Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Royal Umpire Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Preston > Royal Umpire Caravan Park Reviews

Royal Umpire Caravan Park
Southport Road
Croston
Preston
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR26 9JB
Tel: 01772 600 257
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 180 & Large Rally Fiield + Camping Pods
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 119 Reviews
                7/10 from 119 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LeeStaniforth 5 reviews from this member

 Wanted to try this site out as a first one with the family. We have a 14 year old, a 4 year old and a 2 year old. We only stayed for one night, so didn't get chance to explore around.

Cost: 13 per pitch (no matter size of tent)

Pros: Very friendly, and efficient. Large flat field. Can pitch tent where you like. Large number of water points. Great shower block (LOADS of showers, and free hot water). Great kiddies play area in the corner consisting of 3 slides. Swings, seesaw, wooden fort, and a couple of others that defy description! Very popular with the kids. On-site shop that sells small bits and bobs. Close to local attractions (Blackpool, Southport, Camelot). Easy to find - well signposted.

Cons: Unfortunately close to a hotel/restaurant, so not good for those that like really quiet sites, as it favors karoke! Nothing for our teenager to do. The shower/toilet blocks are only serviced once a day (between 12.30 and 3pm), and aren't checked during the day, so bring your own loo roll. The shop is only open 9am to 5pm (but it's a 10 minute drive to the nearby village, so not really a problem)

Rating: 7 out of 10. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cathyroboo 6 reviews from this member

 Great site, excellent shower facilities very clean. No shop on site for food but you can purchase gas from there. Lovely garden with waterfall to relax in and just across the road was a wacky warehouse which has decent food. Croston village was lovely went for a walk there, downside was with a pram you had to keep crossing the road for the pavement but the pubs there were lovely. Food in Wheatsheaf was excellent. Definitely will be returning soon. This was our first outing in our caravan and we throughly enjoyed ourselves. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alibescat 34 reviews from this member

 I read the reviews and totally forgot about them. Upon arrival we found a massive touring area with no-one pitched at the back near the tall trees this was our first camping trip with our puppy Paddy so we pitched near the trees away from everyone. Then I remembered the club was directly behind ! At about 7pm loud music came on but was promptly turned down. We headed off to the 2 4 1 pub and had a dreadful meal. We returned expecting banging music but it really was not that bad, it only went on till 1am and it didn't bother us at all we actully found it good cause we could talk without anyone hearing us and having to whisper!. BUT if you have small children or want to go to sleep early pitch somewhere further away ! Owners very friendly and lots of nice people on site all stopping for a chat. 


Date of Visit: February 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Redwine 3 reviews from this member

 Great site loved it. Shop was closed but not to far away from main shops. Great pub 5 min walk away meals where 2 4 1 and good indoor play area in pub for kids. Showers very clean and toilets the same. Kids played in play area with sheep the staff where all very nice and helpful. We will be going back as site close to Camelot.  


Reviewer: Fisty 1 review from this member

 July 2005
Spent a full week here in a tent with two kids and a dog and it was brill. The sun was shining all week and not a wasp in site. The playground was good never saw the kids they loved it and there was a very big ralley field to walk the dog. The site is very clean with hot showers and toliets lots of water points. There is a shop on site which sells enough for your day to day bits but be warned it shuts to early, but there are shops not far away from the main site. We will be back next year. Justin & Justine Ramsden. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Kathandkids 2 reviews from this member

 July 2005
Really enjoyed our weekend here. The rally field for tents was spacious and not crowded and we could see the playpark. Kids loved the play equipment and it catered for our three year old too which is rare, although it could have done with a lick of paint. Kids also loved the horses, cows and sheep in adjacent fields. Most of our fruit went feeding the friendly horse. Toilets, showers etc were clean and the shop was useful, it froze icepacks. The caravan section was rather formal but the rally field was not. If you like quiet evenings chose a part of the field away from the hotel though, as it has noisy discos at weekend.
Croston is very charming village, lots of walks nearby at resevoirs etc. We'll definitely return here. 


Reviewer: Grumpano 13 reviews from this member

 May 2005
I have visited this site many times over the years, but I have to say I was very dissapointed the last time I stayed. The toilet and shower blocks were filthy. And in the wifes and some friends who were also on the sites opinion, had not been cleaned or maintained for some time.
 


Reviewer: Reet 5 reviews from this member

 August 2004
stayed here for 2 nights with friends. The children loved the playground but the parents did not I'm afraid - mud everywhere, very dirty children!!! Site owners should invest in a couple of bags of bark to fill in holes!! No recreation hall as advertised - closed down. Otherwise clean site with lovely garden area. Couldn't help but feel they cater for the residents / caravans, but then we were in the Rally Field. Would happily stay a weekend - but not in wet weather! 


Reviewer: Tosker 1 review from this member

 August 2004
Spent a very enjoyable weekend here with my six year old daughter. Toilets and showers were always clean and open when I needed them. I camped on the rally field here and had a great view of the childrens play area which my daughter enjoyed (even though it looks to have seen better days). The wacky warehouse just outside the site is good and during my stay had a special 2 meals for the price of one promotion. The only problem we had was the large number of wasps. I would come back to this site hopefully without the wasps. 


Reviewer: SALLYMAD 1 review from this member

 26/06/04
Went today but couldn't pitch tent as too much rain, but campsite was lovely, really good amenities, friendly staff, playground fab and lots of fellow tents! 


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Royal Umpire Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Royal Umpire Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Royal Umpire Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Preston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2422 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement