Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Beacon Fell View Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Preston > Beacon Fell View Holiday Park Reviews

Beacon Fell View Holiday Park
110 Higher Road
Longridge
Preston
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR3 2TF
Tel: 01772 783233
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 54
Open: 01/03/2021 to 14/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 108 Reviews
                7/10 from 108 Reviews

Photos (11)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  108 in total, now showing 101 to 108                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Reviewer: Djgary 1 review from this member

 November 2004
We discovered this site around two years ago by accident, it is quite difficult to find as the directions tell you to bear left at the white bull pub, unfortunately if you are coming from the south and leave the m6 at the longridge exit you pass a pub called the white bull but this is not the correct one, we spent 20 minutes going up and down this road with caravan in tow only for somebody from the pub to stop us and tell us it was the wrong pub and this was a common mistake by campers following the directions, be warned.
Anyway about the site, on arrival you will have to park up and walk around the ammenity building to get to the new reception to book in this gives you a chance to look at the club and bar and also the new (smallish) gym and the excellent pool area with sauna. The reception staff are excellent, very helpful and always with a smile.
The pitches are to the left as you come in to the park and they are teired, most will only take a van of 22 foot maximum so if you have a longer van ring to check if a pitch is available, they are all hardstanding although the longer pitches at the top do need some maintenance as the mud has come through.
We spent an excellent bonfire night here this year but our pitch had become a quogmire by Sunday, this is not a problem further down the field.
Since our first visit we have returned on a regular basis, we have often wondered what it is that we find so attractive about this site, as I've said the pitches are not the best maintained in the world but they are more than adequate, the toilet block is very old and cold out of season, but it is clean and there is never a shortage of hot water. You do get a key for the toilets and if all campers made sure they locked the block after using it they would prevent the kids coming over from the static caravans and damaging the toilets and showers, I caught four of said children spreading mud all over the walls of the gents.
So what is it that makes us go back, well it is one of the most friendly sites we have ever visited, no snobery no looking down noses, very rarely any trouble, our outfit is worth in excess of 40.000, some on site even more and some considerably less but everybody speaks to each other and helps each other regardless of material possessions, this goes a long way with me.
The club house is great, we have had some of the best nights we can't remember in here, the beer is not expensive, just a little more than pubs but who cares your getting entertainment for free. The dj is usually one of the residents and does his best with what he has, maybe the owners should invest in a few more disco lights to improve the atmosphere on the dance floor, this would go a long way for relatively little cost, live entertainment is usually very good. The best thing is as long as you do not cause any trouble you can be your self and have a really good time without upsetting anyone, a great place to let yourself go. There is also an excellent adult only, quiet bar for chatting to friends.
If you enjoy walking after a good night out you are spoilt for choice, you can follow the old cattle trail to Clitheroe or visit Beacon Fell itself, the choice is yours.
Overall I would give this site full marks, does need some investment in the pitches and toilet / showers but is a fantastic place for a fun weekend, infact I'm having my 40th birthday here at the end of april 2005, we have six pitches and one static booked already, see you there. 


Reviewer: Sweetrunninggir 17 reviews from this member

 August 2004
My first time camping and I was impressed by the site - the caravan pitches are in terraces, so not much space for the children to play in front of the caravan or tent but the childrens play area is large and seemed very safe.

Pool and small Gym and Pub very good and shop was well equipped - staff were helpful. Childrens entertainment was a bonus - so if you're taking young children (my 10 years olds felt it was a bit young for them...)this campsite is a very good idea.

Toilet blocks oldfashioned but clean (if somewhat cold!) I didnt like the rubbish bins near the caravans- which always seemed full and overflowing, but if i'd bothered to report it I'm sure they would have actioned it!

I would go back, definitely, but would pay for a caravan pitch as the tent field was up quite a few steep steps, although they apparently they do have another one.

On the whole worth a visit if you're a family with small children and dont want to pay a fortune for good activities for the children. 


Reviewer: Tru2004 1 review from this member

 July 2004
First time camping at this site... we were expecting Noah to sail past us as we attempted to pitch the tent it rained that hard!!! The tent field is the old recreation field as the original one is prone to flooding in the glorious English summer weather we get.. there are quite a few steep steps up to the field.. not for the faint hearted especially at night!!!The top end of the field can be prone to traffic noise seemingly most of the time through the night.
The campsite is clean and reasonably well kept, the staff very friendly and welcoming. They have kids club during the day and a junior disco at night which the children loved! There's an outdoor play area with a zip wire and also an indoor ball pool play area which has a small charge but which is supervised!! great!! The indoor pool is nice even nicer with a small sauna to chill out in while the kids tire themselves swimming!! There's a small gym (with a charge) for the grown ups near reception as well.
There's a food van open day and night serving an array of fast foods and a camp shop that also does microwave meals as well as papers and fancy goods etc.
There doesn't seem to be much entertainment after the kids disco at night though... only odd nights.. main street in town only 10 mins walk or a few mins in car.
We would definately go back to this site again though.. 21.50 a night (with elec if available)for all of us inclusive of facilities really made a difference... 


Reviewer: Jackiec28 15 reviews from this member

 May 2004
We use this site regularly as it is just down the road.
It has a club on site but the beer tends to be expensive and not very nice, but there is entertainment for children and bingo for adults.
The toilets are average and need updating but there is plenty of hot water.
They have a bath on site which is good and always clean. There is also a sauna for the over 18s which is a good idea.
They are in the process of extending and building an adult only bar. The building work does not disturb the camping area.
The views are excellent and staff friendly and we would recommend it for short breaks.
 


Reviewer: paul hufton

 seaonal
i placed my caravan on this site in march 2003 for the season, and since arriving i have seen some changes. i have asked about several items that have concverned me and each item has recieved immediate attention. i have found the staff all around the site to be helpful and courteous, all in all i would recommend this site to anyone especially if they have childrenas th facilities are geared mostly for these 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Mark

 June 2003
Camped for 2 nights mid-week with my 2 sons. Had an enjoyable time. The pool was clean and the kids loved it. Also the play area was just what they wanted.

On arrival there were 2 black refuse bags that were open on the area for pitching tents. These were cleared up as soon as I mentioned them. The toilets were clean, with adequate amounts of toilet paper. The bar wasnt cheap but what's a few pence.

We visited mid-week and so the cost was only 4.50 a night (bargain...there price for tents and tourers Tue-Thur). Minimum payment was for 2 nights. Nine quid covered the 3 of us swimming let alone a tent pitch.

Would definitely go again 


Reviewer: Carolyn Finch

 March 2003
We have been to this campsite three times and me and my group of friends found this campsite excellent. The first two times we were camping in our tents and the third time we stayed in a caravan. There was an on site country club, a swimming pool, a games room, a shop which sold the daily essentials, a burger bar, and washing and toilet facilities which were clean and tidy. The staff were friendly and the caravan was brilliant as we only payed 45 pounds for an eight birth caravan for one night, which included gas, electricity, hot & cold water, a t.v, a gas fire, a fully equipt bathroom, 3 bedrooms, fridge/freezer, oven/grill and many more homely essentials. Overall this is the best campsite we have been to and I would advise it to anybody at any age who is looking for a cheap and decent campsite. Me and my friends will be going back again at the end of the month!! Have a good time!!! 


Reviewer: lancs rover

 september 2002
We stayed in this site for 2 nights in a small 3 person tent and found it to be fairly pleasant although a little expensive......(12 pounds 50 per night for 2 adults and a small tent!!)

The site would be ideal for families as there is a lot for the kiddies to do. They have a swimming pool, an adventure playground with rope slides and such, a putting green, a club onsite, games room and a shop. The shop wasn't very well stocked so it would be best to get provisions from one of the shops in longridge.
They had bingo on in the club and a singer while we were there but the beer was a little pricey so again, it's probably better to head into longridge for a pint!!

The only problem i found was the state of the men's washing/toilet facilities which i found to be very poor.
All the toilet roll dispensers had been removed(apart from 1), several toilets were blocked and it stank every time you went in of ammonia. A little more regular cleaning wouldn't go a miss (especially for 12 quid a night!!)
The ladies block however, was (according to the missus) not too bad at all so there you go...you pays your' money and takes your' choice.

All in all, the weather was great and we had a super time. Lots of walking nearby. I would give this site 7 out of 10.

I would also advise you to book before arrival as the camping area is quite small...only about 20 pitches. 


Previous     108 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 108     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Beacon Fell View Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Beacon Fell View Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Beacon Fell View Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Beacon Fell View Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Preston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3859 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement