Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sea Barn Farm Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Fleet > Sea Barn Farm Camping Park > Reviews

Sea Barn Farm Camping Park
Fleet Road
Fleet
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT3 4ED
Tel: 01305 782218
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 15/03/2024 to 01/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 131 Reviews
                8/10 from 131 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Coastersteve 1 review from this member

 Great little site, slightly exposed to the elements but if you choose your pitch well you can be sheltered very well.

Toilet blocks are spotless, they seemed to be cleaned several times a day.

Staff in the shop didn't seem very helpful which is probably the only downer I could find. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Liana 6 reviews from this member

 Visited this site for 9 days over July /Aug beautiful views and at first glance appears to be beautifully kept, lovely new up to date shower cubicals and family rooms , however when more people started to arrive , the toilets struggled to be kept clean (apart from the 2 family rooms, these were always spotless). Barriers had been put up around one end of the toilet block and had been blown down, where they remained for over a week. Was noisy after 11 at night. Still had a lovely time, farm walk was nice. Will be visiting again, just not in summer hols .

Whole area was really busy with long queues at attractions and expensive car parking charges , including at night and on a Sunday. We went on a lovely fossil hunting walk at the lagoon( in which the children paddled) which we found on the Jurassic coast website , you just turn up with waterproof shoes. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dudleycouple 3 reviews from this member

 Nice site - very well laid out.

Lovely new toilet blocks - the old block was fine though.

Reasonably priced shop

Lovely views and good walks if you have a dog

Accommodates large size tents - ours is a Royale Montpellier 12 and is huge.

Now for the downside of the site

Attitude of the staff at Sea Barn was appalling.

My daughters discovered that when certain people were serving in the shop they would not be served or allowed in the shop but when other people were in there then there wasn't a problem.

Was told after 4 days that our tent was in the wrong spot (not our fault) and was too close to another tent. Was asked to move but being as the people in the other tent weren't bothered they said that if we didn't want to move the tent then we wouldn't have to - we didn't.

Bar in the barn was disappointing to say the least

Outdoor swimming pool left a lot to be desired.

The upshot of all this is we wont be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Morgaine 5 reviews from this member

 We chose Sea Barn because it's advertised as being very quiet and a site just for tents. Our first two days were very disappointing - we had noisy neighbours who woke us in the night and then we were woken before 8am by diggers arriving to work on the new shower block.

The rest of the stay, though, was very good. The shower block was finished during our visit and I think we were one of the first to use the impressive showers. They are very nice, but much needed as queues can form in the mornings for showers and use of washing up facilities.

What's good about the site - awesome sunsets and views of Chesil Beach, efficient cleaning staff, new shower block, short walk to South Coast Path, sheltered paddocks to pitch where you choose and a generally quiet family atmosphere.

What's not so good - reception staff didn't know much (like weather forecast), tumble dryer in laundry eats your pounds, large single sex groups camp here, and the site can get a bit blasted by the wind.

We didn't like the adjoining West Fleet site very much - our kids liked the swimming pool but there's nowhere to sit around it. The clubhouse was tatty, expensive and the entertainment was loud and quite embarrassing to watch. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gevans 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our first family camping trip ( 2 adults + 4 year old). We picked Sea barn based upon the previous positive reviews and proximity to Weymouth.

The site is divided into a number of smaller areas by means of hedging. This provides both the feeling of privacy and some shelter from the wind (as the site is on a hill it sometimes gets a bit blowy).

The site has a good mixture of both serviced and non serviced pitches and when we arrived on Saturday afternoon there were still a good selection of both. We pitched our 4 berth tent on a non- serviced pich overlooking Fleet bay

And enjoyed some magnificent views.

By Saturday evening there were in excess of 100 bookings and at no point did the site feel overcrowded.

The new toilet block opened on the day we arrived and is a great addition to the site. There are a number of single sex facilites along with some family bathrooms - all of which are great quality. We also made use of the older washrooms and I'd agree with other reviewers in that the blocks are clean, but old. That said, had the old blocks been the only available I'd have been more than happy as they were always clean and tidy.

There are no entertainment facilities on the site (other than a childrens playground), but this is what we wanted. If you want a livlier site I would go to West Fleet - we could hear an Elvis impersonator plying his trade there from across the field.

This is a great, quiet, family site with good facilities and great views of the Dorset coast.

You are less than 10 mins drive to Weymouth town center and there are plenty of shops in-between to pick up supplies (along with the on site shop).

In short - great site - we will definitely be returning soon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheTranquilEye 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed for three nights at the beginning of July. There were about 60 bookings but the size of the site made it seem empty. The new toilet block near the shop is nearing completion, so I guess it will be ready for high season. We went to the bar on the sister site one night and were disappointed that it was so tatty and expensive. Beers were over pub prices and food (at least to us) was over the top. Jacket potato with cheese 6.50??

Other than that, it's a nice quiet venue with spectacular views over the Fleet and Chesil. Can get very windy on the exposed pitches but that's the price you pay for a lovely view. There's plenty of more sheltered areas though. The old toilet block is showing it's age, so we cheekily drove to the sister site's new block for showers. Altogether a peaceful site and good for the price. Recommended. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helen Small 8 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from a weeks camping. All in all we had a great time, Weymouth is an excellent holiday town and the weather was good.

The campsite in general was very pleasant, if you are prepared to camp right next to the toilet block then there is the most beautiful view of Chesil Bank.

As mentioned in previous reviews, the toilet block is a bit dated, but was kept clean. However, until the new block is completed the facilities are very few. The ladies in particular, whilst blessed with many, many toilets has only 3 (draughty) showers for the entire site (the mens has 5). Although there were plenty of sinks, there was nothing available for my 2 year old to wash or be washed in, not even a chair to stand on. Taking this into account, I find it fairly ridiculous that we had to pay extra to bring a child.

Other than that, the site was fine, good access to Weymouth, an adequately stocked camp shop - if you can navigate the random opening times, and a decent children's playground.

The site as a whole was beautifully maintained and the staff were very friendly. There is a walk down to the shore which is really lovely on a nice day.

A good site for campers without children. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wheezsmith 3 reviews from this member

 Spent a few days here at half term. Had typical British weather sun & showers plus very windy and heavy rain.

Chose a large electric pitch due to size of our tent - Outwell Georgia XL. Very nice pitch - flat and spacious. If we were just round the corner we would have had a lovely sea view. We just went for a walk every evening and watched the sunset. Nice open space in front of pitches which also had the water point.

As said by other people the downside to this site is the outdated toilet blocks. There are new ones being built (this can be seen on their sister site at West Fleet - they look beautiful) but are not ready yet. Saying that they were always clean and fairly warm. You had to choose your shower carefully as some weren't the most powerful and you definitely had to wait for the washing-up facilities.

Didn't use the campsite shop as Weymouth and lots of shops are only a 10 minute drive away. Did get milk from there but didn't sell newspapers a bit disappointing on a Sunday Morning.

They do have a swimming pool & eating facilities at West Fleet but I didn't use as meant a drive or a long walk.

Surrounding area is good for kids and quite a few things to be done - we did

- Swanage railway

- Corfe castle (accessed via swanage railway)

- Weymouth beach (beautiful sand & clean)

- Sealife centre (forgot to take trunks & towels and kids missed out on the water play)

Would probably use site again as nice view and position to Weymouth but wouldn't choose if you wanted lots of facilities. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davemw 21 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from a long bank holiday stay here,and what a great time we had. The pitch was well roomy for our Kura 600. The showers were very clean and tidy at all times of the day and night, so were the toilets & wash hand basins, all spotless! The hot water Was Hot and plenty of it too even in busy times still hot. The shop opened odd hours but had most things you may need.

There are however a number of pitches that look right over Fleet Lagoon,And my goodness what a breath taking view on clear nights of the the sunset they have.

The walks from here are as you like,we walked to Fleet village then turned right and walked the coastal path back.We all slept well that night ! but then we did every night its so quite on the site.

This is one of the really good sites we have come across,our 9 and 10 year olds had a great time to,plenty of space for them to play in,as well as a play park for them too.

The swanary is close by,but we went at Easter.

We did try the Sub Tropical garden,but a Family ticket of 28 is too much to look at some plants.

All in All we had a really great holiday at Sea Barn farm,We will go again 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: VMac 2 reviews from this member

 My partner and I stayed at this site in early September.

We were not asked to pay any kind of bond on arrival; this may have been because it was not peak season, but that was a bonus.

The site was pretty empty; we had between two and five other tents in our field at any one time.

On arrival the shop/reception was closed (it opened between 8.30 and 10am and then 5pm until 6 or 7pm) and so a notice on the door advised us to pitch and return to pay the final balance when the shop was open. This enabled us to choose where we pitched which I don't believe is the case in peak season. A 10 surcharge would be added to fees collected on the field.

The views from the back fields were absolutely amazing. There was also a path directly from our field which led down to the waters edge on The Fleet Lagoon where we watched the sun(almost)set every night.There is a coastal path which takes you alongside The Fleet which gives beautiful views of the nature reserve.

The site is large but is broken up into fields, separated by fences and tall hedges so it feels quite cozy.

The showers and toilets are basic, but hot water was available whenever we used them, and they were cleaned at least three times a day, even though the site was relatively empty! They were always spotless. There were notices advising that the toilet/shower blocks would be undergoing a refurbishment during the winter months 07/08 when the site is closed.

The shop had all of the items one would expect and the staff were friendly and informative, giving us information on the local area and facilities available at the sister camp (bar, restaurant, heated swimming pool - we didn't use any of the facilities but did visit the site for a nosy and found it to be much busier with families and children).

There is a pub a few hundred meters down the road but we were advised against this by a fellow camper as being rather unfriendly.

The site is a fair distance (3 to 5miles-ish) from Weymouth, the nearest large town, but if you want the peace, quiet and tranquility, then you cant have both!

There is Abbotts Swannery a few miles up the road, which we decided not to visit due to the 8 per adult entrance fee, but if you had children then it would be worth it from an educational point of view (????). There are some beautiful villages on the journey there though.

Weymouth is everything you would expect from a seaside town. Tourists and families are well catered for and there is plenty to do (The History Walk, boat cruises and fishing trips,Sea Life Centre). The beach is pretty and clean, and dogs are not allowed. There are some gorgeous tea shops, cafes and gift shops nestled amongst the usual seaside naffness. There are many pubs and bars; we watched the football in Rendezvous which was a more modern venue than most of the traditional pubs around, and I can imagine that it would become very busy with people Friday and Saturday evenings.

Portland Bill, a whacking great lighthouse in Portland is a few miles away; there isn't really anything else to see there a part from a few good vantage points to check out the view (it seemed a bit bleak and industrial) but I can imagine that the view from the top of the lighthouse is worth the trip - the tours were not available the day we visited, so it would be worth checking if you plan on going.

All in all, I will definitely be returning to this site as I found it to be everything we were looking for: yes, it is basic, but it is camping! I would recommend out of season, weather permitting, for couples just looking for a few nights away, as I can imagine that it would be far busier in season. We loved it. 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Sea Barn Farm Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sea Barn Farm Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sea Barn Farm Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fleet      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4217 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement