Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Greensprings Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Greensprings Touring Park > Reviews

Greensprings Touring Park
Rockley Abbey Farm
Rockley Lane
Worsbrough
Barnsley
South Yorkshire   (Browse area)
S75 3DS
Tel: 01226 288298
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 139 Reviews
                9/10 from 139 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  139 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Plswork23 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned after stay of two nights at this site.

Was met by the owner who told me where tent field was and was more like a green on a golf course than a camping site.

Surroundings lovely and peaceful. Ideal for the break I needed.

Shower block ideal. Compared to sites used in past. Yes it few years old but clean. 20p for a shower. That's nothing lovely and warm.

Pay 50p for air at a garage these days.

Pot washing in a building where local info and supply of books to read in there.

Ok no swings for kids but that obvious to keep noise down. I not a nature lover but found myself amazed by wildlife in area.

On leaving can say this shook owners hand to thank him for his work to keep site so lovely.

Could have been in peak district not feel like Barnsley.

So if want to be pleasantly surprised or need a relaxing break trust me this site as it.

If kids not entertained with wildlife and prefer a swimming pool and lots of screaming kids around then not for you.

Overall brilliant site. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dforlove69 1 review from this member

 To say this site is not far from barnsley you would not believe it. Lovely country side, great walks, and a quiet site, the owner could not do enough to make you feel welcome, but I think it would benefit more if it had a shop and a play area for the kids. Even though we were in a tent I think there needs to be electric hook ups for tents, this is a quiet site and no loud noise will be tolerated my the owner, I would go back to this site just for the wild life you see, we had a great stay. X 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JustineS 3 reviews from this member

 We stay at Greensprings regularly and love this site. It is set in beautiful countryside, with lovely walks and woods surrounding it. The tent field is well maintained with generous pitches and lots of room for children to play and explore. Lifted BBQs are allowed and there is nothing finer than sitting round the BBQ watching the sun setting, the bats flying and hearing the owls in the nearby woods.

Whilst the shower block is older, it is cleaned regularly with a generous, steaming hot shower for 20p. Camping, after all is about getting back to nature and my children love the bugs and the birds nesting in and around the shower block!

Just off the M1 it is in a great location which feels secluded and rural. Lovely pub grub a walk away. We will be re-visiting this site in the summer. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fenderbender 7 reviews from this member

 The last time I stayed at this site was about 12 years ago, I have just visited again and it hasn't changed.

Still has the scruffy toilet/shower block.

I paid at the house and was told it was quiet so I could pitch up anywhere I wanted, when I got to the site there was only one pitch left all the others were taken up with seasonal or caravans in storage, there were no people. They have made an attempt at putting some hard standings down, it will probably be another 12 years before its completed.

Its a shame because it could be a nice site, I live fairly close and would visit regularly if they got the new shower block sorted and tidied up.

I got the impression that they are not particularly interested.

Cost was 15 per night in October.

I have stayed at much nicer certificated sites at less than half this price. They have only themselves to blame for the low ratings. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bfcol 15 reviews from this member

 Not been for a couple of years and when we returned we couldn't believe the Toilet/Shower block is not up and running, this has been going on for 10 years or more, situated in a beautiful area, could be a very nice site (it use to be ) if the Toilet / Shower block was finished and some cleaning up of the site in general was done. We will not go back until things improve. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Braesideman 2 reviews from this member

 Only stayed one night without hook-up.

The site itself seemed nice enough and not far off the M1 so quite handy for overnight stays.

The owners did their best to help us and were polite enough.

Shops not far away and a decent pub close by.

The huge downfall of the site is the toilet/shower block. It's desperate for replacement, awful. And to charge 20p for a shower is unbelievable.

Wouldn't consider a return while they still have the same facilities. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Modenalee 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weekend at Greensprings. We only live a few miles away and know the park as we have walked through it before. Decided on a nice little local weekend away so chose here. The site is really nice and a nice location if you like walks, local pubs and a bit of peace :D More popular that I imagined but not over crowded. The site itself can't be faulted but it does SO SO desperately need the toilet and shower block finishing. A few have mentioned it on here, and mentioned the 20p 7 minute showers being adequate but for me it is no really acceptable in this day and age and with what other sites have to offer. It lets the site down largely. We paid 20 per night for our tourer and 2 adults, 2 kids. We have paid less at haven sites and look at their shower blocks. Would not mind the basics at a more basic price! Get the new block finished (been on with over 10 years I heard lol) and the site would be brilliant!

Other than that no complaints :D If you go, a walk to the Cock Inn is a must :D 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gail C 4 reviews from this member

 We have just spent 3 nights at this hidden gem of a camp site, it is only 20 minutes away from where we live but it is set in a lovely countryside setting surrounded by farmland and woodland. The toilet blocks are a bit dated but very clean, 20 pence gets you 7 minutes of lovely hot water plenty time for a good shower. The surrounding are is perfect for walking, Wentworth Castle is about a 30 minute walk away, Worsbrough water mill is a little further away walking through lovely countryside and other country parks and tourist attractions are only a short drive away, we will be making this site our getaway for long weekends in the future. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Venerable Bede 11 reviews from this member

 We had tried to book here before as we have family nearby and can walk there across the fields. Hence we also knew that there is a vast and wonderful network of paths from the site through fields (some lovely old pasture) and woods and sleepy villages. We managed to get in this time though the site was busy, last weekend of the school holidays and Last Night of the Proms at Wentworth Castle nearby. By Monday morning however the tent field was empty and there was a sprinkling of touring caravans amongst the seasonals.

We loved it - it shot straight up there with our favourites. It really is a pretty spot and the wildlife around is terrific - our grandchildren could have filled in loads of the caravan 'Spotting Books'. Although no designated play area there is so much space that it isn't a problem - we played cricket quite safely and never hit anything but the ball! And plenty of attractions round about to fill in a week or more if you need more entertainment than the immediate area, which includes the deer park and gardens of Wentworth Castle.

If going for the first time it's worth knowing that if you drive up to the barrier at the farm it opens - and you get a token to let you out again when you leave with the van.

As for the Shower Block - we did use it but I think when we go again I'll use the shower in the van. I didn't mind the Daddy Longlegses that much and there was more than enough hot water for 20p -but absolutely nowhere to put things down on - and so tiny cubicles in which to get dry and dressed. I would prefer my nice bathroom in the van - just means kicking out the dog bed from the shower! So yes, we would like to see the new block finished but the situation is so fabulous we will definitely go back.

Incidentally we found the owner very pleasant and helpful and thought that was the icing on the cake. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Claws 1 review from this member

 Well the first time out ever with our tent and we did not know what to expect, very glad we picked this site, it was local (15min's) so if things went wrong we could scuttle home quickly. Needn't have worried though. Great weather. Lovely site and very helpful campers. Toilets clean although a bit old, showers hot 7 min's for 20p. Owner cleans regularly and empties bins. Cracking walks in all directions. We chose to go to the pub, The Cock Inn and had steak and ale pie (yummy). Will be returning to this site soon. Well done 


Previous     139 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Greensprings Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Greensprings Touring Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Greensprings Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barnsley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in South Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4523 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement