Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Waterside House Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Waterside House Campsite > Reviews

Waterside House Campsite
Waterside House
Howtown
Penrith
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486332
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 28/03/2024 to 01/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 208 Reviews
                8/10 from 208 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  208 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mckendrys 4 reviews from this member

 Fantastic location managed to get one of the pitches to the rear of the house with a beautiful view up the lake.

First time with electric hook up and would highly recommend it.

Walked along the lakeside to Pooley Bridge which took about 30 mins.

Toilet/shower facilities where very good and an additional shower block was being added during our stay.

On site shop very handy.

Owners very friendly and helpful.

Will definitely be returning to this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Delboy17 1 review from this member

 Have just returned home from a weeks stay here and I can't complain at all. All the facilities were very good and kept clean throughout the whole week. Location is great, right on the lake side and with a very nice and easy stroll into the local village of Pooley Bridge. We don't have any children but there was a new play area which seemed to be very popular with the kids.

There is a small shop on site which is well stock however we did only use this for milk as all other food was purchased from the local supermarket which is about a 10 min drive away. We had an electric hock up pitch - nice as there is a hard standing for parking the car which each electric pitch has however if you are not having electric hock up pitch then the pitches are not allocated so you just find a spot and set up.

The site was very empty during the week but come Friday it became very busy as people were heading in for a weekend break. Electric Pitches 1-8 did have a road behind them (with trees between) but this did mean that you could hear traffic passing - it's not a busy road but I am a fairly light sleeper and did find that passing traffic did wake me - the other electric pitches did not back onto the road so I don't think you would have this issue with them.

While there was no problem for us with the showers I believe this was only because it was so empty during the week. There are only 4 showers for men and 4 for women so during busy times I can see this causing a problem however they are in the process of building a new block of showers.

Other facilities (which we did not use) including a laundry room, boat and cycle hire.

We had a very enjoyable stay here and would recommend. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kathsav 3 reviews from this member

 We had a great stay here. Managed to pitch right on the lake shore at the top of the little hill. Gorgeous view and a great place for the kids to play safely in the water - gently shelving shore.

Lovely walk along the front to Pooley Bridge -tearooms very reasonably priced for lunch, pubs cater for families well (we liked the one with the fort play area, can't remember it's name). Good walk in the opposite direction to Howtown, turn uphill and follow the footpath to avoid the road, and back on the ferry (pricey but a nice treat, we should have brought our Tesco vouchers).

We found the shop staff helpful,(small shop but seemed to stock the essentials) main toilets good and cleaned regularly - portakabin toilets in field sometimes had a queue, but not much further to walk to the main block. Showers also good,warm, free and clean - as stated by others, there were only 4 ladies showers, definitely not enough but we could see that more were being built, hopefully they'll be ready soon. Lovely new play area.

Would definitely recommend this site. 10/10 when there are more showers. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Catmc 2 reviews from this member

 Arrived early and managed to get a great pitch on the waterfront offering fantastic views across the lake. The lakeside walk to the village takes around 15 minutes and there are a few nice pubs serving real ales.

However there are no restaurants and little choice for vegetarians at the pubs.

I'd recommend using the on site boat hire which we really enjoyed. Staff were friendly and toilet blocks clean but a couple of minutes walk from our waterside pitch.

Would definitely recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Soxxy 1 review from this member

 We visited here as a group of couples in June. Unfortunately the weather could have been better- it's an open site so you get quite a wind off the lake. However, that's it's main benefit- the scenery is absolutely beautiful! The site has a nice feeling- it's a mixture of families, couples etc.

The welcome wasn't great as woman who works in the shop/ welcome office isn't the most friendliest of people, however luckily for her the campsite is worth looking past this (this is the second time we've visited and she's never changed).

It's a lovely walk along the lake to Pooley Bridge where there are some lovely pubs and few nice little shops.

It's quiet after 11, and despite the site being pretty busy you don't feel on top of one another. The toilets are clean and well kept, and the showers are basic but clean enough and warm for a camp site (there's even a hairdryer for a small charge). It's handy to be able to refreeze your ice packs in the freezer to help keep food/ drinks cool for the few days.

Overall, a lovely stay and willing to look past the not so friendly welcome. I'd be willing to stay again for the location alone. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: A13hed 2 reviews from this member

 We use this site as a last minute decision when weather is good as we are only half an hour away, you will not be disappointed.

Waking up in the morning with mist clearing over a mirror like lake ullswater takes some beating, as does seeing the sun go down in the evening.

Facilities are a little dated but kept very clean, shop keeps good supplies of every day essentials.

Nice walk along lake shore to pooley bridge where there are plenty of nice pubs for such a small village with excellent jennings ales at the sun inn and huge beer garden and play ground for when the sun is out.

Miles and miles of walks around this area for all abilities, we particularly like setting of from howtown around lake shore path up towards martindale fairly easy going for adults but the kids think they have walked miles :

overall: very good, we choose this site for its location its stunning and good value. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Judithkay 3 reviews from this member

 I went in the school holidays with my family and brother & sister's family 11 of us all together. We took 1 well behaved dog, 1 inflatable boat with engine and a extra car with no objections from the owners.

The week was quite warm and only had one shower of rain all week. It has excellent facilities although you have to queue when its busy. Also the butty van is very reasonable and opens late for an early tea for the kids.

A lovely walk along the shore and your in Pooley bridge with 2 lovely tea rooms which both sell lovely ice creams.

Will definitely go back, and would recommend. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Richbrowning63 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed in a VW camper and had a EHU pitch. This is a great site sitting on the lake edge with a lake walk to the nearby Pooley Bridge for pubs etc.

I really liked the relaxed feel, no roaming wardens, just letting you camp and enjoy yourself.

This is a working farm with a great big cowshed near the main motorhome pitches. If insisting on EHU, avoid pitches 1-8 or better still go without EHU and pitch right on the lakeside with your own cove!

Shop is well stocked, toilets ok, showers could be better but are being upgraded as we stayed.

Overall a lovely site, in a great location promoting a a very camping atmosphere. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campalot1 1 review from this member

 Spent Easter weekend here and have to say our stay was exceptional. Although the site was extremely busy, it seemed to be well managed and there was little noise.

Staff were helpful and cheery and we were given a full brief as to where we could camp, (pretty much anywhere as long as you are not on electric hook up!)

Showers were busy as expected but to be fair on the proprietors they are in the process of building some more!

Boat hire and bike hire were reasonable and advice on walks was available if required.

Views of Ullswater are amazing and it is only a short walk to the Pooley Bridge for a beer or two.

The burger van was good and the kids play area (brand new) was just being finished off and seemed nice and secure.

Will absolutely go back here, lets just hope the sun shines all weekend again! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fifth 4 reviews from this member

 By far and away the best bit about this campsite is the location. Smack bang on the banks of Ullswater with launch facilities available, and walking distance to Pooley Bridge along the lakeside, it's a totally stunning location.

We camped in the family field, which was nice and flat and plenty of space for the kids to run around. The park was nice and the facilities adequate and clean.

There's a small shop which has the essentials and a few toys/games for the kids, and they provide icepack freezing facilities for free and there's a laundry and covered dishwashing area.

My only real complaint about the site was the proximity of the cowsheds to the playpark and the family field. As this is a farm/campsite they do have farm animals in the shed on site immediately adjacent to the family field and opposite the play area.

There was also a big pile of dung outside the shed, and the smell was pretty rank. You had to walk past this to get to the toilets (holding the nose and watching where you walked so you didn't track it back into your tent was essential) and its position right next to the children's play area really wasn't ideal.

One thing to be wary of also, if you're camping in spring time (as we did) and you want to learn where they got the sound effects for Jurassic Park, just listen out for the cows giving birth at 02:30am! Recommendation: bring ear plugs. Or a shot gun. Otherwise the campsite was really quiet. Perhaps the wardens could have a word next time?

I'd definitely return to this site. It has a lot of good things going for it. But perhaps not in the spring time! 


Previous     208 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Waterside House Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waterside House Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Waterside House Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


60626 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement