Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pinewoods Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Wells Next The Sea > Pinewoods Holiday Park > Reviews

Pinewoods Holiday Park
Beach Road
Wells Next The Sea
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR23 1DR
Tel: 01328 710439
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 114 Reviews
                7/10 from 114 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mjws 3 reviews from this member

 Location, location, location! Yes the shower blocks are pretty primitive and I'm sure the place is heaving in August but - it's right by the most stunning beach. Incredible walks. Wells is just far away enough to justify a pint when you've got there and the walk back makes up for overconsumption of seafood at The Corner House restaurant.

Very friendly staff, good little shop. Well worth an off season visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LauraD 1 review from this member

 Disappointed. I'm sure OK if stopping in a static or touring caravan, as the facilities around that area looked fine. Unfortunately we are campers and, despite having booked in advance we were left to find a pitch on an field which was uneven, not marked out and highly exposed to the elements.

The only facilities provided on this field was 4 portaloos (not even the cabin-style ones, a sink and a wheelie bin (which was left overflowing for 2 days of our stay. If we had paid maybe 4 per night for this it would have been fine, but the price of 13, and the site's website had us believing there was slightly better in store.

A 5 minute walk through static caravans bought us to the shower and toilet block which was in a terrible state with mouldy shower curtains and stained toilet bowls.

I can only conclude that Pinewoods only particularly care for those who hire a static site (as I say, the touring caravan pitches appear fine, but I did not check the shower facilities) and this was further reinforced when I wrote to the manager mentioning my issues. 6 weeks later I have had no reply.  


Date of Visit: June 2005
Reviewer: Kmpott 3 reviews from this member

 We visited this site in June. The location was great, and access to the site was easy. However when travelling to this site I would avoid the coastal A149 road it can be narrow through the villages, instead take the B1105 from fakenham.

If you park your car in Wells, parking on the Quay is 2.50 no matter how long you stay, the other car park next to the pub is 60p an hour. If you have a Dog, the beach is 5 minutes away through the Pinewoods,and the beach there is Dog Friendly. For dog owners the 2 pubs in Cley, The George and The Three Swallows are dog friendly and allowed inside.

The pitch I had in the Tern section was a standard and there was plenty of room for caravan, awning and car. In fact the pitch was bigger than the super pitches. The only criticism of the site was even though the toilet blocks were clean, using the showers the floors around the cubicles were always flooded, it was as if the drains could not handle the amount of water. Also a strange thing was the elsan disposal point, for some reason it had a grid across it,so when you emptied in to it, well use your imagination.

But above all these are minor niggles and We will definitely visit there again. Next time for 2 weeks. 


Date of Visit: June 2005
Reviewer: Liz + Peter 15 reviews from this member

 Just home from our first visit to Pinewood. We took advantage of the weather forecast and were not disappointed. The camp-site was just a gentle stroll away from the glorious sandy beach at Wells, and beautiful walks through the pine trees. There were wild roses, honeysuckle, foxgloves, numerous birds and rabbits, not to mention the ubiquitous ducks which called in for a snack each evening!

The site itself is quite large, and the pitches could be larger, but the facilities were adequate. There was always piping hot water in the showers, although these would be improved by a coat of paint. We will return as the site is so convenient for bird-watching, beaches, and delicious local food! 


Reviewer: Country Girl 21 reviews from this member

 July 2004
We've visited this site several times over the last 7-8 years and keep going back. This is entirely due to where the site is located - right on the huge beach (although not visible from the site) and a lovely bracing mile-long walk into Wells along the sea wall. We've had our share of problems eg being allocated a pitch that had an electrical unit in the middle of it. Being squashed on a pitch due to inconsiderate pitching by others etc. However, any complaints have been sorted out efficiently by the staff.

The owners have slowly made improvements over the period we've been visiting and yes, the tent area has shrunk as they seem to be expanding the log cabin and static areas.

Only a couple of gripes - the loos are ready for upgrading and you're not allowed to pitch a pup tent next to the caravan (would have to pay for a seperate tent pitch!). The superpitch area for caravans is nice but some pitches can be a bit tight. Wells is tiny and not that commercialised, a couple of arcades to keep our teenagers happy.

There's plenty of walking and cycling around. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Annemarie1 1 review from this member

 September 2004
What a super place Pinewoods is!! I tried to go camping at Pinewoods during August (when the weather was pretty bad). The staff i spoke to were very honest and told me it was a bit too bad for tents.
So I decided to go for the 1 night on saturday Sept 4. The weather was glorious and when we got there (me and 2 children) were greeted very warmly and were directed to what they call the Paddock. Even though they had suffered during the bad weather they were using this part of the site for tents as it was dry. The usual place for tents is by the lake. We took a wander there and must admit it looks idyllic so will go back and check it out next year. The reason they had closed it was to let the area dry out and let the grass recover. Thats what I call caring!!
There was loads of space in the Paddock
so finding a quiet part was no trouble.

The shower/wc blocks were fine and the shop and cafe were very good. Prices in the cafe very reasonable and the tables outside in the courtyard were clean and the bacon and egg baps were lovely!! A short walk crossing the road and there was the sea!! When the tide is out you can walk for miles!!

Overall we had a great stay and will certainly be going back there!! Wells itself is only a little walk down the sea front or a short trip on the train!! 


Reviewer: dsnooks 4 reviews from this member

 July 2004
Toilet blocks next to our pitch were closed all week for maintenance, though we never saw anyone working in there, which meant having to walk to the blocks further away, the only thing with this was if the cleaner had closed them when you got there you had to have a trek across to the other ones.

We were quite worried about security, (there are security guards on duty 24 hours a day) but there seemed to be a lot of people walking onto the site to use the toilets from the car park situated next to the site.

Tent pitches did not have a lot of room around them, glad we were on the outside of the field rather than having to get our car in between all the tents in the middle. 


Reviewer: emgin 13 reviews from this member

 May 2003
Pretty large site but very well managed. We decided to 'nip to Norfolk' on spec one weekend so only stopped the one night (Saturday). The weather was fantastic so maybe other campers had the same idea because it was quite busy. Luckily we didn't have to pitch up on the 'overflow' field which I'm glad about because it certainly is a trek to the loos and the grass is very overgrown (or was).
Our particular toilet/shower block wasn't brilliant but there were other nicer blocks not too far away so it wasn't much of a problem. The shop on site is great but ran out of beer - mind you that is hardly their fault - it was very warm and we all know how campers like their beer and BBQ's. I would go again - lovely part of the country and a pretty decent site on the whole. 


Reviewer: philaw 5 reviews from this member

 May 2003
If it's a flat site your after, here it is. Flat, good and numerous toilet blocks, a one mile walk takes you to Wells for pubs, amusement arcades and chip shops. A few hundred metres from the site is a long sandy beach that is one hundred times bigger when the tide is out!
Shop on site is as good as you will find, better than some supermarkets. A small cafe caters for breakfast and snacks during the day, but shuts early as does the shop.
Shopping in Wells is restricted to souvenirs and candy floss. Many people we spoke to go back year after year, speaks volumes. We shall go back.  


Reviewer: BobbiesGirl 2 reviews from this member

 May 2003
Have been coming to this site for the past 15/20 years, at various points throughout the year. Have to say I'm very disappointed with the site in recent years, it seems to have become a little less tent-friendly, making the tent pitches area smaller and smaller to make room for more statics. They get booked up very quickly too, maybe just because less tent space? But their answer to this is an 'overflow' field for tents whereby we've had to flatten 3 foot of grass in the past before we could pitch! The overflow field also has no facilities at all and you have to walk back onto the main site to use the toilet/shower blocks etc. not really ideal in the dead of night!! Having said that, the shower blocks are clean. The site is well located for the beach and woodland strolls. A good shop and the novelty train for the ride. 3/4 mile to town.  


Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Pinewoods Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pinewoods Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pinewoods Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wells Next The Sea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


58452 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement