Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beacon Hill Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

CLOSED: Beacon Hill Touring Park
Blandford Road North
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed 2018

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 110 Reviews
                6/10 from 110 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Reviewer: postie 1 review from this member

August 2004
Wow! having just returned from a great week at this site I dont know where to start. Location is great for east or west Dorset! The site itself is better described as a series of clearings in a wood as opposed to a field surrounded by woods. The whole area was just peace and tranquility. The Deer, Rabbits and other wildlife were superb. The ground was a little undulating but We had a large tent and a gazebo so the area we covered was substantial. There was no set area which we had to remain within which was great for us!

The site was clean and well kept. The pool was good but could have done with a lifeguard or someone with authority to maintain order as the teenagers were a bit rowdy at times. Showers were HOT! The ablutions were good and clean! The Staff were very welcoming and friendly! For such a young group they dealt with many situations in a manner not belying they're years! The "no Ball games" rule is a casual thing and is left to individual groups to police! The children with and around us had a good time without affecting everyone else!

The shop had all the basic needs covered. The bar and takeaway were highly recomended by the people we spoke to but we didn't try them so no direct comment! Excellent place! And a jewel if you can get in there! 8/10

Reviewer: kettlewell 1 review from this member

July 2004
Visited this camp site 10 years ago and nothing seamed to have changed. The facilities are still small for the amount of visitors, needs to be updated too. The shop on site is very expensive and the entertainment at the club wasnt very good, but the prices of drinks were not bad. Ideal place to stop if your visiting Poole as its only 3 miles away. Friendly staff though.

Reviewer: Anne Calvert 1 review from this member

July 2004
Friendly site with nice swimming pool, two small lakes for fishing and take away (mostly burgers etc.)We visited during a peak holiday weekend and the site was very crowded. The toilet blocks were inadequate for the number of visitors, dirty and often without paper. The chemical disposal sites were primitive. We were disappointed with the facilities especially at the prices charged.

Reviewer: sheena 2 reviews from this member

June 2004
good site for children (ours are 11 and 7).... plenty of space. 2 parks. swimming pool..... only criticism - the toilet, shower blocks could do with more regular cleaning.

Reviewer: floomel 3 reviews from this member

May 2004
We visited over the very busy May Bank holiday weekend. You can't book over the phone or internet, only by printing out their online form and sending it. I phoned to check availability, and was given 'revised' prices.
Good points: Very friendly site, feels very secure and safe, attractive with trees and 2 small lakes for fishing. Pitches are a good size, and there is an inexpensive takeaway (burger and chips etc). The tracks around the site are very twisty, so traffic is very slow and it feels safe to let the children run about freely.
Bad points: Hmmm well it may have been a busy weekend but at those prices the showers and toilets could have been a lot cleaner. The shop had hardly anything in it at all, all weekend. Quite a few 'Out of order' signs around too.
Overall this is a nice site but expensive, and seems in need of some tidying up and refurbishment.

Reviewer: Bearded_1 8 reviews from this member

July 2003
I stumbled across this site quite by accident on the internet and as none of the usual sites I visit around Poole and the New Forest had an electrical hook-up for the weekend we decided to give it a try.

I was a little apprehensive because after nearly 20 years of caravaning in this area, I had never heard mention of Beacon Hill in any of the recommend site guides and wondered what we might find.

What a great discovery! Beacon Hill is a large site spread out over 30 acres. Each of the camping/caravan areas, seems to be cut into the forest so, it gives a great sense of privacy and getting back to nature. On site there is a licensed bar, takeaway, shop, small fishing lake and an outdoor swimming pool.

The best thing about Beacon Hill for me, is that they don't do much advertising and I reckon that you would be able to get in and find an electrical hook-up on most weekends of the year.

My only criticism and it is a small one, is that the site could do with a little general tidying up, but on the whole, a very nice site and one we will definitely return to.

Reviewer: vince peacham

july 2001
we had a great time the 7 nights my wife, son and i stayed. Can't say i noticed the traffic from the main road and didn't use the pool while we were there. The sight is very picturesque and unregimented which is in-keeping with the sites natural beauty. were planning to go back this July (2003)and have managed to track the site via uk campsite an excellent web site and thanks very much

Reviewer: Claire Sullivan

August 2002
I totally agree with the above sentiments and would very much recommend Beacon Hill. I was very please to find availability at the site when I arrived in Dorset without anything booked. Yes the pool is cold and the price is a little more than I anticipated but the facilities are top class and cleaned often. We found a lovely cycle route locally and the site is only 10mins away by car to a Sainsbury's. This said the site is tucked away quite nicely but you can hear the nearest main road at night. The lady on reception was a sweety. We will be back.

Reviewer: Sian Rolfe

August 2001
Fantastic campsite, we have visited on three occasions and will most definately be returning.

Very picturesque with good vlean facilities.

A must to visit.

Reviewer: Paul Robinson

2000
With two consecutive sunny days predicted, we packed the tent in the back of the car and set off for Bournemouth. Being August, what we should have done was phone a few campsites first and make a booking. The Bournemouth/Poole area does boast some very well-equipped campsites and holiday centres, but if you don't book ahead you'll be left driving around Dorset looking for a site with a vacancy.

This is how we happened to stumble on the Beacon Hill Touring Park, not far from the A35 at Poole and convenient for the New Forest as well as for the seaside. The guide book listed it as a 4-star site, with outdoor heated pool, bar and entertainment facilities, children's playgrounds, two fishing lakes and just minutes from the beach.

Our guidebook predicted a cost of 12 for a tent, two adults and a child, but the actual cost was 19. This site takes cash/cheques ONLY, no credit/debit cards.

The site is large and built on a small hill. That said, the areas at the top and bottom are level and these are the areas where most visitors are pitched. Our pitch was on extremely hard and stony ground and we ended up bending 75% of our aluminium pegs. Other areas of the site were not so dry but still seemed stony. While we were there we were plagued with armies of hungry flying ants, which took some of the excitement out of the trip to say the least!

There are clean and well maintained toilet/shower blocks throughout the site. The shower temperature and flow rate are both adjustable. The dishwashing areas are clean and spacious. The bar area had entertainment (a singer) on the night we stayed. There is a downside if you're more interested in an early night, in that the sound does drift across at least half the site.

There is a cafe/take-away next to the bar area, and the campsite shop is very well stocked. There are two play areas for children, including climbing frames and a large slide. The two lakes cater for those who wish to indulge in some fishing. We were disappointed with the 'outdoor heated pool' which at 21 degrees was even colder than the sea. Maybe there was a problem with the heating system while we were there.

We didn't check whether the sea really was minutes away, although the map suggested it was minutes away by car if anything. The location was certainly suitable for trips into Poole and Bournemouth, and the various lovely beaches in between that most tourists don't seem to have found yet.

Beacon Hill Touring Park is better than many other places we've stayed in, but the price does reflect the facilities on offer. We were disappointed with the stony ground, the cold swimming pool and the fact that they only take cash/cheques (the nearest cash machine is a few miles away), but on the whole it's a good place to let the kids amuse themselves while also offering something for the grown-ups. If you're touring the Bournemouth/Poole area, then bear this site in mind.

Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110     Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


320 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019