Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Waterside House Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Waterside House Campsite Reviews

Waterside House Campsite
Waterside House
Howtown
Penrith
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486332
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 190 Reviews
                8/10 from 190 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  190 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Standy 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed for four nights in August and enjoyed it.

Positives:

1/ The location was great. Pitched our tent facing the lake and had some lovely views.

2/ Excellent base location for walking. Also close to Pooley Bridge where there are nice pubs, a tourist info building and a decent shop.

3/On-site shop was stocked well and not over-priced.

4/ We didn't take children, but site was very child-friendly.

Negatives:

1/ Not enough shower facilities for the size of the site. The queue for the females was always long.

2/ It's good that they kept the toilet blocks clean, but while we were there they seemed to be closed for cleaning for long periods at every busy time of the day. There was a portable toilet block around the back for cleaning times, but once I found this was being cleaned at the same time and of an evening it had no lighting switched on.

3/ A couple of the staff weren't as helpful as they could have been, although others were great.

Good site, enjoyed our stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nic n paul 1 review from this member

 Considering how busy the site was the toilets were kept clean and tidy,there was ample hot water. The shop on site had most things stocked but only used it for ice lollies, there is a morrisons supermarket only 10 mins away at penrith.

As said before a nice walk upto pooley bridge by the lakeside, only visited one pub there it was very busy but pleasant.All in all a fantastic site all the staff were pleasant and the views are amazing.

Cant wait to go back to this site again, will camp next time without ehu just so we can camp on the lake shore 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suncamp0718 1 review from this member

 We chose the campsite, due to the excellent location, for both Pooley Bridge, and easy access to other areas in the Lakes. We were not disappointed with the location at all. The campsite is only a 15 minute walk from Pooley Bridge, which has a number of pubs, which also serve the usual pub grub.

The site is on the shore of Ullswater, which meant the children could play in the water with their canoes, and also swim from a number of beaches on the shore line. Great! as the weather was good. The shop was adequate and there was a play area and lots of places for the children to explore freely and safely.

The pitch we had was a good size,and relatively quiet through the week. Sadly, quiet time after 11pm was not adhered to at all by any of the arrivals on the Friday evening, and at 1am, I had to ask campers parked next to me to please be quiet. This was unfortunate, and there appeared to be a lot of large groups on the site.

The toilet facilities were clean, but there weren't enough of them to cater for the large number of people on the site, and we often had to queue for a shower in the morning and to use the toilet.

Although we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, I am not sure whether we would return during the school holiday periods or at weekends, as the noise was a problem, as was the lack of toilet facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Snasha 13 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 10 day visit to this site. This site couldn't be better situated ! It's right on the edge of the stunning lake Ullswater, with a wonderful fairly short off road walk direct into Pooley Bridge. We took our dog with us as she really enjoyed the walk!

There is plenty to do in the surrounding area, and also on the campsite itself. We have 2 children aged 8 and 9. They thoroughly enjoyed riding their bikes around the site and the children's play area was fab !

A couple of criticisms however ! 1) There were far too many tents allowed to pitch during the weekend. We arrived back from Pooley Bridge one night and thought we had arrived at a music festival - there were tents crammed in everywhere ! This leads to my second criticism 2) there were simply not enough facilities to comfortably cope - neither toilets (which kept getting blocked) nor showers !

Thirdly cars are allowed to drive around the site far to fast ! There are no speed limit signs and at times it was simply dangerous! And finally - the 'blurb' says families and no groups - nearly every other pitch was a group !  


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Redford68 2 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from this site, which is in a fantastic location right on the shoreline of Ullswater. We booked a pitch for 1 week with electric hook up (pitch 3) which disappointly was not at the side of the lake, it was situated along the back edge next to the very busy Howtown Road.

However it was only a short stroll to the water's edge and there was a fabulous walk into Pooley Bridge village along the lake shore which took approx 15 mins, where there are 3 fab pubs and access to the steamers and motor launches.

The catering van was very handy and the lady running it was very friendly and happy to give tips on days out. This is a working farm and therefore there was a lot of noisy sheep which is to be expected.

The toilets and shower facilities were completely inadequate for the size of the park, after the main field there were 2 other very large fields without toilet/ shower facilities! Be prepared to queue if you like your shower first thing in the morning, I resorted to 2pm!

If you end up in the larger fields be prepared to walk along way and you'll definitely need a torch at night. They have been some Portable loo cabins added on, but these were not in a very good state of cleanliness or repair. The facilities were very 'tired' and need to be re-vamped ASAP! They were cleaned - but at peak times. Overall a great location to camp but poor bathroom facilities! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thehanmers 3 reviews from this member

 Following our first visit to Waterside, I felt I must leave a review and a couple of top tips for fellow campers. Family of three ( son aged 10 ) and a well behaved woof who was tethered on the lead.

Firstly this site is set in a beautiful location, you really will struggle to get a better view for this price in the Lakes. If you go mid week and get there reasonably early you should easily get a lake view.

This site gets very busy during the weekends but mid week it is much quieter and peaceful

As this is a lakeside camp, wind breakers are a good idea especially if you pitch on a hill ( the wind can be somewhat reckless as it passes over the lake )

Practical - Showers are lovely and hot ( take flipflops - nothing against the site as they do provide a mop bucket for each camper to clean up but. People will be people and there are as on other sites those who are not as respectful to others ) Get a shower before 8am or after 11am to ensure no queues.

Portaloos and potacabin blocks with Hot water and two toilets in each. It is not a random loo in the middle of the field. Again these are cleaned regularly and it is only the minority of lazy campers not cleaning up after themselves that cause these to become untidy ( wellies a definite in the loo blocks )

Great shop, great butty bar, great staff, lots of hot water and a well kept site ( the farmer whizzes round on his quad with his sheepdogs in the back ). There are great opportunities to see miltary aircraft as they occasionally zoom past the lake. The bins are emptied regularly and the site is well maintained.

It is only the minority of lazy campers - using the word campers loosely that do not clean up after themselves that cause any problems. If you do go please be respectful of others and clean up after yourselves.Observe the rules and have a great time. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Purpletent 1 review from this member

 Just returned from our first camping trip with our toddler and found this site excellent. The play area is good, toilets/showers clean and functional and the shop well stocked. The 'butty wagon' does a mean bacon and egg butty too for the morning when you can't be bothered! They also hire row boats with motor boats available to hire further along the lake.

Yes there are only 4 showers but we went mid afternoon when there were no queues. It is busier early evening when the cyclists/walkers etc get back but that is what you would expect.

The 'quiet time' from 11pm was not stuck to by other campers. We were on the family field but this didn't seem to matter. The next day the wardens came round to apologise for the noise and explain the responsible parties had been warned. The second night was much better.

The lakeside walk is lovely, our 2 year old walked almost all of the way (good job as we didn't bother with the pushchair although many did and seemed to manage) and Pooley Bridge has a lovely ice-cream shop along with a few shops and 3 pubs. We went to the Pooley Bridge Inn. Toddler enjoyed play area while we enjoyed the beer! Food was also good.

Dogs are allowed on site and the majority of campers stick to the 'dogs on a lead' rule with most tethering dogs by the tent. On more than one occasion though we saw dogs running free. Shame this wasn't enforced as not only do they cause chaos with tethered dogs.

All in all a good site to which we will return (with extra bread to feed the ducks with!)although next time we will arrive earlier to get a better pitch (we arrived at 3pm on Friday) 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LimeH 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Waterside House for 3 nights from a Wednesday, leaving on Saturday morning.

The site is in a beautiful location, right on the lake and our 5 year old twins had hours of fun playing in the water and feeding the ducks. There is also a small play park which also kept them entertained.

Pooley Bridge is a lovely walk away following the lake side where you can find pubs, shops, a lovely tea room and post office where you are able to get cashback (depending on bank) which saved us a drive into Penrith.

On arrival staff were friendly and said we could pitch anywhere other than ehu, we chose a lovely spot in the family field, where the boys had enough space to play football, bat and ball etc

We found the site to be extremely clean and tidy and didn't encounter any problems with facilities i.e. having to queue or no soap etc.

The only major problem for us to be honest was the noise at night. We chose the site as we thought it would be quietish after 11pm as stated on the website. We found the noise to be excessive, loud singing, laughing talking and the noise policy was not enforced. There is only security on a weekend and a mobile number for you to ring on the notice board for other times.

In summary, nice clean site in beautiful location but I wouldn't recommend a visit if you like your sleep. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Drewr 9 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 3 night stay at this site with friends. We had 2 tents and although the site was quite busy we had no problem pitching together in the family field.

This site is a fantastic location right by the side of the lake and only a short walk to the village of Pooley Bridge.

Pros

Helpful and friendly staff

Clean facilities

Plenty of hot water

Boat hire with life jackets - we had great fun on the lake.

Well stocked shop

Rubbish bins emptied daily

Cons

Dogs allowed to wander around un attended

Speed limit not enforced and a number of cars were going faster than they should have been around young children

Not enough showers and washing up sinks

Will definitely go back but at at a time when not as busy. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jokevin2 3 reviews from this member

 Booked in advance for a small party of well behaved motorcyclists, to arrive after a long days riding from scotland to find we were directed to a field across the road, away from the main site (and views)

The field was extremely sloped, not suitable for use or parking of a motorcycle and also made suitable pitching of tents a nightmare !

The village shops were shut by 9 0'clock and the pubs also stopped serving food by then, Bearing in mind it's a good 20-30 minute walk to reach them. 


Previous     190 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Waterside House Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waterside House Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Waterside House Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1790 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement