showers can suddenly run out of hot water, but we've always managed to avoid this.

Date of Visit: February 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nadsonline 2 reviews from this member

Brilliant. This camp is located in a breathtaking valley and is definitely worth stopping for a few nights to fully appreciate the surroundings.

A fantastic pub is attached to the camp. Good atmosphere, very friendly staff and the meals are great.

The toilets and showers were tidy. Overall a great camp with very reasonable fees

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Soph123 8 reviews from this member

The description on their web site is spot on, we came across this site by chance while touring the lakes.

We were greeted at the booking office with a warm smile from the receptionist, the site just had that good feeling about it.

We set up camp the site was virtually empty, table and chairs out glass of wine just taking in the brilliant views of the mountain ranges all around us. Then came perfect sun sets as the valley goes into the shade of the mountains.

We came to the lakes to relax enjoy camp life and walk, all this we had, you just have to go there to appreciate what this site offers.

One of the friendliest camp sites we have visited, the two bars offer great meals and variety of ales. Everyone took time out to chat about their day, the view from the bar alone is worth the visit.

We did three long walks with our westie Sophie, following the mountain streams to their summits passing many a pool and waterfall. We were lucky the weather was perfect but can imagine these walks would be very special what ever the weather.

Friday night brought out the weekend walkers and family campers, field now full but there was no music just a happy buzz of people chatting. We sat outside with a bottle of wine and absorbed the atmosphere brilliant holiday.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 497 reviews from this member

This is an excellent site set within amazing surroundings. It's situated just at the foot of the Kirkstone Pass and some excellent hill walks, such as Fairfield, Hart Crag and Helvellyn are accessible directly from the site. Also nearby is the village of Hartsop and Brotherswater Lake, but apart from this the site is pretty isolated. However, the site provides good facilities, meaning you don't really have to venture away at all for essentials.

The site is very well run and and maintained. There are plenty of showers and toilets and they do the job, despite getting muddy easily. But let's face it, this is a camp site in an isolated spot in the Lakes! The Brotherswater Inn is a good pub on site and offers good food. I particularly liked the Barn End Bar, catering for campers and hikers - a great idea for if the weather turns bad. The shop on site sells many essentials, as well as camping equipment and hiking maps. If camping isn't your thing, there is a camping barn on site or B&B rooms at the inn.

One thing I've noticed in reviews of this site is complaints about the weather. What they expect the site managers to do about this, I don't know. However, they provide two bars and a drying room: short of working miracles on Lakeland weather patterns, I'm not sure what else they can be expected to do to make people's stay more comfortable!

A great site if you just want to enjoy Lake District surroundings and enjoy a few drinks and a meal in the evening.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: One man + his dog 1 review from this member

On the whole this is a very good site very dog friendly, the facilities were clean though only cleaned once a day even at peak times like weekend The campsite was full and the facilities were not at there best the hot water does run out at busy times but most of the time there nice and hot.

The shop was well stocked recommend the local beacon and sausages the only problem with the shop was the opening hours didn't open until 8:30 and shut by 17:30 open longer on a Friday. The campsite bar never seemed to be open I think in 8 days there we only see it open once but the Brotherswater inn more then made up for it good food, good drink and friendly staff and they allow dogs inside.

The location of the site is ideal for walkers and mountain bikers the local Campingaz dealer is in Ambleside and its the hard wear shop opposit Blacks and Milletts. There are plenty of high areas to set up tent if its wet and the ground is hard on pegs.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tjax 1 review from this member

Re: previous reviews! If you want children's facilities take them to Centre Parcs! Stop whining about lack of play areas! This site is situated in the most amazing areas with fields and mountains all around. There is a lake and a river a short walk away. There is plenty for children to do,it's just it may involve parents vacating their comfy chairs! This is one of only a few areas that I will happily allow the kids to disappear off and be left to their own devices with strict instructions on what time to return!

The pub is fine , it's a walkers pub! For better cuisine go over to Troutbeck for Mortal Man or Queens Head.

You are clearly told and there are signs about the badgers so if you get nocturnal visits, it's your own fault!

The bathrooms are okay nothing special but this camping! If you want power showers try the Hilton!

This is a fab site, Very family friendly, fantastic location! Go and enjoy!

Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4067 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019