Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Seal Shore Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Isle Of Arran > Seal Shore Camping Reviews

Seal Shore Camping
Seal Shore
Kildonan
Isle Of Arran
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA27 8SE
Tel: 01770 820320
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/04/2021 to 16/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 16/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 116 Reviews
                9/10 from 116 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  116 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fw190 5 reviews from this member

 Fantastic views and a great 'proper' seashore. This means the site is exposed so expect wind and storms. Only one tent down. Not ours!

The facilities are tired, smelly and cramped but don't be put off. We had a lovely week and the local hotel / pub is a godsend on rainy days. Try to go to the Highland games. Anyone's kids can enter the childrens' races. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BigMona 97 reviews from this member

 There is only one word I can say about Seal Shore, Awesome…. The journey from the ferry in Brodick takes about 15 minutes. The roads on Arran are a little narrow but we encountered no problems. The greeting on arrival was welcoming which continued throughout our stay. We were personally shown to our pitch which was on grass and slightly sloping and faced the sea. The facilities were good and easily coped at busy times. 
The small shop on site serves the essentials, and there is also another small shop in the village. The hotel next door opens all day, for food and drink. They even serve breakfast to non residents! The beach was really clean and the sea crystal clear. You wouldn’t think this beach is in the UK! A fantastic site and I envy all those stay in her in the future! 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wanderinglore 1 review from this member

 Beautiful campsite and lovely people. Only problem was the separate BBQ area. No BBQ aloud near the tents. This was a problem if you want to have a nice meal while the kids in bed - I guess that's why you are told of all the lovely places to eat near by.  Got a wonderful view of the seals. And you couldn't't fault the scenery at all. Won't go back until the kids are much older. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Denise C 2 reviews from this member

 What a beautiful island and what a great campsite! Maurice and Sylvia (as well as others helping on the site) are very friendly and accommodating. The toilets were always clean and although you had to time your shower carefully to benefit from hot water, again, they were more than adequate and cleaned on a regular basis. Despite the warnings we never encountered the dreaded midges either. All this combined with the stunning scenery and the friendly locals.we'll definitely be back! 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ahalst21 35 reviews from this member

 The sea views alone from this site are worth the visit! Its right next to the beach. A good level site with welcoming staff. Excellent facilities kept very clean. Small well stocked shop. Plus the Kildonan Hotel next door does great meals and we enjoyed the Folk Night (Monday) too.
My only problem was the dish wash area, right next to the doors of the gents and ladies toilets. Nothing wrong really with that, except the doors were often left open - need I say more! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dustyspring 1 review from this member

 What a truly delightful site! Maurice and Sylvia are the most accommodating camp-owners we have come across! Showers are in top notch, toilets are great too. Great facilities for laundry, washing up and fridge freezer rooms are there. The on-site shop is good to with Sylvia's excellent knowledge of prices and what to do and not to do. I and my friend who visited the site and have now made it our regular site 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Rochnia 14 reviews from this member

 I cannot praise this site enough. We rang Sylvia to see if she could accommodate us earlier. I am so thankful that she could. Not only did she find us an extra night on this beautiful site she provided us with bread for breakfast as we had not had time to shop due to our last minute travel alteration. We sat in bed every morning mug of tea in hand looking out over the sea to the lighthouse at Plada. Toilet and shower facilities clean and warm. Sites are of a good size. Restaurant in the Kildonan Hotel next door serves excellent food at more than reasonable prices. They also do bar meals but we didn't get chance to try those. This is a beautiful site on a beautiful unspoilt island. Can't wait to return. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Squidgel2 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from this beautiful spot and wanted to say how much we were impressed by the clean toilets and shower blocks, the helpfulness of the owners and the site itself.

This small site is right next to the sea and a wonderful place to bring children. it is somewhat windy, but not as windy as other sites we looked at over the week. Looking forward to returning. 


Date of Visit: September 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kitty59 1 review from this member

 This was our second visit to Seal Shore and the site that introduced me to camping! The facilities provided by Maurice & Sylvia are first class, there is no roughing it here, I would certainly recommend it to camping virgins who are not sure if they will enjoy the experience. We found the toilets and showers to be clean and the water hot and plentiful, the scenery unbeatable and the owners friendly.

If you want to relax, kick back and enjoy some peace and quiet that's the place to go, and we are certainly looking forward to returning in 2006. 


Date of Visit: September 2005
Reviewer: Rustystorme 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed for three nights, but didn't want to go! Sylvia very helpful and happy to let me use her washing machine for a nominal fee. Tumble and spin dryer available, as is a small fridge. Free use of the two elderly black retrievers who mooch around.

Day room being redecorated which sounds like a good thing! Shower pressure problem seems to be fixed, Sylvia planning to redecorate the loos at the end of the season. Hotel next door serves great food and good beer, local shop is a handy place too.

The sunsets were unbelievable, great if you are keen photographers. No seals to be seen, but plenty down the road in the bays. Would go back tomorrow.......

 


Previous     116 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Seal Shore Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Seal Shore Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Seal Shore Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Arran      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2920 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window