Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie > Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite > Reviews

Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite
Hoddom
Ecclefechan
Lockerbie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG11 1AS
Tel: 01576 300251
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 91
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 142 Reviews
                8/10 from 142 Reviews

Photos (27)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  142 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: 12tintrev 3 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site. Plenty of room for the motorhome and awning. Site is well drained, so IF we have had a wee bit of rain, no problem, you can still enjoy the plenty of grassy areas that this site has to offer. Toilet and shower blocks are kept spotlessly clean, plenty of room in the showers, and even a seperate cubicle for you to have a shave. Site shop stocks all the necessities, and the bar prices are very reasonable. Good childrens play area, with no noise at all late at night. As for the golf and fishing that this site has to offer, I never heard of anyone complaining, so all in all an excellent site with plenty to do, if thats what your looking for, or if you just want to chill and relax, well you can do that too. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Markyboy72 2 reviews from this member

 Great campsite. Great Facilities. Would definitely go back. The site is large being mostly taken up with caravans. The main tent area was spacious with pitches that were plenty big enough for our large 8 man tent. If the site had been busier then there probably would not have been enough room to park our car next to the tent but there is a large car park right next to the tent area.

I would recommend this site to families as there is a lot of open space, great play area with swings etc for different ages groups, good family friendly bar with a quiz every Saturday. They even have a room with a bath which is handy if the kids need a good scrub!

Toilets / showers were excellent condition and always very clean. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mary mchugh 1 review from this member

 A brilliant peaceful site, well set out, very friendly and helpful staff. One way system for traffic. Excellent. Nice bar and restaurant good prices. Nicely situated for exploring South of Scotland and North of England definitely a repeat visit park. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: UncleMart 3 reviews from this member

 To me this is best campsite I have been too. Close to a motorway but far enough away to not hear it at all.

This has a bar and take out restaurant which was very nice.

The toilet block were just excellent and there was a little games room and crazy golf and normal Golf and bike hire on site.

Lots of places to walk and a easy drive to Gretna and Dumfries.

This site was one of the first I went to and it has now made me abit of a campsite snob when visiting other sites. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Morag123 2 reviews from this member

 We really liked this site and will return next year.

The toilets and showers were always clean and there was lots of them which meant you didnt have to wait to use them. The toilets were locked which helped in stopping kids playing in them.

We had food in the bar and from the take a way. The food was really good and the portions were big. Great value for money. Dogs are allowed in the bar which was good for us so we were able to get away from the tent as we cant leave him there alone.

The only negative we had was that the shop didnt have very much information on the surrounding area (they were waiting on more info being delivered) however we just went into town and used the tourist info

Staff are friendly and helpful 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bobjan21 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed a couple of nights in September as a stopover on the way back from the highlands to Manchester.

We followed the well signed directions from the website without any problem, although others we spoke to had missed it completely.

We realised that it was a large family site and had asked for a quiet pitch. Perhaps this is why we had to reverse uphill into a hardstanding pitch which sloped in two directions.

The toilet disposal point is a long walk away. When you get there you find that it's in a locked building, opened by the toilet swipe card. Which of course is back in the caravan!

Complaints over; it's a wonderful site in the grassed and wooded grounds of a castle with a river running past and an adjacent golf course.Both on site, in the surrounding woodland and by the river are plenty of walks.

There are ample clean toilets, our nearest one had a noisy door which was attended to immediately it was mentioned to the maintenance man. There is a small shop and restaurant which we didn't use and nearby is the small market town of Annan which is worth a visit. At Gretna is a retail outlet with a wide range of shops and ample parking.

Would we go there again? Yes but on condition that we had a better pitch. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stan Wellaway 7 reviews from this member

 At the end of September, my partner and I had all but finished our 23-day camping tour of Scotland and were looking for one last site before heading back home to Pembrokeshire. Throughout the trip we had relied solely on a road atlas, with sites indicated but no clue as to what they would be like. We had already rejected one at Mouswald. In fact we had two road atlases - both showing Hoddom Castle in different positions - and both showing a nearby campsite in slightly different positions too!

After driving round and round and scratching our heads, we stumbled upon the entrance in a position that tallied with neither map, and feared the worst as we drove along the darkly shaded driveway. Then the scene opened out into the best-kept site we'd seen on the whole trip! There were just 2 tents in the camping area, with dozens of great pitches available to choose from - so we pitched right in the middle. £10.50 for our 2-person (non-electric) tent. The best toilet and wash facilities we'd seen anywhere in Scotland. An onsite bar and restaurant, and a castle as a backdrop for photos. What a pity we were only stopping one night. We will definitely be calling again now we've found it. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Leo.one 4 reviews from this member

 We spent our main 2 week holiday on this site & loved every minute of it. Plenty of room on the hard standing pitches. No feeling of claustrophobia at all.

Facilities were excellent. 2 toilet blocks both kept in pristine condition. The main block near the bar & restaurant had all the showers in whilst the smaller block had toilets & washing only.

The smaller toilet block would benefit from adding 2 or 3 showers & chemical toilet disposal facilities as the only chemical disposal point is well behind the main building. A good way from most of the caravan pitches. This would be my only gripe because everything else was just about faultless.

You were made to feel very welcome by the site wardens.All the staff were friendly & helpful at all times. We would have no hesitation in recommending this site to anyone who wants a peaceful & relaxing holiday. Everything you would need is there. Including a nice pay & play golf course.

We enjoyed our stay & look forward to returning as soon as possible. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Claireiom 11 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed a few days here in August.† We had EHU with the tent, the tents are pitched on the area closet to the bar, shop, toilets etc so not to far to go for anything.

The bar is in a lovely courtyard with an outside eating area.† Good news for dog owners is that they are allowed in the bar as long as they are not on the seats.† I think that this would attract you to here as you have no need to worry about them.† You can eat in the bar or there is a separate restaurant (serves most of the same meals as the bar mind) There is also a takeaway on site so plenty of choice.

We visited Annan on one day where there are plenty of walks that you can do (the shop had a brochure detailing them all) There is also walks that start near the park through woodland.

The site is also close to Gretna and the outlet village so things to do if the weather is not so good.

Loved the site, and we definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BigMona 97 reviews from this member

 Used Hoddom as a stop over point on our way south coming from the highlands. It is ideal for this due to its proximity to the M6.†The site itself is large and houses quite a few staticís. The pitches were good sized†and were drive on one site and drive off the other. Ideal for a motorhome! The toilets and showers were spotless and the hot water plentiful. The bar is fantastic, the beer cold and the food hot. Real good portions and value! It doesnít take cards though so stock up on cash!†In all, a great site in a great setting and a great price. I would not hesitate in returning. 


Previous     142 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lockerbie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3275 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement