Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tyn Cornel Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Bala > Tyn Cornel Camping > Reviews

Tyn Cornel Camping
Frongoch
Bala
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL23 7NU
Tel: 01678 520759
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 67
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 124 Reviews
                9/10 from 124 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  124 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Seroj 1 review from this member

 Wow, excellent, fantastic - that's something we don't ever say about some of the places we visit.   Camping at Tyn Cornel certainly gave us the wow factor for our first visit to camping after many years.
 
The owners Jean and Pete  are most welcoming and look after you through out your visit, taking pride of their camping site for us the public. They have created a camping site that's home from home.  We must mention the exceptionally clean and modern shower/toilet facilities which are checked regularly throughout the day, all that's asked of the campers is that they help by not taking in muddy shoes and wet gear.   Washing up facilities - 3 sinks  with draining boards for those dirty pots and pans and 2 fridge/freezer to store perishable foods - what more can you ask for.
 
The site is situated along side the idyllic river, which you can walk along and watch the water rafting activities as well as  wildlife and blue bells in the spring.  Such a peaceful site and where the sun is out you can certainly catch it.  However take lots of warm cloths for the occasional chilly nights.
 
Two fields, one for tents, the other for caravan homes with electric hook ups.  If you have a television and need an ariel, just ask Jean/Pete.  There's a third field where you can take your dogs, although you need to keep them on a lead on the camping/caravan pitch.  The shop sells most items we forget to take, even hire out board games and books to keep us busy - but if need be the shops are a 10-15 min drive into Bala.  Loads of local walks and scenery to take in.  No time for getting board.
 
The site have rules that keep the site pristine as it is, so we think that everyone should all respect and make an extra effort to keep Tyn Cornel in its pristine condition and help the owners to keep it that way by recycling, not lighting fires which are hazard and not taking in muddy shoes or wet gear into the shower toilet blocks etc etc etc.
 
We have already booked our next visits.  Book early if you don't want to miss out on an exhilarating experience.  Hats off to Jean and Pete and thank you so much for making our stay happy and peaceful one. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Joemac 1 review from this member

 If you want evening entertainment,shops, large play area and nearby facilities, then this is not the place for you!            However, for peace and quiet and de-stressing, it's just the place. Great location, fantastic scenery, good spacious tent pitches, reasonable prices. Our hosts Jean and Peter, couldn't have been nicer. Nothing is too much trouble for them.                
We (my brother) and I were in a Campervan and we were parked across from the Toilet area and the Dishwashing facilty. They were absolutely immaculate. Everything is provided, washing up liquid. Fridge-freezer.                              
We went for a walk along the Tryweryn Trail, which was lovely. Saw a couple of Heron (maybe the same one)?  We went as far as the Dam at Llyn Celyn.                                  
This is a great site, we would go back tomorrow, if just to see that "Pesky Varmint" squirrel. Maybe it wouldn't be there, as they move about a lot! 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bindyindi 4 reviews from this member

 What a top spot! Sleep to the dulcet tones of rushing water and enjoy a magical place and amazing dreams.
Been reading reviews and it seems that fortunately we came before the midgie season. So much has already been said, and yes its true. The facilities on this site are so nice it inspires you to leave a review.wish my bathroom were as nice!
Also noticed campers get a fridge.and in the washing up area they provide courtesy washing up liquid! This would have been my dream site in my backpacking days! Beware the BUBBLES, when washing hair and dishes go easy on the shampoo. The water must be really soft here and tastes amazing. Noticed they sell bottled water in the shop, no need for that, it tastes fresh off the mountain!
Really sound couple running this haven. Makes it special when people care. We stayed extra nights as we slept so well.
Wasn't particularly expensive for us, even though our camper is pretty large, but we are only two and our unit solar-powered.
Not much else to add really. The pull in area at the reception suggested in an earlier review must have been added, as we were able to park and cars pass us.
The location is top banana. Nestled in the rolling hills, the campsite is open and spacious.has well kept garden areas with lots of trees and flowers. Walk out the gate and up the river on an otter trail (we only saw canoes and rafts) but it is truly beautiful. We recommend you check it out if you're in Snowdonia National Park. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anaisbett 1 review from this member

 This is a great site in lovely surroundings.  We spent the May bank holiday here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our children (4 & 5 year old) had a great time and enjoyed watching the activities on the nearby river (which is the home for UK white water centre).  Even though the site was busy it was very well managed and was very quiet in the evenings.
 
The toilets and showers were immaculate and seemed to be continually cleaned. The showers were free and lovely and warm and we didnt have to queue for them.   
 
The owners are extremely helpful and always on hand to answer any queries.  We had pay a supplement of £10 per night as we had a large tent (7m x 7m) so it didn't work out as cheap as some sites.
 
We will definitely use this site again and would recommend it to anyone. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Christine44 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent site, owners very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Toilet block and showers were immaculate with added extras which were very much appreciated.
Fridge freezer an added bonus and pot washing area very clean and well equipped. Lovely area with lots to see and do. A must to visit, we will certainly go back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scu11y 1 review from this member

 I've just completed a two week stay at the site in a large family tent and had a fantastic time. We were booked on for seven days, then moved for the next seven days to Anglesey. The site we moved to was awful (only got to sleep at 3am due to Karaoke in the clubhouse), so it was a quick retreat to Tyn Cornel.
 
We are new to camping and have little experience to benchmark against, but I think that all subsequent sites will be bench-marked against this site.
 
As previously stated the midges are a nuisance, but as long as the usual precautions are taken its not too much an issue.
 
The only downside was that we were pitched for the first week on the river side at the bottom end of the site and the pitch sloped quite a lot towards the river (this is only on three pitches, as the rest are mostly level). On our return for the second week however, we were on a level pitch.
 
The owners, Jean & Pete were very friendly and approachable and run and very clean, tidy and well ordered site that is in a wonderful part of the world with easy access to most of north Wales. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alan-C 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed a the site for a couple of days, the toilets were of the highest standard. Sinks for washing dishes were also well kept.
A freezer is also supplied for freezing your blocks or supplies.
The owner was very helpful and a pleasure to talk to.
The downside. The midgies there is not alot I can add that has not already been said except that they are now in there millions.
would reccomend this site and will be going back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rob Johns 15 reviews from this member

 Tyn Cornel is a first class site, neatly laid out and very well kept. As previous reviewers have mentioned, the new toilet and shower block is of a very high standard and kept immaculate at all times. I think that the words 'attention to detail' would be an understatement.

The site is pretty much divided into three parts; firstly there is the main field which has electric hook up for all pitches, secondly, there is the touring or overflow field, which seems to be utilised for use at weekends for the white water enthusiasts, and thirdly, another field for those extra busy times (used normally for dog walking). The latter two areas are largely without hook ups. We pitched on the main camping field and had EHU, and as we have a small TV, were able to borrow an aerial lead for a small deposit to receive the piped three channels available from the EHU points.

As others have mentioned, the site owners are a pleasant couple although they do insist that site rules are adhered to impeccably. This is possibly one of the reasons for such a successful campsite as it is quite reassuring to know that there will be no real problems during ones stay.

The setting for the site is delightful, although, again as previously mentioned, there is the constant battle against the "vampire" midges in the evenings. If you have one, I would recommend the use of a tent with a sewn in ground sheet and mesh doors and to employ a strict door mesh routine as well as use of good insect repellents.

The only real constructive criticism would be that perhaps a small car park / car passing point could be created at the reception area as we had to wait outside the site several times while people were booking in. Overall I would thoroughly recommend this site and would certainly look at making a return visit in the future. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tensing 1 review from this member

 Very clean, tidy site. The showers and toilet facilities are brilliant, 5 star. Everything well maintained. Good pot washing area with a fridge for campers use. Very friendly and helpful people. You may need some insect repellent. Just a short walk from the White Water Center. Brilliant walking area. When next we go to Wales Tyn Cornel is where we'll be. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Steph16 1 review from this member

 We have been going for 4 years now and find that it is a nice peaceful campsite and both Jean and Pete a very welcoming couple. The campsite is by a river which is nice and quite. The facilities are excellent, they are kept very clean and tidy. Any problems, Jean and Pete are happy to help in anyways. 


Previous     124 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Tyn Cornel Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tyn Cornel Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Tyn Cornel Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bala      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4544 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement