Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Greenhills Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Greenhills Holiday Park Reviews

Greenhills Holiday Park
Crow Hill Lane
Ashford In The Water
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PX
Tel: 01629 813467
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: February To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 260 Reviews
                8/10 from 260 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  260 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Heatherj26 4 reviews from this member

As I'm new to camping and have used this website so much reading reviews from everyone, felt I should at least add my review of our first camping trip to Greenhills. We had the most fantastic time at this site, despite the rain. Considering all the stories you hear about camping, I could not fault this site. We were shown to our plot and advised on the facilities on site. The views were spectacular and I felt the shop was very well stocked. The showers were clean and having the portacabin with more showers meant we didn't have to wait. These were always spotlessly clean. I loved the washing-up area, everyone got chatting over the fairy-liquid!

Our children loved their first experience of camping with the play area and the separate field for walking the dog was an added bonus. My husband used the Bar on one evening and even though it was small, he said it had a good atmosphere.

Bakewell had all the shops you need with a Tesco and some lovely fish and chip shops. However, if you go to Greenhills, get the menu from the local Indian Restaurant who delivered the best curry I'd had in ages. Definitely going back. My highlight, walking to the loos at 5am with the most beautiful sunrise.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CALDAN 8 reviews from this member

Stayed here for Bank Holiday weekend. Efficient reception and we were shown to our pitch personally. Pitches reasonable in size and despite being full didn't feel too bad.

Childrens playground is great and there is also a large field for ball games next to it. There is a small pub which had entertainment on for kids and adults during our time there. Also there is a small summer house packed with leaflets of places to visit, eateries and generally everything you need to assist you.

Shop quite small but well stocked. Camping accessories and items of food well thought out.

Showers toilets in portable cabin but very clean and tidy.

There is no food served on site but there are lots of places a car ride away. Lots of walks can start and finish from the site.

The pub has a lovely outdoor area to sit in.

Plus points. Children well catered for, pub lovely and quaint although small.

Minus points. No food on site. Reasonable walk to find anything to eat without a car.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona808 1 review from this member

First time campers, 2adults and 2 kids. Superb location with very good facilities. The Kids loved the playground which was a great place to meet new friends! Well stocked shop and child friendly. Excellent place for dogs,they have their own field,though needed more security as areas by the road had dog size gaps! Showers were adequate, soap dispensers at basins needed to be filled up more regularly though! It was well run though I felt that the skip area was too open and was an eyesore. Could've been placed more privately. The views are outstanding and very relaxing. Dovedale is beautiful and is dog friendly.You must try the ice-cream too!

A must place to eat was the Grouse and Claret in Rowsley, kids eat free between 3 till 7.

Bakewell is a short walk away,market day is Monday and offers very good local produce. Had a delicious breakfast at the pudding shop too! It was my day off!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Laddie47 7 reviews from this member

The staff were very helpful as we managed to get a pitch at very late notice in high season.

We wanted to stay for 3 nights but had to settle for 2 as they only open the filed we were on at weekends (Council rule apparently). This was a shame as it had a fantastic view and was, in my opinion, the best tent field on the site.

Overall a good stay in bad weather but there are a few negative points:-

1. There is no way that there is quiet before midnight, never mind 10:30pm!

2. The other 2 tent fields were on a steep slope and were so packed it was very boggy, even for summer!

3. The kids play area is right next to the bar which is great, but there is no light so the kids play in the dark (this may have altered since we stayed)

4. The grass was just too long for tents and, as ever, when it rained this can be a real problems of keeping the inside of the tents clean.

These negative points are a shame as the site and staff are excellent

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Messymop 3 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to Greenhills (2 adults and 2 children), we arrived at reception and received a friendly welcome. We were shown to our pitch and all the facilities were pointed out.

The pitch was big enough for our 8 berth tent, car and windbreak. We were on a slight slope but nothing really to complain about apart from the when it rained the pitch was quite muddy but mainly co the area had not had chance to recover.

The toiets were always clean and the portacabin toilets were too. The showers were on the small side but enough room for me and my daughter to share and they were always warm enough no matter what time of day we used them. The free hairdryer was a bonus.

The shop was well stocked and not over priced, the kids loved the freedom of going up there to spend their pocket money.

We walked into Bakewell and caught the bus back. The market was well worth a visit and of course the puddings were delicious.

Our first night we ordered pia from a company that delivered to the site (menu's were in reception) these were delicious too.

We were also recommended a nice pub in Monyash (Bulls Head) which did a lovely meal which for all 4 of us and soft drinks came to 32.

We will definitely be visiting again and have recommended to lots of friends as it is a good base to visit lots of lovely places.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: VillaBob 1 review from this member

Just had a week at Greenhills with the family. We had a great time there. I was worried about the slope, having read some of the reviews. We were at the top of the Hawthorn, and whilst there was a slight slope, it wasn't too bad. The site was packed and even with this, it was quiet from after 10:30 onwards at night so that was a plus. All the campers were very friendly. The play area for the kids was good and planty of space for them. The bar was good, toilets and showers were fine. The views of the countryside was outstanding and you would be hard pushed to find better. The staff were very friendly and helpful so Customer Service was first class. The only downside apart from the slight slope, was the shop was very basic and not open all the time. All in all, I would recommend this site. If you do go, spend a day at Chatsworth House - Breathtaking!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Debbieastan 11 reviews from this member

The location of this site is beautiful, the pitches are reasonable and the facilities are clean and warm. There's a good sized games field, with wild rabbits running around and an playground which the kids enjoyed. Although this site has a bar, it's is missing a trick. Whilst our group of 30 friends were there the world cup games were just starting, and most of them went off the site into bakewell to watch the England game. The bar did have a small telly and the rest of the site crammed around it to watch.

However, one of the devoted officials for the site was anxious to enforced the rules by making sure you had the check-in tag fastened to your tent and gazebo,(WHY) and keeping the noise down after 11pm. Which was difficult when the group returned for the England match. This petty enforcement was unnecessary at 2 minutes past. We all know the rules when camping and do normally quieten.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: STEWPOTS4 2 reviews from this member

Just got back from 6 excellent nights at Greenhills. We loved it especially the children who made loads of friends and played for hours in the play parks or in the playing field. The facilities were good with plenty of showers, toilets and hot water. The shop sold the basics and took newspaper orders. The bar was ideally situated next to the play parks so we could have a relaxing drink (local real ales) while the children played nearby. The staff were lovely and friendly. There was plenty of washing up sinks and we even used the laundry facilities which were reasonably priced. My only negative comment would be the camping field is on quite a slope but this will definitely not put me off a return visit.

The site is about a mile (a comfortable walk) outside of Bakewell, a lovely little village full of shops (including a supermarket), pubs and cafes. Its also ideally situated for a visit to Chatsworth House.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clarky72 1 review from this member

Had our first camping experience here as a family - 2 small children, stayed for 5 nights - loved it. Ideal for a first timer, 2 playparks just outside the small bar. Children thought it was great, pitches slightly on a hill but nothing extreme.

4 showers in the block with plenty of toilets and 3 more in a portable cabin, could have a couple more washing up sinks but only had to queue a few minutes. Toilets quite clean, seen some reviews about the showers being a bit on the small side but I coped with my 2 daughters - just! Had a lovely time, only a mile from Bakewell. Will return.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dodgywhite 1 review from this member

Just returned from an excellent 3 night stay at Greenhills. This is an excellent site close to bakewell where there is an expanse of shops at your disposal, plus it is a lovely little town well worth a visit, especially on Mondays which is market day. Do try the Bakewell puddings they are amazing!

Greenhills has a great play area for the kids and a large field for ball games. There are two shower/ toilet blocks which were kept very clean, The only downside was the shower cubicles were fairly small which meant trying to shower the kids was a struggle. Would be nice if there was a family room.

Great pub on site which served real ales and reasonablyly priced plus a small shop which sold the basics.

The only downer was the pitch sizes could have been slightly larger, we have a 5m x 7m unit which with the car was a squeeze and we had some new to camping campers pitch their tent a metre away from ours. That was just too close for me, no 6m rule here.

Overall though this is an amazing site and will be revisiting again this summer.

Previous     260 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5586 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019