Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Formby Point Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Merseyside > Formby > Formby Point Caravan Park > Reviews

Formby Point Caravan Park
Lifeboat Road
Formby
Merseyside   (Browse area)
L37 2EB
Tel: 01704 874367
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 119 Reviews
                9/10 from 119 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Len. 29 reviews from this member

 This site is basically for statics and tourers.

It is wonderfully located for Formby sand dunes and beach, Liverpool and Southport. There are plenty of pubs & shops within a short drive and the railway station is a 20 min walk, with cheap good connections as far as Chester.

The staff were extremely friendly, and very helpful in suggesting visits, and how to see the red squirrels etc.

We don't have any sanitary facilities in the van and unfortunately those on the site are a bit 1950'ish, but clean. The use of a key for the door, WCs and showers is a pain. There is no soap for a quick hand wash, and no hand driers.

There are no facilities for washing dishes or laundry. (To be fair, this was explained to me on booking). We also had to explore a bit to find the fresh water.

It was however a generally great week and I would love to see the facilities improved to enable campers to fully enjoy this lovely area. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stef and mandy 21 reviews from this member

 Reviewed this site before as basically fantastic location (especially with dogs) to explore the dunes and beach, clean but very tired. Nothing changed for this visit. On our last stay we had problems with hook up as our charger circuit stopped working. On a year old caravan I put it down to bad luck. However this time we called at the site on the way down to Anglesey and back. On both stays the hook up could not run a TV and the heater without tripping the fuse at the supply post. I have not had such problems at any other site, I can only speculate that the circuit and equipment is as old and tired as the toilet/shower block, or that the supply has been kept low so that you end up heating your van on your gas rather than their electric. We really love the location but won't be going back! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stef and mandy 21 reviews from this member

 Really enjoyed three nights here with the dogs, the walks are doggy heaven. The staff on the site are very friendly, and very helpful. We had a problem with electrics (our van not the site) and they did everything they could to assist.

We will go back, we love the area and during our stay we saw a wild red squirrel and a fox too. However some points need to be raised as the site will not please some, or some may be disappointed unless the go after being informed.

Mobile reception (orange and vodaphone) is lousy (bad or good thing!?). TV reception is lousy (got 6 channels on freeview after buying a signal booster from a very local Homebase.

The site has a large number of static vans, but surprisingly no shop, however Tesco is only a short distance away. Toilet/shower block is very very tired, but very clean.

If your kids love the outdoors, beaches and nature then this is a good place to be, however there is no play area (good for us bad for kids), and no ball games (again car and van protected at kids expense).

Toilet and waste water disosal could be a lot better (the waste water has to be drained into quite high recepticals - full waste hoggs are heavy!, and no hose to rinse the cassette out).

This site is 18.00/night with awning, not expensive but perhaps worthy of service pitches for a little more!?? 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Slimseydy 33 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic place, really peaceful, overlooking the sand dunes of Formby. Pitches are mainly hard standing and have plenty of space, you can, if you wish, pitch under the pine trees which was a nice area also, great for stretching the legs.

Loads of places to doggy walk across fields, sand dunes or into the formby point forest. Only 15 mins max by car to southport if you want to go further

Showers are 20p if you want one, showers are adequate but not CC standards, if that is what you are used to. You pay 20 for barrier key & 2 for toilet key, all returned on departure.

Will go again as it is such a nice place to get away from it all & only 25 mins out of the city. Only paid 14 a night including EHU. Bargain weekend. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tim and bev 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this great site would highly recommend everything about it. The owners very friendly location great for beach and town. We will be going back when we can. If you want a peaceful break this is the place, there is a lovely walk to the beach that stretches for miles.

TV reception is good if that's the thing you need at night or you can get a taxi into town where you will find a lot of nice eating places 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kellyjay 1 review from this member

 We have been taking our caravan to this caravan park for some years, going on our own and also with our grandchildren, age range from 5years to 14 years. They have always had lots of fun, and yes there is no ball games but then who wants a ball being kicked around their caravan. Have a look around, there are places to play ball not too far away. Still within the sand dunes. Toilet,s etc are clean and you don't have to pay high fees, like other sites with very little. 


Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kamon1305 6 reviews from this member

 I am rather sad to read some of these reviews as this was my childhood regular visit in a tourer. The site is 'retro' and those seeking luxury or haven type hols not for you. My brother went recently with two kids and they had a fab time who needs a playpark with those sand dunes to sledge down and woods to explore beware of the green dog and matildas witch though! childhood legends

We are going for the first time in 30 years as guests this weekend and I hope to have rave reviews it will be a nostalgic visit for me. Thanks for shower tip though I'll get 20ps saved. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Annie G 17 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for our very first trip in our new motorhome. We chose it because of the great location right on the dunes. The site feels a bit worn out but the facilities were spotless and spacious. It was a very reasonable price, and the wardens were very helpful. The only drawback for us was nowhere to drop our waste water - the site is mainly set up for caravans. We parked on a hardstanding area, although the 4 pitches in the trees were nicer, we were worried about sinking onto the sand ! However other motorhomes parked there and were okay so we were probably over cautious. I'd stay here again. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jacko383 13 reviews from this member

 We wanted somewhere within an hour for a quick weekend. This site seemed 'ideal'. When we rang up the first question was 'how old are your kids?' (they are both between 5-10) 'There are STRICTLY no ball games and children must be indoors by 9pm'. I though this a little unwelcoming and odd, but went with our friends anyway.

If you want a gate pass have a spare 20 deposit.

Lots of rules and regs thrown at me as we pulled up at reception.

TOILET/SHOWERS:

1 key per unit. Needed this key to enter the toilets and again for each individual cubicle and shower. This was a little excessive seeing as the site is mostly statics and touring adults. There is no soap to hygienically wash hands and no hand drying facility.

Showers need 20p. The water temp was either scalding or hot, no good for the kids. When I took a (quick) shower, I had only just shampooed my hair and was rinsing it when the 20p ran out. I was outraged and had to rinse the suds off in the sink!

CHILDREN

My kids are used to meeting & playing with others but it was a site where they should be seen and not heard and as there were no ball games, no play area, they were easily bored. The other kids on the touring site were eerily subdued! While we were setting up they found a sandy pit at the entrance to motorhome area (10 yards from us and 10 from the nearest MH), they were only building a sancastle when the lady from the MH told them to go away and play near their own Van!

This was pretty much the theme of the weekend. Felt like I was in big brother. Frequenly getting checked up on by owners and their lackeys. Kids were playing 'catch' with a tennis ball and we were thrown such filthy looks by the other people there and made to feel very uncomfortable.

This should be marketed as an adult only site.

CHECKOUT

Because the kids had played low-key ball games for about 10-15 mins, we had been 'reported' and upon checkout the lady (who had been perfectly courteous to the guest before me) didn't even look at me and passed me my 20 deposit without saying a word which was quite rude!

This site is a 15 min walk to the beach up very high dunes. It cost 30 for 2 nights plus more because we spent so much time and money keeping away from the site and did not want to go back at the end of the day.

If you have sociable kids who enjoy interracting with others, keep well away from this site. Adults only, I can see the attraction, it is a very tranquil place. Trouble is they nor the owners don't want kids to ruin that. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Derekrobo 19 reviews from this member

 Nice site but mainly statics.

Toilet block clean but a bit tired no facilities for drying hands.

Nice owners and very spacious not really for kids no play area no ball games but didn't bother us as ours have grown up so doesn't come with us anyway.

The beach is over some quite high sand dunes and I imagine young kids could get lost if free to roam.

The site very quiet with the railway station in to Southport is about 20 mins walk but we got a taxi which cost us 12 quid between four of us.

Across road from Red Squirrel Sanctuary.

Would go again 


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Formby Point Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Formby Point Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Formby Point Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Formby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Merseyside

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


36361 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement