Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile Reviews

Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile
Chapel Stile
Great Langdale
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 9JR
Tel: 01539 437150
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 111 Reviews
                9/10 from 111 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  111 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mandc80 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed for three nights in the upper field near to the farm house.  The site was all but empty in the first week of school holidays.  Very quiet and peaceful at all times.  Had a great time swimming in the river and exploring the local area.  The farmer is very friendly and accommodating.  Not sure what people mean when they think this is "roughing it" I thought the facilities were excellent, very new stylish shower block and hot running water for washing up etc.  Highly recommended I would definitely return.  The only disadvantage for me is the upper field does slope so I ended up rolling up against the edge of my tent every night!
  


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shaunodee 1 review from this member

 We turned to this site after ringing through to the NT site at Great Langdale, to find it was full. We arrived on Friday evening, about 7pm to find it busy but not full. It did fill up on Saturday.

The facilities comprise a new shower and wash-up block, which were very basic, but adequate. Fine for us as we were there hiking. These were situated next to the farm, so you had a bit of a walk if you pitched in one of the bottom fields. You can pitch near the farm but the fields up there are on a slope.

It was only a ten minute walk into the village, which has a pub and a shop. The scenery is terrific, but you're a bit open to the elements, especially on the bottom fields. Plenty of good walks, as the site is on the cumbria way.

The prices were very reasonable at £4 per adult, £2 per child, and £2 per car. Found it noisy, especially the first night 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alyn2006 3 reviews from this member

 Like many users of this site, we turned to it after finding the NT site down the road full. While the site looks fine, nice and flat with a new shower block and washing facilities, the actual camping area is totally exposed in the middle of the valley. The lakeland weather can be very unforgiving and our brand new Sunncamp Stratus 8 tent was completely flattened in the most brutal wind I have ever encountered. Thankfully it survived, but our camping weekend was over before it had barely begun!
 
It was such a shame, because the area is beautiful and I'm sure we would've had a great time at the site if the weather had been a little kinder to us. Rain we can cope with, but the wind was quite frightening! One thing is for sure, in future we will be looking rather more carefully at the listings on this website for camp sites offering a great deal more shelter! 


Reviewer: Amanda and co 21 reviews from this member

 August 2005
Came across this delightful family site when we couldn't get into the Langdale National Trust site. We 3 families 5 adults 6 kids and one dog visited this on bank holiday weekend. Very basic farm site. Newly opened shower blocks and washing up facilities which were a bit of a walk from the lower field. No noise after 10.30pm which everyone adhered to. Kids loved playing in the nearby woods and beck. Although we had rain the field didn't get too boggy, only churned up from the cars but it was a very busy weekend.

ome lovely walks around. Easy 15 min walk to the Wainwrights Inn, food looked lovely. 30 min walk to the Britannia in Elterwater. Well stocked shop and cafe 15 min walk away. Road to campsite is narrow and bumpy. We all thoroughly enjoyed this weekend even with the very windy storm at 4.30am when all the tents stood up to a good battering. Well worth the money at £14 a night for two adults two kids and a car.  


Reviewer: T4RTY 1 review from this member

 August 2005
Found the campsite by chance as the site we were originally going to was full. The entrance is a single track and full of pot holes. The site is family orientated and on busy weekends the top field is reserved for them. On less busy weekends anyone can camp in the top field.

The toilets/washing up room and showers were in the top field. We camped in the bottom field a good 5 min walk from the facilities but it all added to the enjoyment. The toilets and showers are new and cleaned regularly with plenty of toilet rolls. We went bank holiday and the site was very busy but the water was always hot. The showers are free so no messing around with 20p's.

You can charge mobile phones and cameras in the farm house for a charge of £1 although the signals are low as you are in a valley. The scenery is fanastic with great views of the langsdale valley.

There is a good public house and village shop a 10 mins walk away although you can get milk, eggs, cheese and bacon from the farm house.

Ambleside is 8 miles away by car.

The owners are very approachable and always around to assist you. We found out that they could not get planning permission for facilities on the bottom fields due to the land being national trust.

I would recommend this site to all and on the busiest weekends you can still find a space as they open more fields to accommodate you. The site is very cheap, we paid £36.00 for 4 people, tent and a car for 2 nights. Great walks witin minutes of the site as it stands on national trust land. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Morag MacDoodle 20 reviews from this member

 August 2004
The first "basic" site I ever visited. Plenty going on. Despite the simple set-up there was a festival atmosphere both times I stayed and did not hear a single complaint. Kids loved the river running by the lower field and would have stayed there all day...

The Wainwright was always busy but it was nice to sit outside and watch the world go by. Black as the hobbs by closing time and difficult to find the way back to the tent so take a torch.
Sheep graze where you sleep so don't get a fright if they bleet in your ear in the middle of the night.

I see this site as a well kept secret. Visited by those "in the know", not afraid of roughing it a little. The drive up to the farmhouse is a bit frought and the gravel is loose and uneven. Not advisable for those with pristine paintwork or low body kits.

Conclusion? You'll drive home with a great big smile on your face and plenty of money left in your wallet. 


Reviewer: CHEEKYMONKEY 9 reviews from this member

 August 2004
PROS:

Excellent position for exploring Langdales.
Very cheap.
Excellent pub and shop within 5/10 mins walk.
Large site and so pretty much guaranteed a spot.

CONS:

Noisy (No matter what the sign on the gate says)
Long walk to the loo and for water if you're in the lower field (especially if you've been to the Wainwright all night and then wake up with a throbbing head and bursting for a whizz!)
No shower or hot water for washing up.

 


Reviewer: chris61 1 review from this member

 1st - 2nd may 2004
Just returned from this site a very pleasant site. no showers just a small toilet block. Fantastic views of the Langdale Pikes. £7 per night for a family of four. Very close to the Wainrights Inn. Will certainly revisit.  


Reviewer: Jim Powell

 august 2003
Found this site by chance, as Original site we were going to was full. Basic toilets and wash facilities (no shower) which seemed to put some people off. But still got packed over the weekend. The views are great, surrounded by pikes. States at gate Families and couples only, but found this not to be the case. Also has a 10.30 pm noise curfew, but does not apply to sheep which can bleep all night long.

A great base to explore from and will definately return again. My kids loved the River with tree swing and so did some adults :-) 


Reviewer: Jacky Robinson

 August 2003
Yes, this camp site does exist - we stayed the weekend of 15 - 19th August and it was jam packed on the Friday & Saturday.

It is in an absolutely fantastic position in the Langdale Valley - close to the Wainwright Inn (great food) and also to the Langdale Co-Op which also has a cafe attached to it. The cafe serves hot & cold food and you can eat in or take away.

The facilities are very basic but the farmer told us that he has been granted permission to convert one of the barns into a shower & toilet block and is waiting for the grant to carry out the work - hopefully in time for next summer.

It is great value (£20 for the tent, 2 adults and a car for 4 nights) if you don't mind 'roughing' it a bit!

The toilets were clean considering the number of people using them and did have paper most of the time. Take a roll just in case!

The telephone number is now 015394 37615 


Previous     111 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ambleside      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3623 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window